We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stage Run Solid as Usual”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Stage Run by the Sea
Ranked #31 of 36 Hotels in Ogunquit
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 May 2013

We love Ongunquit and have used the Stage Run multiple times and years. No frills, just solid. Always found it quiet. Clean. The heating and air conditioning unit is wonderfully efficient and reliable,- often not the case with economy rooms. Convenient walk (10 minutes at speed between brisk and saunter) to the downtown, right on route 1.

Room Tip: Call well in advance. Cancellation policy is steep but understandable given the price and quirks of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Balfian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (56)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 56 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2013

We just got back from 5 days in Maine. My husband & I always stay at Stage Run by the Sea........once or twice a year for probably 10 years. The rooms are immaculate & Deb, the owner is friendly & welcoming. It is just a short distance to Ogunquit Center with a trolley stop right in front.

Room Tip: They do have 2 smoking rooms but be sure to reserve early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janet L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2013

This past weekend we met friends in Maine for a long weekend. We live in Massachusetts and they live in Vermont. We met in Kittery for a nice lunch & then headed north on Route 1 in search of a reasonable motel for the night. We found a great little motel a 1/2 mile north of the Village of Ogunquit. We stopped there because of the $49 per couple sign. When we went in to get a room, we found that price was for a room with 2 queen beds. Our preference would be for rooms with a King Size bed. For another $6.00 per room we got the rooms we wanted. We were pleasantly surprised with the accommodations. The rooms were average in size for this type of motel, but very clean and had a small refrigerator and microwave in each room. The beds were very comfortable. The sink and hair dryer were outside of the bathroom, but that actually works out nicely if one person is showering & the other wants to brush their teeth & dry their hair, etc., at the same time.
This is a very compact motel. Two buildings facing each other with a pool in between. Porches run the length of each building, with chairs & tables outside each room. Very friendly, welcoming atmosphere. The staff is very nice-the owner extremely personable & willing to help with anything you might need. It's obvious she has taken great care to make sure the motel is well-maintained. She told us that she & her parents owned it together for many years & then she took over as sole-owner a few years ago.
We were so impressed with our first night's stay, that we stayed the 2nd night there. We originally thought we'd move on & find a different place to stay the 2nd night, but decided to use this as our 'base' while we traveled the southern Maine coast for our long weekend getaway.
We would all recommend this comfortable & very clean motel to anyone wanting a cozy place to relax & enjoy the Ogunquit area.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BertaMarblehead_MA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2013

This was our first stay at the Stage Run and we were very pleased with this motel. We were there off season, so the pool was not open (it was cold and rainy anyway so wouldn't have used it if it had been). The room had been recently painted and was very well decorated. All the fixtures, appliances, etc. were well maintained and up to date. Very clean and very inviting. We will (and plan to) stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IdrivealotMaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2012

In 2011 we happened to find the Stage Run on a road trip from CT to ME. We liked it so much we are meeting friends from MA to stay together there this October. The owner headed us in the right direction for a lobster supper as well as a great breakfast.

Room Tip: We alkways prefer a second floor room. These folks are very accomodating if you make such a request.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leosciarappa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2012

We had a reunion at the State Run Motel. There were 18 people in 7 rooms. Everyone was happy with the accomodations. The rooms are very clean and there was a nice pool. Debbie, the owner, is very helpful recommending places to go for sightseeing and restaurants to eat at. We all look forward to returning again.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
Thank cerichmond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2012

Just stayed for a girls' get-away. Conveniently located. Good price. Clean room with fridge and microwave which came in very handy. Debbie, the owner, is warm and welcoming. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank browniegirl60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ogunquit hotels
0.5 mi away
Studio East Motel
Studio East Motel
#20 of 36 in Ogunquit
188 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mariner Resort
Mariner Resort
#16 of 36 in Ogunquit
424 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ogunquit Resort Motel
Ogunquit Resort Motel
#30 of 36 in Ogunquit
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Milestone
The Milestone
#17 of 36 in Ogunquit
319 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sea View Motel
Sea View Motel
#15 of 36 in Ogunquit
349 reviews
0.2 mi away
Colonial Village Resort
Colonial Village Resort
#36 of 36 in Ogunquit
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stage Run by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stage Run by the Sea

Address: 2 Kingfield Ave, Ogunquit, ME 03907-3248
Region: United States > Maine > Ogunquit
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 36 Hotels in Ogunquit
Price Range: £57 - £134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Stage Run by the Sea 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stage Run by the Sea offers spacious motel accommodations including rooms with one king bed, 2 queens or 2 double beds. All of our rooms have Free Wireless Internet, charging stations, a mini-fridge, microwaves, air-conditioning, individual climate control, color cable flat scren TV, coffee makers, hair dryers and in-room phones with free local calls. We also have an outdoor in-ground heated pool for our guests use. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Stage Run by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stage Run By The Sea Ogunquit, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing