We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location is perfect - refined touches would enhance hospitality”
Review of Abalonia Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Abalonia Inn
Ranked #21 of 36 Hotels in Ogunquit
Certificate of Excellence
Prescott, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
178 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Location is perfect - refined touches would enhance hospitality”
Reviewed 25 October 2013

On a positive note, Innkeeper Jimmy was great. He recommended a local florist for us, and put wine and flowers in our friends room before their arrival. Jimmy was friendly and helpful. The best thing about the Abalonia Inn is the location - just steps from the heart of Ogunquit dining and shopping, and a short walk to the beach and Maginal Way.

The downside of this inn is the actual accommodations. Our room was clean, but although recently "renovated", had issues. I found the bed uncomfortable (although I could just have been missing my own wonderful mattress). The bedding was clean but worn. The antique dresser had an unusable drawer that required repair. Decor was a bit of a mish-mosh of styles. Nonetheless, it did have a homey feeling. Lots of hot water and great shower pressure!

No coffee until 8am at the inn. But you can walk toward town to the Village Market and get great coffee and to-go breakfast.

This was our first stay in Ogunquit, and we will probably not stay there again. Just not our cup of tea.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RunawayBoomer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    180
    38
    11
    6
    2
See reviews for
12
154
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Travelling from Australia we found the Abalonia Inn very charming. I loved our room with the exposed beams. It was very conveniently located being walking distance to all the restaurants and specialty shops. Would definitely recommend staying at this inn with its historical background. Thanks Jimmy for your helpful suggestions about local amenities.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prescott, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Great location, only a few minutes walk to town restaurants and pubs. Jimmy, the manager, was very helpful and always happy.
We prefer the smaller non-chain hotels and inns so the smaller room size was ok. Bed was very uncomfortable as were the pillows. Bedding was worn and dated. The room furniture was dilapidated, drawers would jam or fall apart when opened. Sink faucet was falling off. Housekeeping was marginal. Nice sun porch, but several broken windows that needed replacing.
Great potential, but needs some attention to detail.
Lots of similar properties in the area, so would recommend shopping around and giving this one a pass.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kenneth432
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

We first stayed (3 nights) at Abalonia Inn, Ogunquit, in late Sept, 2012. In 2013, we returned again for 3 nights, this time earlier, Sept 4-6. Asked for and got the same king-bed room that we had the first time we visited. It's one of their largest rooms and nice shower. If you're staying, check out rooms on web site. Some rooms are smaller, for less money, and one room has tiny shower stall. Jimmy, innkeeper, was great and friendly as usual. He sincerely remembered us, and greeted my wife a hug, which was very nice. Me, I like a handshake. The Inn (not a B&B, since the only breakfast offered is coffee and store-made muffins) is only a couple of minutes walk from the commercial centre of Ogunquit centre. There's a great coffee/bakery in town (just before the grocery/deli/wine store.) It's a take-out place with all kind of baked goods. Service is great. Pastries and things are delicious. Very little foot traffic in front of the Inn, which is about 75 feet back from the main thoroughfare/old highway. Walk to the public beach takes 5 minutes. Marginal Way Perkins Cove is so pleasant with benches along the way. We had a lunch at Lobster Shack in Perkins Cove after a 25 km (18 mile) bike ride along the coast east to Cape Neddick. No shoulder to ride on but cars/drivers were very considerate while going around us. My wife and I have Giant bikes (Roam XR2 and Rove) meant for road and off-road. We were on a road/bike trip, and Abalonia has some safe spot for us to lock them up and out of elements. Before Ogunquit, we spent 2 nights in Burlington, Vermont with friends and rode great trails there, and after Ogunquit we went to Mount Desert Island/Bar Harbor for Carriage Trails (will write in a separate review) for another 3 nights, before heading to Montreal, and then back to Toronto. We ate at Barnacle Billy's in Perkins Cove - great lobster and swordfish, nice view of the harbour. Walked back to Ogunquit along dark Marginal Way - had a small flashlight, it was fine. Also, ate at an Italian restaurant a few minutes north of Ogunquit - Angelina's. Jimmy, our innkeeper happily made us a reservation, which was a good idea, because it was packed on a Friday night. Food good, not as great as reviews suggested, and it was very loud, tables are jammed close together. Services was friendly and bit too fast. Parking lot was small and difficult to find a spot to park. We also ate at Lobster Pound restaurant, also a few minutes north of the Inn. Overrated, especially for the prices. Better food and prices at Barnacle Billy's in Perkins Cove.
On a rainy day, went shopping with our Canadian money to Portsmouth. Great outlet malls along the slower highway (#1, I think), Tommy Hilfiger, Columbia, and many more. Portsmouth has a Trader Joe's (Gosling Road), which is special for us from Canada. And, finally, breakfast one morning at Amore Restaurant, Perkins Cove. Very busy, so ate at take out area on the patio. Probably make the Maine bike trip again next year, and Abalonia provides all the comfort we need.

Room Tip: Rooms with king beds are bigger. Stayed one night in a room with a Queen bed, it was very small and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HipHopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 17 October 2013

We spent three nights during Columbus Day at Abalonia Inn. The service was perfect. Jimmy is a great owner and always ready to help. The room was not that big but the King Bed was really comfortable. Continental breakfast is fair (coffee, orange juice and muffins), but there are many restaurants in the area. The heated swimming pool was greatly appreciated as well as the exterior fireplace. Very well located. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Francois L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Red Deer, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

We stayed for 2 nights at Abalonia Inn in October 2013. We were in a King Room and had a private door leading from a small private deck into our room. The room was clean and comfortable. Stand-outs for us were the warm greeting and hospitality by the innkeeper, Jimmy. He also had some good suggestions for walks and restaurants.

Abalonia Inn is on a fairly busy road but our room was at the side of the Inn and was quiet overnight. It would have been better if the room had black-out curtains to keep the room dark after sunrise. The inn doesn't provide breakfast but offers coffee and muffins - a light "pre-breakfast". The inn is in close proximity to a number of restaurants and a wonderful bakery. We also found it to be in walking distance to the Ogunquit Playhouse (where we saw The Buddy Holly Story) and the trolley cars are fun, inexpensive and can get you quickly down to the village of Perkins Cove.

All in all, we had a couple of wonderful days/nights in Ogunquit and specifically at Abalonia Inn. We'd stay there again and recommend it to others.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

This was the second year we stayed there. We also stayed last October. Jimmy and the crew are great folks and accommodated us VERY well. Nice room and great location! I would highly recommend Abalonia to ANYONE visiting Ogunquit.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SKCYCLES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ogunquit hotels
0.5 mi away
Gorges Grant Hotel
Gorges Grant Hotel
#2 of 36 in Ogunquit
544 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Anchorage By the Sea
The Anchorage By the Sea
#10 of 36 in Ogunquit
1,025 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Colonial Inn
The Colonial Inn
#5 of 36 in Ogunquit
674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Juniper Hill Inn
Juniper Hill Inn
#14 of 36 in Ogunquit
473 reviews
0.2 mi away
Terrace by the Sea
Terrace by the Sea
#24 of 36 in Ogunquit
291 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Admiral's Inn
The Admiral's Inn
#4 of 36 in Ogunquit
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abalonia Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abalonia Inn

Property: Abalonia Inn
Address: 268 Main St, Ogunquit, ME 03907-3205
Region: United States > Maine > Ogunquit
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Ogunquit
#18 Family Hotel in Ogunquit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Abalonia Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Abalonia is an 1840's New England style farmhouse that has been lovingly restored with particular attention to the period detail, including the original post and beams. The Ideal Location: Abalonia is located right in the center of the village, only one block to the Ogunquit beach and the entrance to the Marginal Way (Ogunquit's famous cliff walk leading to Perkins Cove). Yet, the Abalonia is set back from the road, has open gardens so guests are able to peacefully enjoy being in the heart of the village, with its famous restaurants, clubs, and historic movie cinema. Amenities Include: All inn rooms have new Flat Screen TVs, individually controlled air conditioners, wireless internet, and heat. Our Rooms - We have two types of room accommodations. both can accommodate a maximum of two guests: Our rooms have either one king size bed or one queen size bed. All rooms have private baths. We understand it is not easy checking out places online and figuring which one is right for you. If you want an inn that is clean, friendly, and in a great location, you have found your home in Ogunquit!We truly strive to give you the best customer service and the best value you have probably not at a hotel, inn or B&B received in years. We are also real. If you want to be left alone on your romantic getaway, you can do that. If you want to be social and hang out with our other guests, you can do that too. The choice is yours. If you have any more questions, please go to our Questions and Answers page. Proud member of the Ogunquit Chamber of Commerce, Maine Innkeepers Association, and Maine Tourism Association. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers and Priceline so you can book your Abalonia Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abalonia Inn Ogunquit, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing