We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay”
Review of The Dolphin Den

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ogunquit
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Dolphin Den
Ranked #14 of 26 Ogunquit B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cohoes, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“Excellent stay”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

you could not ask for better hosts, Rick and joe are the best, I stayed the week after the fourth, the rooms are clean , brought my two dogs they loved the park in the back, even my son came for a visit had another hotel booked, seen What Rick offered him, the appealing of the room. the size of the room, he canceled the reservation he had and came here, u could not ask for a better place to stay, we rate this A++++ SEE U NEXT YEAR

Room Tip: Look for your overall needs in a room. such as pet friendly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leroy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    4
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
15
50
14
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Danbury, Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

First, Rick was more than gracious host. He was able to fit us in last-minute on the busy 4th of July holiday which was much appreciated. The most appealing aspect is that they accepted dogs and are very loving dog owners themselves. He accommodated our late arrival and had the room ready for us. The grounds were cute with some nice plantings. Our room #4 was located in the far back corner and had its own separate entrance,and backed up to an access path to the very lovely town park located 50 yards away, which was ideal for our dogs to run and walk every day! However, for the $200+ price we paid for the small room, I must say we expected a little more for that price. The room was minimally decorated and had recently been redone, as we were told. That was evident from the several nail/screw holes in the walls and doors that had not been patched up. It could use a larger waste basket and more shelving to accommodate the lack of a table or counter space. The 1 TV tray was broken and we had to fix it to be able to use it. It would also be nice since it is a dog accessible room, to have hooks by the door for leads, towels, etc. The room did have a nice sink, small refrigerator, microwave, and coffee maker in the room. But we did have to call Rick each day to ask for ice. He was always very accommodating and even left dinner once to deliver us ice and an iron (but not an ironing board!). Also, the freezer in the small refrigerator was not defrosted for a very long time so it was difficult to store anything in the freezer. Perhaps investing in a small ice maker that is accessible for all rooms could be suggested? Also, Rick had told us that they had recently upgraded their WiFi and that every room had access. In our room, we could barely access the WiFi in a very small corner of the room, and that was after we asked for the password several times and finally received it on the 3rd day. So needless to say, we used up quite a bit of our cellular data when we expected to have WiFi as advertised. Again, the room could use some fixing up, and with a little more care and attention to the whole place, Rick and Joey would have a really nice place for dogs and their companions!

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Kmaldonado1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Rick and Joe's hospitality was A++. Grounds are impeccable and room was very clean an quiet. They were able to accommodate our dogs and the Dolphin Den is conveniently located beside a secluded park. We'll definitely be back! Thank you!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bostoncityguy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
1 review
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

You can't beat this!!!!! Hospitality at it's finest! It's steps from the beach and it's quiet at night. It took us 3 minutes to walk to the bars and EVERYTHING! If you are looking for something quaint, absolutely reasonably priced with people that treat you like gold....then stay here! Ogunquit is not the Bahamas, you won't find the Ritz here....this is a vacation that you want, trust! Stay here and you will never regret it. Already booked my next trip in a week! Can't friggin wait!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Stoops79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

My husband and I came here for a weekend get away. Rick and Joe are very accommodating to all the desires of their guests. The property is small, quiet, extremely clean and in an ideal location to the beach and nightlife. Everything is within walking distance.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bsiskavich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Rick and Joe: Your hospitality can't be beat.THANK YOU for the fine weekend. I also appreciate your kindness to veterans, and am grateful for your gift of a free stay each Veterans Day.

The Dolphin Den is very clean, comfortable and so close to the center of Ogunquit. We walked to the restaurants and shops, as both Main Street and Shore Road are only one block away.

We enjoyed our fabulous room and great service keeping it so clean. You keep the place up-to-date, as we noticed the new paint job, new showers and decorations. I really like the fire pit out front.

Again, thanks and hope to see you New Year's Eve!

Room Tip: "Pantropical" is my personal favorite. We have also stayed in the "Hourglass"
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BostonGourmet48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saratoga Springs, New York
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Our week-long stay with our yellow lab was delightful!! The Dolphin Den suite was comfortable, very clean, and so close to everything we wanted!! Rick is such a great host, and he really cares about his guests!! Loved it here, and we will be back!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sarany36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ogunquit hotels
0.8 mi away
Gorges Grant Hotel
Gorges Grant Hotel
#2 of 36 in Ogunquit
557 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Anchorage By the Sea
The Anchorage By the Sea
#12 of 36 in Ogunquit
1,030 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Colonial Inn
The Colonial Inn
#4 of 36 in Ogunquit
678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Studio East Motel
Studio East Motel
#19 of 36 in Ogunquit
179 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Admiral's Inn
The Admiral's Inn
#6 of 36 in Ogunquit
346 reviews
0.2 mi away
Meadowmere Resort
Meadowmere Resort
#8 of 36 in Ogunquit
1,015 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dolphin Den? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dolphin Den

Property: The Dolphin Den
Address: 69 Cottage Street, Ogunquit, ME 03907-1496
Region: United States > Maine > Ogunquit
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Ogunquit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dolphin Den of Ogunquit Beach is Ogunquit's premier Guest Inn, located in downtown Ogunquit Beach, Maine. We're proud to be PET FRIENDLY and feature a newly installed ~~WIFI & CATV~~ dedicated network. Just a short block from the Shore Rd. / Cottage St. trolley stop, we're walking distance to everything downtown Ogunquit Beach has to offer...miles and miles of sandy, white seashore, the magnificent Marginal Way and retail shoppes, restaurants, a TRULY GREAT piano bar and the newly enlarged Maine Street (MEST) Entertainment Complex. Sing and dance the night away! The Dolphin Den is located at a scenic, private location adjoining the Town Common & Ogunquit Heritage Museum. We provide parking and furnished outdoor areas for relaxing. Park the car and walk everywhere...you simply cannot beat the superb "Downtown Ogunquit Beach" location. Please stop by today and say "Hi" to Snickers, our beloved chocolate lab mascot adopted in 2015 from Tennessee. He loves Maine...he loves us ...and guaranteed...he'll love you too! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Dolphin Den Ogunquit, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing