We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“" A anniversary to remember "”
Review of The Dolphin Den

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ogunquit
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Dolphin Den
Ranked #13 of 26 Ogunquit B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 August 2014

Mark surprised me with a trip to Ogunquit for our 10 year wedding anniversary. My first question was whether or not "the dog" was coming. Dreyfus is our almost 2 lab/mix. He is a member of our family and I could not bare leaving him if any way for him to join us. Mark said "YES" he found a great place that is "PET FRIENDLY". I was thrilled. We arrived and were greeted by Rick and made immediately comfortable. Dreyfus was greeted with a ENORMOUS biscuit. AT that point I knew things would be great. We stayed in the cottage and it was really nice. The room was spotless. Fresh linens daily and good water pressure and plenty of hot water made our stay comfortable and not wanting anything. The location of the DD was so close to everything and with the trolley stop at the end of the street we almost did not need to take the car anywhere. Being so close to the center of town you might think it could be loud!!! NOT AT ALL. We kept the windows open and it was quite and peaceful. The other guests all seemed equally happy and content most of which were also pet owners. The added benefit of the outside tables and chairs made spending time outside the cottage charming and relaxing too. I loved watching the hummingbirds at the bird feeders. I am really glad we found the "DOLPHIN DEN" !!! This is a cute place and they are really nice guys. If you are a pet centered family this is the place for you.

Room Tip: the cottage is on the other side of the main house so a set away from the other rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Nick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (113)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

84 - 90 of 113 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2014

This is my new favorite spot in Ogunquit! Rick was so helpful, friendly and accomodating. The Dolphin Den is clean, cozy and has a perfect location walking distance to the beach and town. My partner and I stayed here for four nights. It was restful and quiet. We walked to town and didn't need to take our car anywhere. It was a perfect find! We are definitely going back to stay here again!!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Marc T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed here and it was great.room was clean.it was quiet at nite and walking distance to everything
Rick was great and very accommodating and a pleasure to speak with. Definitely will stay here again

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Dee K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

I've sent my parents and friends here, so it's time to start recommending the Den to the Internet...

My boyfriend and I are well-traveled and picky about where we stay but have been coming to the Dolphin Den since 2008. This was back in college and now, even as young professionals, we make time to keep coming--probably 2-3 trips a year and just visited last week. Their immaculate inn--from the gardens, fire pit, and patio to the unique and individualized rooms (we've stayed in all of them at this point)--is just a short walk from the gorgeous beach. We often go with Rick and Joe (the owners) and hang out all day. They're hilarious and amazingly inviting. They're like family. We even love their giant chocolate lapdog, Payton, who is probably the friendliest dog in the town. You'll come once and be an immediate regular.

Room Tip: The newer Atlantic suite is HUGE and beautiful. I'm not sure it's on their site but you can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank 439arianag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

you could not ask for better hosts, Rick and joe are the best, I stayed the week after the fourth, the rooms are clean , brought my two dogs they loved the park in the back, even my son came for a visit had another hotel booked, seen What Rick offered him, the appealing of the room. the size of the room, he canceled the reservation he had and came here, u could not ask for a better place to stay, we rate this A++++ SEE U NEXT YEAR

Room Tip: Look for your overall needs in a room. such as pet friendly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leroy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

First, Rick was more than gracious host. He was able to fit us in last-minute on the busy 4th of July holiday which was much appreciated. The most appealing aspect is that they accepted dogs and are very loving dog owners themselves. He accommodated our late arrival and had the room ready for us. The grounds were cute with some nice plantings. Our room #4 was located in the far back corner and had its own separate entrance,and backed up to an access path to the very lovely town park located 50 yards away, which was ideal for our dogs to run and walk every day! However, for the $200+ price we paid for the small room, I must say we expected a little more for that price. The room was minimally decorated and had recently been redone, as we were told. That was evident from the several nail/screw holes in the walls and doors that had not been patched up. It could use a larger waste basket and more shelving to accommodate the lack of a table or counter space. The 1 TV tray was broken and we had to fix it to be able to use it. It would also be nice since it is a dog accessible room, to have hooks by the door for leads, towels, etc. The room did have a nice sink, small refrigerator, microwave, and coffee maker in the room. But we did have to call Rick each day to ask for ice. He was always very accommodating and even left dinner once to deliver us ice and an iron (but not an ironing board!). Also, the freezer in the small refrigerator was not defrosted for a very long time so it was difficult to store anything in the freezer. Perhaps investing in a small ice maker that is accessible for all rooms could be suggested? Also, Rick had told us that they had recently upgraded their WiFi and that every room had access. In our room, we could barely access the WiFi in a very small corner of the room, and that was after we asked for the password several times and finally received it on the 3rd day. So needless to say, we used up quite a bit of our cellular data when we expected to have WiFi as advertised. Again, the room could use some fixing up, and with a little more care and attention to the whole place, Rick and Joey would have a really nice place for dogs and their companions!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Rick and Joe's hospitality was A++. Grounds are impeccable and room was very clean an quiet. They were able to accommodate our dogs and the Dolphin Den is conveniently located beside a secluded park. We'll definitely be back! Thank you!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bostoncityguy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ogunquit hotels
0.4 mi away
Studio East Motel
Studio East Motel
#20 of 36 in Ogunquit
188 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Blue Shutters Inn
The Blue Shutters Inn
#18 of 26 in Ogunquit
51 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dragonfly Guest House
Dragonfly Guest House
#6 of 26 in Ogunquit
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Inn on Shore Road
Inn on Shore Road
#14 of 26 in Ogunquit
154 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Anchorage By the Sea
The Anchorage By the Sea
#12 of 36 in Ogunquit
1,064 reviews
0.2 mi away
Meadowmere Resort
Meadowmere Resort
#9 of 36 in Ogunquit
1,054 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dolphin Den? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dolphin Den

Address: 69 Cottage Street, Ogunquit, ME 03907-1496
Region: United States > Maine > Ogunquit
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Ogunquit
Price Range: £74 - £176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dolphin Den of Ogunquit Beach is Ogunquit's premier Guest Inn, located in downtown Ogunquit Beach, Maine. We're proud to be PET FRIENDLY and feature a newly installed ~~WIFI & CATV~~ dedicated network. Just a short block from the Shore Rd. / Cottage St. trolley stop, we're walking distance to everything downtown Ogunquit Beach has to offer...miles and miles of sandy, white seashore, the magnificent Marginal Way and retail shoppes, restaurants, a TRULY GREAT piano bar and the newly enlarged Maine Street (MEST) Entertainment Complex. Sing and dance the night away! The Dolphin Den is located at a scenic, private location adjoining the Town Common & Ogunquit Heritage Museum. We provide parking and furnished outdoor areas for relaxing. Park the car and walk everywhere...you simply cannot beat the superb "Downtown Ogunquit Beach" location. Please stop by today and say "Hi" to Snickers, our beloved chocolate lab mascot adopted in 2015 from Tennessee. He loves Maine...he loves us ...and guaranteed...he'll love you too! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Dolphin Den Ogunquit, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing