We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very clean, great location”
Review of The Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Grand Hotel
Ranked #14 of 36 Hotels in Ogunquit
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 September 2011

We ended up staying here at the last minute when we arrived at my family's summer house to find we had no power and needed somewhere to stay for a few days until the power came back.

One of the best features was the underground parking, which was included, since parking can be very scarce in the area. There was also a pool and jacuzzi right off the reception desk. The rooms were large, one room with a couch, table and 2 chairs, a flatscreen tv, and a mini-fridge, microwave, and sink. Central air controller in the room. We were told we could also use the tennis courts and outdoor pool at the sister property which was a short walking distance away. The location is great, walking distance to everything....beach, shops, restaurants. If you don't want to walk the trolley stops right out front. There are balconies off the rooms and a nice wrap-around porch on the first and second floors with seating and tables outside. It's not on the ocean, but you can get there quickly!

The bed was very firm, but there was another flatscreen in the bedroom. Only one bedside table. The housekeeping does tend to finish early, we were called by the desk at 1 and told we were the last room but we were being lazy and just declined housekeeping for the day. They asked if there was anything we needed and brought up some fresh towels right away. The staff was very pleasant and friendly throughout our stay.

I read some other reviews that in my opinion were ridiculous.... a few people complained about the continental breakfast. To that, I say... it's continental breakfast. It's free. Continental breakfast will never be gourmet cuisine, if it's not your thing no need to complain about it. The look is dated, but so are most of the places in the area. If you're going to hold it to the same standards as big-city hotels, you'll probably be disappointed, but it's Maine, just enjoy the small-town atmosphere! It's what makes places like this so nice to visit.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DB629
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
innkeeperOgunquit, Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2011

Dear DB629,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. It was our pleasure to have you as our guest and we hope that you will have occassion to visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (492)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

412 - 418 of 492 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2011

There were four of us in a penthouse of The Grand Hotel and we loved our stay. Enough room for four without stepping on each other's toes even when the sofabed was open. The king size bed and the sofa-bed were comfortable, the terrace was great and there was a fridge and a microwave in the room. Elevators and a garage are also a plus. The personnel is wonderful from the chambermaid to the staff at the front office. The continental breakfast is adequate and serves its purpose. The only thing missing is an outdoor pool but you can use the outside spa. All in all, a wonderful stay and we will definitely return to The Grand when in Ogunquit.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank denila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
innkeeperOgunquit, Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2011

Dear Denila,

We are glad you enjoyed your stay at The Grand and appreciate you sharing your experience on Tripadvisor. We hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2011

We just returned from our trip to Ogunquit and the only disappointing portion was the hotel. We have stayed at the Grand Hotel 3 times previously and quality has been declining.

The location is excellent and is about a 10 minute walk to Perkins Cove and 15 minute walk to the beach. The rooms are good size which makes it nice for families.

We're not overly picky....so the old furniture and out-dated look of the hotel was an even trade off for the bigger rooms (family of 4 with pack and play). With that said, the service of the hotel was terrible. Here's why:

-They dont change the sheets unless you stay 4 nights or more (we stayed 3 nights)
-They didnt provide replacement towels during our 3 night stay
-If trash is not directly in the trash can....it doesn't get removed. For example: we had 3 empty beer bottles near the trash....it wasnt removed. We had a crumpled up piece of paper in a grocery bag near the trash.....it wasnt removed. A day old lime on the deck sitting on an empty plastic bag.....it wasnt removed.
-We stayed 3 nights and house-keeping only cleaned 1 time. They came another time at 11:45 but we asked if they could postpone to the afternoon since our kids were napping....they said no....they leave early afternoon??
-When we walked back into the room after house-keeping....we couldnt tell if they had come. There was no straightening up......it was simply make the bed and empty trash cans. Really that's it.
-The beds are rock hard as well.....very uncomfortable.

We brought these issues to the front desk and they responded: "if trash isnt in the trashcan.....it might be personal property. I responded with: empty beer bottles?? She said: you might reuse them!??

Overall, when paying over $250+ a night, we expect service to at least average. Instead, the service was poor, hotel is out-dated and not worth the money spent. The location is great but really any hotel on Shore Road is in an excellent location.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Inhoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
innkeeperOgunquit, Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2011

We welcome reviews and appreciate your taking the time to share your point of view.

We are proud to be a participant in a Green Environment program and as such, must meet certain criteria. Part of the criteria is to conserve water and energy wherever possible. In each of our rooms, we have signs posted inviting our guests to participate in the program by hanging and reusing their towels. Guests are also given the option of receiving fresh towels each day by simply placing their used towels on the floor. We do change sheets every 4th day unless a guest requests more frequent changes and if they do, we certainly are happy to accommodate them.

Re-cycling is another component of the Green Environment program and for that reason, we have recycling bins in all of our rooms and our Housekeepers are instructed to empty them every day. They are also instructed not to presume what should and should not be discarded in a guest’s room. Any items not placed in the trash or recycle bins would be left alone.

Amongst the more visible improvements made this past year were a change out of all of our TV’s to Flat Screen DVD sets as well as new mattresses for all of our suites.

Thank you again for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2011

Just got back from another stay at The Grand. The hotel is clean and comfortable. The staff was a pleasure to deal with. The housekeeping staff is attentive and rooms are clean, vey clean. Breakfast in the morning is cereal, muffins, toast, pastry, juice, yogert, coffee and condiments. I like it, dont need a huge breakfast, just enough to get me going in the morning and leaving room for lobster during the day. Pool is indoors along with an outdoor jaccuzzi. The pool was great due to the fact we had a heat wave while we were up in Maine 100+ degrees. Short walk to the resturants. Nice rocking chair on the front porch to sit and relax. Like I said on an earlier review. These people that are complaining about the hotel, sometimes you just cant make people happy. Go and you wont be disappointed. Its a nice stay.
Enjoy, FYI take a walk to the Oarweed and have a lobster and watch the sun set!!.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nrmlguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
innkeeperOgunquit, Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2011

Dear Nrmlguy,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our Hotel on Tripadvisor. Your kind words about our Staff and the cleanliness of our hotel are very much appreciated. We hope your next visit will not be in the middle of a heatwave and that you will be able to take advantage of the outdoor pool and tennis court at our sister property, Pink Blossoms Resort.

Thank you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2011

My husband and I went for our anniversary.We have been going to Maine for many years but wanted something special.And we found it.The staff was very friendly, Our room was GREAT. the bed was a little rough, wish it was a softer mattress and softer sheets. But other than that it was Real nice. I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cshanahan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2011

I am reminded of Mike Myers on Coffee Talk on SNL. "Discuss among yourselves- The Holy Roman Empire- it wasn't holy, it wasn't Roman, and it wasn't an empire."

The Grand Hotel is neither grand nor a real hotel.

I stayed in this hotel with my family for a few days last summer. I was singularly underwhelmed. Although it is billed as a "Grand Hotel", it is really just a motel similar to all other Ogunquit motels. DO NOT reserve here thinking that you will be getting a four star experience that would beat out other Ogunquit hotels. It is a reasonable value that delivers a decent product but nothing more.

The building has a small living room atrium. The rooms are suite like with a living area and small kitchen unit. They are cheaply appointed. The living area does not have a window. The hotel used cheap CFL bulbs that seemed to suck light out of the room.

They have a draconian summer reservation policy- even by Ogunquit standards. I had a family member who was ill and tried to cancel but they would not let me out of a reservation. This lack of sensitivity was dissapointing.

The free breakfast was terrible- watery coffee and institutional danish.

The location was excellent and the indoor pool was a real benefit. The underground parking was also a nice plus.

Hopefully, they improved upon the aforementioned issues for this upcoming season.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank alex378
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2011

My wife and I just returned from a lovely weekend in Ogunquit. We had some trepadation about staying at the Grand Hotel based on a few poor reviews. However, we did book a penthouse suite there and were quite satisfied. The hotel is conveniently located within walking distance to Marginal Way, Perkins Cove and several great restaurants. We found the hotel to be very clean and a great value. Continental breakfast was basically coffee, juice, cold cereal, bagels and muffins. Our suite consisted of a living room and good sized bedroom each with a 32" flat screen TV. Our suite also had a huge attached sunfilled deck with lounge chairs and a patio set.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mpd444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ogunquit hotels
0.4 mi away
The Anchorage By the Sea
The Anchorage By the Sea
#12 of 36 in Ogunquit
1,064 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sea Rose Suites
Sea Rose Suites
#1 of 36 in Ogunquit
365 reviews
1.2 mi away
Gorges Grant Hotel
Gorges Grant Hotel
#5 of 36 in Ogunquit
601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Terrace by the Sea
Terrace by the Sea
#26 of 36 in Ogunquit
305 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Colonial Inn
The Colonial Inn
#8 of 36 in Ogunquit
718 reviews
0.3 mi away
Meadowmere Resort
Meadowmere Resort
#9 of 36 in Ogunquit
1,054 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel

Address: 276 Shore Rd, Ogunquit, ME 03907-3900
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Ogunquit
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ogunquit
#12 Family Hotel in Ogunquit
Price Range: £71 - £215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Grand Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Ogunquit
The Grand Hotel Ogunquit, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing