We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sweet Suite”
Review of The Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Grand Hotel
Ranked #14 of 36 Hotels in Ogunquit
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 September 2011

We happened to get the last room at the Grand Hotel in Ogunquit, and it was a very nice suite on the first floor. We walked to dinner that evening and enjoyed every step to/from the hotel. Continental breakfast is provided each morning. We sat on the large front porch and enjoyed our coffee. The hotel is close to shops and many restaurants. We'd definitely go back to the Grand Hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank RetiredArizona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
innkeeperOgunquit, Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2011

Dear RetiredArizona,

Thank you very much for the nice review. You commented on what many of our guests love about The Grand Hotel; Location! We hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (492)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

408 - 414 of 492 reviews

Reviewed 12 September 2011

Unfortunately the Grand Hotel was a disappointment. The pool is green and you can see on the floor of the pool sediment that hasn't been cleaned in a long time. We didn't even try to experience it! We asked about the hot tub and the girl pointed to it out back and said she could help us take the cover off but given the pool situation, we didn't chance that either. We heard the guy in the next room snore both nights we were there (they give you a Homedics sound machine by the bed and now we know why), the room was dark, very little natural light. Chintzy cups for the coffee, my fiancee spilled his because the cups were so poor, the staff was not friendly at all. The feeling is not towards the guests at all. In fact, this was the first hotel that we had to pay in ADVANCE for our entire stay before we even set foot in our room. The location was good and the parking was good, but the place wasn't the cleanest. When you arrive you will smell the citrus refresher that they spray or use and we could not get rid of it. We even had to smell smoke as they allow smoking on balconies so it was pouring in our room so we had to shut the screen and live with the lousy citrus smell. All this for $169 a night? No thank you. This owner has MUCH TO LEARN about a good hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
innkeeperOgunquit, Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2011

Dear joanie m,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us.
We would like to assure you that our pool is checked daily to ensure optimum water quality. What may have appeared to you to be sediment on the pool bottom is not sediment at all. It is staining from the interaction of metals in the water with the chemicals used to maintain water quality. While we agree it does not look as nice as we would like, it is not unhealthy or unsafe to swim in. Given that the water tests are within the normal range, we have chosen to address the staining problem when we shut down for the season rather than disappoint our guests who want to use it now.
Paying for the entire stay at check in is not unique to The Grand Hotel but is a standard practice in Ogunquit. We are often asked, and happily comply, with any guest who asks to see the room they have reserved prior to their actually checking in.
Thank you again for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

This is an excellent all suite hotel. The room size is similar to that of an Embassy Suites. You can walk to Perkins Cove, many restaurants, the Marginal Way, etc. The breakfast is included, they have cookies and coffee all day. All in all an excellent experience at a reasonable price

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Austin720
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
innkeeperOgunquit, Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2011

Dear Austin720,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you again!

Best regards.....

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2011

A definate "no frills" hotel, but perfect location and perfect for what we were looking for our family labor day vaca in Ogunquit. Located on Shore Rd betweenPerkins Cove and Rt 1, we found going back and forth between the 2 Ogunquit "hot spots", an ideal location.

"No Frills" and perfect for us. With an active family, we rarely spend much time at the hotel doing what we do during day, coming back to shower, then out to dinnner, we use a hotel as a "crash pad". We had the 3rd floor suite, it was cleam, plenty of room for 4, and a great outdoor balcony. There is no bar or restaurant but with so many great outside alternatives, so close, you don't need it.

There is small indoor pool and hot tub, but with some much to do in Ogunquit, can't see anyone really wanting to use these amenities. They have an agreement with another property nearby for outdoor pool and tennis, but didnt get a chance to use or check out.

Bottom Line - if you want a good, clean room, in a great location, this is a great choice.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Papa_Grande1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
innkeeperOgunquit, Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2011

Dear Papa Grande_1,

Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel. You focused on the 2 qualities that we receive the most comments on; how clean our hotel is and the great location we are in. We hope you will visit us again and that you and your family will have time to take advantage of the amenities our sister property, Pink Blossoms Resort has to offer.

Thanks so much!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2011

We ended up staying here at the last minute when we arrived at my family's summer house to find we had no power and needed somewhere to stay for a few days until the power came back.

One of the best features was the underground parking, which was included, since parking can be very scarce in the area. There was also a pool and jacuzzi right off the reception desk. The rooms were large, one room with a couch, table and 2 chairs, a flatscreen tv, and a mini-fridge, microwave, and sink. Central air controller in the room. We were told we could also use the tennis courts and outdoor pool at the sister property which was a short walking distance away. The location is great, walking distance to everything....beach, shops, restaurants. If you don't want to walk the trolley stops right out front. There are balconies off the rooms and a nice wrap-around porch on the first and second floors with seating and tables outside. It's not on the ocean, but you can get there quickly!

The bed was very firm, but there was another flatscreen in the bedroom. Only one bedside table. The housekeeping does tend to finish early, we were called by the desk at 1 and told we were the last room but we were being lazy and just declined housekeeping for the day. They asked if there was anything we needed and brought up some fresh towels right away. The staff was very pleasant and friendly throughout our stay.

I read some other reviews that in my opinion were ridiculous.... a few people complained about the continental breakfast. To that, I say... it's continental breakfast. It's free. Continental breakfast will never be gourmet cuisine, if it's not your thing no need to complain about it. The look is dated, but so are most of the places in the area. If you're going to hold it to the same standards as big-city hotels, you'll probably be disappointed, but it's Maine, just enjoy the small-town atmosphere! It's what makes places like this so nice to visit.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DB629
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
innkeeperOgunquit, Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2011

Dear DB629,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. It was our pleasure to have you as our guest and we hope that you will have occassion to visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2011

There were four of us in a penthouse of The Grand Hotel and we loved our stay. Enough room for four without stepping on each other's toes even when the sofabed was open. The king size bed and the sofa-bed were comfortable, the terrace was great and there was a fridge and a microwave in the room. Elevators and a garage are also a plus. The personnel is wonderful from the chambermaid to the staff at the front office. The continental breakfast is adequate and serves its purpose. The only thing missing is an outdoor pool but you can use the outside spa. All in all, a wonderful stay and we will definitely return to The Grand when in Ogunquit.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank denila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
innkeeperOgunquit, Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2011

Dear Denila,

We are glad you enjoyed your stay at The Grand and appreciate you sharing your experience on Tripadvisor. We hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2011

We just returned from our trip to Ogunquit and the only disappointing portion was the hotel. We have stayed at the Grand Hotel 3 times previously and quality has been declining.

The location is excellent and is about a 10 minute walk to Perkins Cove and 15 minute walk to the beach. The rooms are good size which makes it nice for families.

We're not overly picky....so the old furniture and out-dated look of the hotel was an even trade off for the bigger rooms (family of 4 with pack and play). With that said, the service of the hotel was terrible. Here's why:

-They dont change the sheets unless you stay 4 nights or more (we stayed 3 nights)
-They didnt provide replacement towels during our 3 night stay
-If trash is not directly in the trash can....it doesn't get removed. For example: we had 3 empty beer bottles near the trash....it wasnt removed. We had a crumpled up piece of paper in a grocery bag near the trash.....it wasnt removed. A day old lime on the deck sitting on an empty plastic bag.....it wasnt removed.
-We stayed 3 nights and house-keeping only cleaned 1 time. They came another time at 11:45 but we asked if they could postpone to the afternoon since our kids were napping....they said no....they leave early afternoon??
-When we walked back into the room after house-keeping....we couldnt tell if they had come. There was no straightening up......it was simply make the bed and empty trash cans. Really that's it.
-The beds are rock hard as well.....very uncomfortable.

We brought these issues to the front desk and they responded: "if trash isnt in the trashcan.....it might be personal property. I responded with: empty beer bottles?? She said: you might reuse them!??

Overall, when paying over $250+ a night, we expect service to at least average. Instead, the service was poor, hotel is out-dated and not worth the money spent. The location is great but really any hotel on Shore Road is in an excellent location.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Inhoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
innkeeperOgunquit, Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2011

We welcome reviews and appreciate your taking the time to share your point of view.

We are proud to be a participant in a Green Environment program and as such, must meet certain criteria. Part of the criteria is to conserve water and energy wherever possible. In each of our rooms, we have signs posted inviting our guests to participate in the program by hanging and reusing their towels. Guests are also given the option of receiving fresh towels each day by simply placing their used towels on the floor. We do change sheets every 4th day unless a guest requests more frequent changes and if they do, we certainly are happy to accommodate them.

Re-cycling is another component of the Green Environment program and for that reason, we have recycling bins in all of our rooms and our Housekeepers are instructed to empty them every day. They are also instructed not to presume what should and should not be discarded in a guest’s room. Any items not placed in the trash or recycle bins would be left alone.

Amongst the more visible improvements made this past year were a change out of all of our TV’s to Flat Screen DVD sets as well as new mattresses for all of our suites.

Thank you again for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ogunquit hotels
0.4 mi away
The Anchorage By the Sea
The Anchorage By the Sea
#12 of 36 in Ogunquit
1,064 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sea Rose Suites
Sea Rose Suites
#1 of 36 in Ogunquit
365 reviews
1.2 mi away
Gorges Grant Hotel
Gorges Grant Hotel
#5 of 36 in Ogunquit
601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Terrace by the Sea
Terrace by the Sea
#26 of 36 in Ogunquit
305 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Colonial Inn
The Colonial Inn
#8 of 36 in Ogunquit
718 reviews
0.3 mi away
Meadowmere Resort
Meadowmere Resort
#9 of 36 in Ogunquit
1,054 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel

Address: 276 Shore Rd, Ogunquit, ME 03907-3900
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Ogunquit
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ogunquit
#8 Family Hotel in Ogunquit
Price Range: £70 - £215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Grand Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Ogunquit
The Grand Hotel Ogunquit, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing