We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4 wonderful days at The Mariner”
Review of Mariner Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mariner Resort
Ranked #14 of 36 Hotels in Ogunquit
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Bethel, Connecticut
1 review
“4 wonderful days at The Mariner”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

It had been 20 very long years without a vacation alone (no kids). My husband had never been to Maine so we decided to go for 4 days to that beautiful state. I chose The Mariner based on customer reviews and I am so glad that I did! The location was perfect and very easy to get around with the Trolley that stops right across the street. It is a very clean motel with a lovely view. The pool was great as was the hot tub. My husband and I truly enjoyed our relaxing and enjoyable stay in Ogunquit at The Mariner and can't wait to go back. The only thing I would change is the continental breakfast that they offer at no cost. It would be nice if there was more protein offered. Having said that, this is certainly not an issue at all with how much we liked our stay. We will definitely go back next year!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    241
    125
    21
    9
    5
See reviews for
165
127
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Windsor Locks, Connecticut
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We have stayed at The Mariner several times and are never disappointed. The Mariner is a great location to walk to the Footbridge. Being on the Trolley line is also a plus. A great value for the price.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quincy, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Scott and Tina are your superb hosts for a day, or two, or even a week! Their family and friendly vibe along with their customer service NEVER fails! My friends and I have been staying here for more than twenty years and every single time it's fantastic! The rooms are immaculate along with the pools (indoor,outdoor and hot tub!), and work out area. If you enjoy flowers and gardens, the grounds are beautiful. They put so much effort into making it beautiful and it shows. They have a bocce court, badminton and adirondack chairs to enjoy looking across the marshland to the ocean...so nice with a bottle of wine and some cheese and crackers! Even though the beach is within walking distance or you can jump on the trolley (located across the street from the Mariner), we have stayed poolside! We get our lunch and snacks and enjoy the glorious pool and everyone is so social! I meet new people every year and I love it! The Mariner is the spot to stay in Ogunquit and I will return every year! Thank you Scott, Tina, family, and staff!

Room Tip: If you are a larger family or with your friends, there are suites available. They even have a three...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gina i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We just returned from a three night stay at the Mariner. Upon arrival the room was very clean, the bathroom immaculate and there was a full size fridge with freezer and a large microwave. We had a corner room at the end of the building and there were many windows affording great views of the marsh and ocean in the backround. We needed extra hangars and an extension cord which were provided promptly. The pools and hot tub all were clean and inviting. The included breakfasts were always promptly restocked with fresh fruit, bagels, doughnuts, etc. The local trolley stopped across the street and right in front of the Motel so it was very convenient. If I had one comment that was negative it was there was never a parking space available near our room when we returned after a night on the town. We had to park far away from our room. I would would recommend this resort to anyone and would return for another stay.

Room Tip: Corner rooms have great views and lots of windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruce S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peabody, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Trust me, I am a homebody and get homesick very easily but not at this place, I didn't want to leave!! My husband and I have stayed at numerous places in this town and nothing compares to the value, the beauty and resort feel that you get at the Mariner. We love it here and plan on returning time and time again. Thank you again for such a pleasant stay. Grace, Peabody, Massachusetts.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grace A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott Township, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
87 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We have been vacationing in Maine for the past 25 years, or more. The Mariner Resort has always been our spot to stay in Ogunquit. We tried another hotel once, we had called too late and they were booked. Big mistake. We doubt we would ever stay anywhere else again. The Mariner is close enough to walk to the beach if you don't have lots of gear, or if you have a beach buggy. We usually drive to Footbridge Beach, park in the designated unloading area, take our stuff to the beach and one adult drives back to The Mariner, parks the vehicle for the day and walks back to the beach. We do the reverse at the end of the day. The breakfast is enough to last us until lunch. It is usually danish, donuts, muffins, cereal, fresh fruit, yogurt and a variety of breads to toast. The indoor and outdoor pools are always clean. The staff is very attentive, our room was always neat and vacuumed by the time we returned from the beach.

Room Tip: The rooms at the end facing the ocean are always good. Some rooms have a window at the back of the r...
See more room tips
Green Features: CFLs everywhere. Recycle bins are at the back of the office, just off the patio.
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scottfortin, Guest Relations Manager at Mariner Resort, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Thank you for taking to the time to write a review. On behalf of all of us here at The Mariner Resort, we want to thank you for your loyal patronage. We are close enough, yet far enough away from the center of town. We are also within walking distance to the foot bridge beach, and several resteraunts., Not only are we conveniently located, but we also have amazing amenities.

Thank you kindly,
The Mariner Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Me and my family really enjoyed our 3 nights stay at the Mariner Resort. Our boys, aged 8 and 10, loved the pool area. It was nice to have a dip in the outside pool and then in the warmer one under roof. The pool was in the middle of the motel, well hidden from route 1. No disturbance from the road. The room was big enough for our family and it was convenient with refrigerator and microwave. Breakfast was good, fresh fruit, donuts, yoghurt, cereals, toast. Coffee was far to weak. We walked to beautiful Footbridge beach and it took us only 15 minutes. The water was cold, 10 degrees celsius, refreshing even for our family that are used to cold swims in Sweden. We would love to come back to maine and the Mariner Resort.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helena P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scottfortin, Guest Relations Manager at Mariner Resort, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your kind response. Our pools are lovely this time of the year, and are secluded from the hustle and bustle of Route 1. They also include a picturesque view of the marshlands with the shoreline off in the distance. In addition to our already great continental breakfast, this year we added some additional breakfast goodies. We hope you visit us again all the way from Sweden.

Thank you kindly.
The Mariner Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ogunquit hotels
0.8 mi away
Gorges Grant Hotel
Gorges Grant Hotel
#2 of 36 in Ogunquit
542 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Anchorage By the Sea
The Anchorage By the Sea
#11 of 36 in Ogunquit
1,019 reviews
1.2 mi away
Juniper Hill Inn
Juniper Hill Inn
#9 of 36 in Ogunquit
466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The Colonial Inn
The Colonial Inn
#5 of 36 in Ogunquit
633 reviews
1.8 mi away
Meadowmere Resort
Meadowmere Resort
#6 of 36 in Ogunquit
988 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ogunquit Resort Motel
Ogunquit Resort Motel
#30 of 36 in Ogunquit
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mariner Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mariner Resort

Property: Mariner Resort
Address: 734 Main St, Ogunquit, ME 03907
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Ogunquit
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Ogunquit
#10 Family Hotel in Ogunquit
#18 Romantic Hotel in Ogunquit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Mariner Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mariner Resort in scenic Ogunquit, Maine offers several rooming choices to meet most tastes and budgets. Guests can choose from basic motel type rooms to oversized three bed suites complete with free wireless internet access, air conditioning, distant ocean views and much more. All of our guests enjoy our indoor and outdoor pools, hot tub, fitness room, FREE continental breakfast, volleyball, bocce court areas and our barbeque area. Our quiet location overlooking the scenic tidal marsh with distant ocean views offers a fabulous vantage point to explore Ogunquit, Wells, nearby Kennebunkport and all of Southern Maine. We hope to see you at the Mariner soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mariner Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mariner Hotel Ogunquit
Mariner Resort Ogunquit, Maine
Mariner Hotel Ogunquit

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing