We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The song HAPPY was written about this place!”

Bread and Roses Bakery
Ranked #1 of 6 Dessert in Ogunquit
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
46 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“The song HAPPY was written about this place!”
Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

We go to the beach in Ogunquit every year for lots of reasons...but visiting Bread & Roses multiple times everyday while on vacation is arguably what we talk about the other 355 days every year! There really aren't any words to describe our love affair with this amazing culinary slice of heaven! The baked foods are created with perfection, the coffee ifs to die for, the lunch foods are incredible-and the breads are simply divine!!! Add to this explosion of foody delight an amazing staff that greets us with warm smiles & engaging conversation-it's no wonder Tripadvisor LOVES bread & Roses! !!

Helpful?
1 Thank Flymetothemoonphoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

840 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    602
    160
    49
    17
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Grantham, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“So worth the trip”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

My daughters picked A $2.25 cookie big as her toddler head cookie, and my 10 year old a triple chocolate artisan cupcake, I had a napoleon, husband had coffee, and No one was disappointed. Make time for this gem in your trip.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BrianaBryant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Same as a cafe in Montreal”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Had a cappuccino with a magic square and it was delicious! The staff was so friendly and warm. I even bought homemade cookies/treats for my puppy!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Catmaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverly, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
54 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Coffee and pastry :)”
Reviewed 28 June 2014

This little place is such a treasure, it was easy to see why it gets so many great reviews. The coffee (Carpe Diem) is absolutely wonderful. Seriously. I loved it so much that I drove to the roasters home place in N. Berwick. They do sell the bags of beans ( whole or ground) at the bakery, but because I was going to be buying a huge amount, I went to the Carpe Diem Roasters to purchase it there. You save about 3/lb if you purchase it there. The drive was only 10-15 mins away, very easy to get to off Route 1 North. After buying about 3 cups/day, every day (both iced and hot). I knew I found my favorite coffee, and I wanted to be sure I could enjoy it at home for quite some time as well. Any the pastries? Beyond yummy! You can also get spinach/cheese croissants and morning quiches cooked in puff-like pastry....they are a work of art. You can never walk by this place without there being many happy customers ahh-ing and ooo-ing over the creations behind the glass counters. It's also open til 11 pm, which makes it a prime place to get a cappuccino and dessert after a movie (located across the street.) I looked forward to it every night, movie or no movie, just to grab a hot cup and walk near the beach. And....no matter how busy they are (which is always), they serve you with a smile:)

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
delaware97
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“OMG Best Bakery”
Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

We pretty much got something everyday from Bread and Roses. Everything is delicious. A little pricey for something's but worth every penny. They always had a huge selection any time of day even in the busy summer! Giant chocolate chip cookies were my favorite!

Helpful?
1 Thank delaware97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Bread and Roses Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing