We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Value and great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Abalonia Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Abalonia Inn
Ranked #18 of 36 Hotels in Ogunquit
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane
Level Contributor
100 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Good Value and great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

On arrival we were greeted nicely and taken on a tour of the property.

Our room was nice, clean, tastefully decorated and spacious.We had room 5 at the front of the hotel facing the road which made it a little noisy with traffic but it had it's own entrance and little veranda to sit on. Very convenient for getting all our luggage in and out with ease.
There is a fire pit out the front you can sit around at night and a pool and deck area at the side of the Inn with beautiful trees surrounding. The Inn is a 1 min walk from the restaurant areas, great location.
The only negative thing is the bed was a bit soft and the walls are thin. As we were on the ground floor we could hear people walking up and down stairs and in the room above us as there was floor boards.
Overall, though a really nice experience and great value.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katalinbrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    175
    37
    11
    6
    2
See reviews for
12
151
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Level Contributor
91 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

A large group of us stayed at this inn over the weekend. It is located in the center of Ogunquit less than five minute walk to the beach and Shore road. The building was recently fully renovated and it is clean and comfortable. The front two rooms have access to a large private glassed in porch which was great to have as a place for our group to hang out. There are also multiple other decks and small patios as well as a fire pit at night. The innkeeper Jimmy was extremely friendly and helpful with information and assistance with reservations. All the rooms have small refrigerators and there is a small kitchen in the common area with plates, glasses and cutlery which was very convenient. We will be returning to the Abalonia Inn.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank world_citizen61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
County Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2013 via mobile

Great location near to everything in town and easy to find too.
Rooms are fine, comfy bed, nice shower.
There is a small pool which looked nice but I didn't use it.
Friendly staff too.
Great value when I booked.
Only downside is that it was quite noisy in the hotel for other people moving about on the wooden floors. I'm not sure there is a good way around this really though and it didn't detract.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank anklejoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2013

My husband and I had a wonderful weekend at the Abalonia Inn early August 2013 to celebrate our 20 year anniversary. Leaving the room accommodations to Jimmy who is an adept and savvy manager was a smart choice as we welcomed our time together rather than the social areas. Our room was delightful. The Abalonia is a large updated older home/inn with 3 floors where charm and efficiency replace high end amenities. It's very nicely renovated with stylish pieces and not "lavender and lace".

Times by the tranquil salt water pool provided a relaxing atmosphere and interesting conversation with guests. Our trek to the crowded beach in this high season was a must, but walking 300 yards left of the "landing" provided ample quiet space for this gay couple. We purchased Bistro sandwiches along the way to put in our refreshment cooler... and after a 20 minute walk from our room - we had our spot for the day, beautifully lazing in the sand of the sun of the Atlantic. Ideal spots on the beach are far from refreshments/facilities so we packed accordingly.

We researched many restaurants and entertainment but eventually let our senses lead the way, stumbling upon restaurants and enjoying most of our meals. Found the piano bars and sang into the night and also meet some wonderful residents.

I highly recommend The Abalonia in Ogunguit for a getaway. We made wonderful memories and close times together.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ENUFAU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

My boyfriend and I visited the Abalonia Inn last week for a 2-night stay (room 8), and had the best time! We've both been to Ogunquit several times, but it was our first time staying here. The experience was just wonderful. The Inn was full when we were there, and yet we hardly saw other people so there was no feeling of being "on top of" people or anything like that. You honestly cannot beat the location - it's close to everything! The whole place was beautifully kept, including the room we stayed in, the heated saltwater pool (heavenly), and the great fire pit area. It was a comfortable, laid-back and warm environment, with Jimmy going above and beyond to take care of his guests and the grounds. Overall a great experience for a couple who are more used to hotel-type accommodations. This was actually more enjoyable than the larger hotels I've stayed at in the area! Thanks again!

Room Tip: Room 8 has lots of windows so is beautifully bright. A little noise from footsteps above, but not a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jflenard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
White Plains, New York
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013

My wife and I have been to Ogunquit three out of the past four years, and this was our first time at the Abalonia. We really enjoyed our stay here, and would certainly stay again the next time we are in Ogunquit. The location is excellent, right in the middle of town yet set back enough from main street that a fussy sleeper like me did not have to hear street noise. It is a very easy walk to the beach, and a somewhat less easy but still doable walk to Perkins Cove. Jimmy, who I assume is the owner, was very friendly and helpful. He was very happy to answer questions and give recommendations. At the Inn we had stayed in the last time, I almost felt like we were bothering the owners with questions, so I was glad that Jimmy seemed genuinely interested in making sure that we had a nice time. The rooms were very nice, and the bed was comfortable. The bathroom (and especially the shower) was pretty small, but so what? There was a small pool that was warm enough to get right into without having to get used to the temperature. My one critique would be the breakfast situation. I know that the Abalonia is an inn, not a B&B, but when we went down to the office in the morning there were like four muffin halves on a plate. If that is all that is going to be offered, I think it would be better to just not offer breakfast at all so as not to confuse people about whether or not this is a B&B. Even so, we would gladly stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, CT
Level Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2013 via mobile

When my husband and I decided to take an overnight trip to Ogunquit we found most hotel lodging required a two night stay. Jim at the Abalonia told us that was their preferance as well but they had an opening and we were able to reserve a room. The Inn was centrally located and an easy walk to Marginal Way, the center of town and the beach. The property was well kept and the grounds were immaculate and well landscaped. Jimmy was very welcoming and helpful getting us settled in. Our room was very nice, the bed comfortable and it was quiet to sleep. The saltwater pool was relaxing. We were sorry that we couldn't stay longer. We look forward to a return trip.

Stayed August 2013
Helpful?
Thank sjeffers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ogunquit hotels
0.5 mi away
Gorges Grant Hotel
Gorges Grant Hotel
#3 of 36 in Ogunquit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Colonial Inn
The Colonial Inn
#5 of 36 in Ogunquit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 604 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Anchorage By the Sea
The Anchorage By the Sea
#9 of 36 in Ogunquit
4.0 of 5 bubbles 993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Pink Blossoms Resort (Family Suites)
0.6 mi away
Sea Rose Suites
Sea Rose Suites
#11 of 36 in Ogunquit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
0.1 mi away
Juniper Hill Inn
Juniper Hill Inn
#12 of 36 in Ogunquit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abalonia Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abalonia Inn

Property: Abalonia Inn
Address: 268 Main St, Ogunquit, ME 03907
Region: United States > Maine > Ogunquit
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Ogunquit
#18 Family Hotel in Ogunquit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Abalonia Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Abalonia is an 1840's New England style farmhouse that has been lovingly restored with particular attention to the period detail, including the original post and beams. The Ideal Location: Abalonia is located right in the center of the village, only one block to the Ogunquit beach and the entrance to the Marginal Way (Ogunquit's famous cliff walk leading to Perkins Cove). Yet, the Abalonia is set back from the road, has open gardens so guests are able to peacefully enjoy being in the heart of the village, with its famous restaurants, clubs, and historic movie cinema. Amenities Include: All inn rooms have new Flat Screen TVs, individually controlled air conditioners, wireless internet, and heat. Our Rooms - We have two types of room accommodations. both can accommodate a maximum of two guests: Our rooms have either one king size bed or one queen size bed. All rooms have private baths. We understand it is not easy checking out places online and figuring which one is right for you. If you want an inn that is clean, friendly, and in a great location, you have found your home in Ogunquit!We truly strive to give you the best customer service and the best value you have probably not at a hotel, inn or B&B received in years. We are also real. If you want to be left alone on your romantic getaway, you can do that. If you want to be social and hang out with our other guests, you can do that too. The choice is yours. If you have any more questions, please go to our Questions and Answers page. Proud member of the Ogunquit Chamber of Commerce, Maine Innkeepers Association, and Maine Tourism Association. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Abalonia Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abalonia Inn Ogunquit, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing