We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Abalonia Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Abalonia Inn
Ranked #17 of 36 Hotels in Ogunquit
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
“Great place to stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

We stayed here at the beginning of Aug 2014. Super nice innkeepers. It was a very last minute reservation - we were lucky they had a room. We upgraded from a queen to a king room for a very fair price. Room was very comfortable - lots of windows which I love. Easy walking everywhere. Pool area is great, and lots of outdoor seating on the property. Fire pit in the front. Great property. Do yourself a favour and stay here.

Room Tip: The queen room I saw was small. King is a better size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OSDLucky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    174
    37
    11
    6
    2
See reviews for
12
151
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northern new jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014

My husband and I stayed at the inn for one night on a spur of the moment trip. After driving for hours, we were thrilled to step into the delightful heated pool and just de-stress! Our room was cute and cozy with a flat screen tv and private bath. We walked in to town for dinner and people watching, then back to the inn to sit by the fire pit out front. Ogonquit is a quintessential Maine seaside town with lots of restaurants, beautiful gardens, Oceanside pathways and charming shops. We did not go to the beach but it is nearby. They offer coffee, tea, juice and muffins in the morning.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BT S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014

Unbeatable Location & Service

This was our first stay at the Abalonia Inn and we were truly impressed. The location is second to none... just steps from everything you want to see/do in Ogunquit. Jimmy and staff were 4 Star hosts and ensured that no detail was overlooked.
The heated outdoor saltwater pool was lovely and well maintained. The outdoor firepit was a relaxing way to end the evening. Though we tend to dine out, it was nice to have the option of enjoying breakfast at the Inn if desired.
All guestrooms are well appointed, clean and comfortable. Because this is a renovated farmhouse, room sizes vary somewhat. Our room was larger than the one our friends stayed in, so if size matters, request a larger room when you book and they'll do what they can to accommodate.

We've stayed in Oguniquit several time and Abalonia has been the BEST experience. We will most certainly be back!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JJodouin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

Stayed for 5 nights in July, 2014. Place was very neat and clean, Jimmy and staff very friendly and helpful to any requests. Jimmy shared lots of helpful info with us regarding places to eat and things to see. The pool was great as it was too cold to swim in the ocean! It was within walking distance to beach and all restaurants and Marginal Way. Parking was safe and we really didn't need the car to go anywhere. The queen room we had on second floor was just fine for two people. Air conditioning worked great. Non smoking environment which is always appreciated. Being able to use the refrigerator and freezer in the kitchen area was also helpful. Would highly recommend the Abalonia Inn.

Room Tip: we were on the second floor on the north side and did not have any noise issues.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prospect CT
Level Contributor
42 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

Had a great, one night stay here at the Abalonia Inn - very charming, great staff, pretty, well maintained grounds....pool, a bonus....close walk to the center of town, beach, Marginal Way - just park your car and you never have to move it. The only "negative" is that since it is wood floors throughout, and not carpet, you can hear your neighbors on the floor above you, but that's about it. We took advantage of the coffee and pastry in the morning which was very nice and there's lots of seating outside to sip your coffee and just relax. We had a great stay and would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: stay on the 3rd floor that way you won't hear the footsteps of the people above you as they are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank neverroamalone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southborough, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

My partner and I have been coming to Ogunquit for the last four years. We usually stay at one of four or five of the larger inns/hotels, depending on availability and time of year. While in town last month, Danny encouraged us to visit Abalonia for a quick tour and consideration for our next visit. We showed up, got a great tour, and decided to book a weekend for earlier this month.

Abalonia is a great change of pace from the larger inns and hotels in the area. Danny and Jimmy are the most friendly and helpful hosts! They greet you by name when you walk in the door, make you feel right at home, and take the time to always make sure you’re having a great time. Our room was charming, spacious, warmly yet currently decorated, and spotless. We started the morning by the pool with a book. The pool, by the way, is a beautiful salt water pool heated to just the right temperature. After spending the day at the beach, we returned in the afternoon to relax in the pool. It was a perfect area to get together and get to know the other guests, and share stories about the weekend.

EXCELLENT LOCATION! Right at the edge of downtown without the noise. Several minutes' walk from the beach.

Some rooms are more private, some have their own outside entrances and porches… I know there was a complaint earlier about getting a room on the first floor close to the parking area. I personally thought these rooms with the private sitting area would be fun to book next time. Danny and Jimmy will do their best to accommodate you, but being an inn and not a chain motel, there are only so many rooms to go around, so you can’t really request a specific room and be 100% assured of getting it.

We originally thought this going to be a “one-off”, but we’re definitely adding Abalonia to the top of our favorites of places to stay in OGT. Hope to see you again in August!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schenectady
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

As soon as I entered into the front doors of the Abalonia, I was greeted by Jimmy and Danny. It was my first time to Ogunquit, though they made me feel like I've known them for years!
The location of this hotel is absolutely perfect, right in the heart of town and yet far enough for the serenity that the Abalonia offers. The saltwater pool was absolutely amazing. But the best part about my stay was the unparalleled attention I received from the entire staff. My room was absolutely immaculate and the private terrace overlooking the pool was very peaceful.

I cannot wait to return. Please disregard the negative review that someone posted, I understand we all have our own opinion, but from my experience, I haven't a clue why anyone would complain about this place. Keep up the good work boys.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank NYSLFD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ogunquit hotels
0.5 mi away
The Colonial Inn
The Colonial Inn
#4 of 36 in Ogunquit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 603 reviews
0.4 mi away
Gorges Grant Hotel
Gorges Grant Hotel
#2 of 36 in Ogunquit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Anchorage By the Sea
The Anchorage By the Sea
#10 of 36 in Ogunquit
4.0 of 5 bubbles 985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Pink Blossoms Resort (Family Suites)
0.7 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#7 of 36 in Ogunquit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
0.1 mi away
Juniper Hill Inn
Juniper Hill Inn
#12 of 36 in Ogunquit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abalonia Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abalonia Inn

Property: Abalonia Inn
Address: 268 Main St, Ogunquit, ME 03907
Region: United States > Maine > Ogunquit
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Ogunquit
#18 Family Hotel in Ogunquit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Abalonia Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Abalonia is an 1840's New England style farmhouse that has been lovingly restored with particular attention to the period detail, including the original post and beams. The Ideal Location: Abalonia is located right in the center of the village, only one block to the Ogunquit beach and the entrance to the Marginal Way (Ogunquit's famous cliff walk leading to Perkins Cove). Yet, the Abalonia is set back from the road, has open gardens so guests are able to peacefully enjoy being in the heart of the village, with its famous restaurants, clubs, and historic movie cinema. Amenities Include: All inn rooms have new Flat Screen TVs, individually controlled air conditioners, wireless internet, and heat. Our Rooms - We have two types of room accommodations. both can accommodate a maximum of two guests: Our rooms have either one king size bed or one queen size bed. All rooms have private baths. We understand it is not easy checking out places online and figuring which one is right for you. If you want an inn that is clean, friendly, and in a great location, you have found your home in Ogunquit!We truly strive to give you the best customer service and the best value you have probably not at a hotel, inn or B&B received in years. We are also real. If you want to be left alone on your romantic getaway, you can do that. If you want to be social and hang out with our other guests, you can do that too. The choice is yours. If you have any more questions, please go to our Questions and Answers page. Proud member of the Ogunquit Chamber of Commerce, Maine Innkeepers Association, and Maine Tourism Association. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Abalonia Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abalonia Inn Ogunquit, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing