We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyable stay once again” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Mariner Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Mariner Resort
Ranked #13 of 36 Hotels in Ogunquit
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
U.S.A.
Level Contributor
50 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Enjoyable stay once again”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2013

Enjoyable stay at the Mariner once again. The property was, as always, clean and well-maintained. The rooms are large and it's great to have a full-size refrigerator and microwave. What sets this hotel/motel apart is the owners: they are nice people and very knowledgeable about the area.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelTravelTrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    234
    122
    21
    9
    5
See reviews for
162
123
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Winsted, Connecticut
Level Contributor
140 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

Found a coupon for the Mariner, so I decided to stay here instead of my usual place at the Meadowmere. The pool was nice, the rooms were large and clean, and the price was great, but it was way too far away from everything. We had to sit on a trolley for a half hour to get to the beach or get into town. We ended up driving everywhere and paying for parking over and over again so we didn't have to deal with the hassle. I wish we had stayed in town so we could walk to the beach, restaurants, and shopping. In addition, you could hear everything inside the rooms. The set up was like a townhouse, with the door to your room on the outside of the building. We could hear our neighbors talking and their tvs all night. Then 6 in the morning hit and all we heard was people's doors slamming and group conversations as they walked by the room. We had hoped to sleep in on our vacation, so this was really frustrating. If the place were closer to town I would recommend it if you didn't mind the early wake-up call. But I would rather pay a few extra bucks for the convenience.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 578105710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilton, Connecticut
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

We've stayed there every year and have always enjoyed our stay except for this year. The room was not up to our expectation. The breakfast was mostly donuts and muffins. There were some croissants one morning but that was gone in a few minutes. The coffee decanters/pots were empty with none in the process of brewing. We were amazed that one of the women tending to the breakfast area actually asked if she should make more coffee. This was 9:15 in the morning. That shouldn't have been a question. I believe it was the owner who came over and started making the coffee and getting things together. Breakfast can include some rolls, etc. instead of all sweet items. Some of us prefer not to have sweets for breakfast or try to avoid them completely whether it's for health or diet reason.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 738WiltonM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

My adult kids and I stayed at the Mariner Resort for one night toward the end of our 10-day trip from NC to Maine, and I wish our other overnight stays had been this nice! The staff was friendly, the breakfast (baked fresh) a welcome departure from the usual dull breakfast fare at business-travel hotels. The room was spacious and quiet. I plan to return sometime in the spring or summer, maybe for longer, to enjoy the walks and amenities!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, MA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

We took a family trip over the weekend Oct. 18-20th and as with all of our stays at the Mariner we were very satisfied. The Queen size beds are very comfortable in rooms that are spacious and clean with a large fridge and microwave. We always enjoy the pool and hot tub (my favorite after walking the beach and Marginal Way which are close by.) The entire staff are friendly and went out of their way to answer any questions we had. They also set up a nice breakfast. I highly recommend a stay at the Mariner. You won't be disappointed. By the way, catch a sunrise right from the property. Great view of the Marsh and the Ocean off in the distance.

Room Tip: We actually prefer the first floor. Some people are bothered by overhead noise from the second floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sandeegam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scottfortin, Guest Relations Manager at The Mariner Resort, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
We thank you for your loyal patronage, and taking a minute to write such a nice review of your "annual" trip to us here at The Mariner Resort" You mentioned a few of the many, many great and consistently offered amenities and services we provide to you and our guests. That is why you visit with us time and time again, your go to " home" away from home.
Thank you, kindly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford, New York, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013 via mobile

My husband and I just returned from a 3 night stay at the Mariner yesterday. By chance we found this place online and booked it. The location is great (half mile to the ocean), the owners and employees were very nice, and the amenities were great (indoor/outdoor pool, outdoor hot tub, Bocci, volleyball, grills and complimentary breakfast). And to top it off, this place is very clean. We enjoyed the hot tub a couple nights, the pool, and breakfast which was very good (cereal, homemade muffins/cinnamon rolls, fruit, juice, coffee, tea and yogurt). We would recommend this place to anyone and can't wait to stay again next year.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scottfortin, Guest Relations Manager at The Mariner Resort, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
Jennifer, we certainly thank you for not only writing a terrific review of The Mariner Resort, but taking the time to do so, thank you. Its very satisfying knowing yet another guest was so very happy and pleased with us here at The Mariner Resort. It gives all of us here great pleasure to accommodate our guests and provide the best experience. We look forward to your future stays.
Thank you, kindly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, Wales
Level Contributor
48 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

I must admit that I was a little sceptical about staying here, as a lot of more expensive hotels in the Portsmouth area were not available and we were getting desperate. I needn't have worried, as this hotel was just fine. On our arrival at reception, we were checked in by a lovely lady, who
gave us advice on nearby places and on the facilities offered. We were given a ground floor room, with 2 queen beds, which was clean, spacious and comfortable and we subsequently had a great night's sleep. We didn't have chance to use the pool or spa, but they looked in good order and were well used. Continental breakfast the following morning was fine, with fresh fruit, yoghurt, muffins, croissants and coffee. There is free wi fi in the room, but very kindly, the reception staff arranged for us to check in and print boarding passes for our return
flight the next day. This seems to be a family run hotel and they are working hard to provide a good standard of accomodation for their guests, with a personal touch. Thank you Mariner Resort for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Taffman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scottfortin, Guest Relations Manager at The Mariner Resort, responded to this review, 20 October 2013
Thank you for your kind review. We aim to please here at The Mariner Resort and sounds like we were spot on. We have an exceptional facility, that is indeed run with our 2nd generation family pride, providing you our "guest" with the best possible service. Very pleased to hear that you found our staff to be most helpful, we entrust that we will see you in the future.
Thank you kindly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ogunquit hotels
1.6 mi away
The Anchorage By the Sea
The Anchorage By the Sea
#10 of 36 in Ogunquit
4.0 of 5 bubbles 986 reviews
0.8 mi away
Gorges Grant Hotel
Gorges Grant Hotel
#3 of 36 in Ogunquit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Colonial Inn
The Colonial Inn
#4 of 36 in Ogunquit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#8 of 36 in Ogunquit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
1.7 mi away
Pink Blossoms Resort (Family Suites)
1.9 mi away
Sea Rose Suites
Sea Rose Suites
#11 of 36 in Ogunquit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mariner Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mariner Resort

Property: The Mariner Resort
Address: 734 Main Street, Ogunquit, ME 03907
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Ogunquit
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Ogunquit
#10 Family Hotel in Ogunquit
#18 Romantic Hotel in Ogunquit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Mariner Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mariner Resort in scenic Ogunquit, Maine offers several rooming choices to meet most tastes and budgets. Guests can choose from basic motel type rooms to oversized three bed suites complete with free wireless internet access, air conditioning, distant ocean views and much more. All of our guests enjoy our indoor and outdoor pools, hot tub, fitness room, FREE continental breakfast, volleyball, bocce court areas and our barbeque area. Our quiet location overlooking the scenic tidal marsh with distant ocean views offers a fabulous vantage point to explore Ogunquit, Wells, nearby Kennebunkport and all of Southern Maine. We hope to see you at the Mariner soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Mariner Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mariner Hotel Ogunquit
Mariner Resort Ogunquit
Mariner Hotel Ogunquit
The Mariner Resort Ogunquit, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing