We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Last Minute Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Seacastles Resort Inn and Suites
Ranked #27 of 36 Hotels in Ogunquit
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 July 2013

Made last minute arrangements at end of holiday weekend. Located in easy walking distance to town, beach and Perkins Cove. Directly opposite the northern entrance to the Marginal Way. Stayed (3) nights and room was clean and functional with full kitchen. Air conditioner was efficient but noisy and had to be turned off in order to slap. Pool and hot tubs were just ok. Showers were hit or miss as far as hot water availability. Housekeeping could be improved as far as completing rooms prior to noon. To the passers by the front porches look inviting but are the domain of those particular rooms. Bed and couch were comfortable. Much of the Inn is a time share. Pretty decent place for the price.

Room Tip: Rooms 104, 105 and 110 are on front and have nice porches for the early morning coffee or the evenin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Norm A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (171)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

101 - 107 of 172 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2013

The resort is located in the heart I'd town right near the Marginal Way and in walking or trolley-riding distance to everything. We stayed there about 15 years ago and it was new and fresh and now it is pretty old and tired. The towels and sheets are nearly threadbare!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KaseyME
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Nice stay at the Seacastles in Ogunquit.
We arrived at the hotel early, our room was not ready, that was just fine we just wanted to head to the beach. The FD staff was very friendly kept our cooler until we came back from the beach. Our studio was simple very clean; room’s are outdated but comfortable and very clean. Full kitchen and plenty of space in the studio. During our stay we used the hot tub also the grills available to the guest to cook, in case you don’t want to deal with the long wait at all the restaurants in Ogunquit during the summer.
If you don’t mind the outdated 90’s décor, great place to stay, for a long weekend or a week since all the rooms have full or partial kitchens. Great location, close to all the attractions in Ogunquit. Have fun!!

Room Tip: Use the pool and hot tub!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Guillermo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2013

This hotel is in a great location and the exterior is for the most part well kept which would make you believe the interior may be the same....not so much. The rooms are very very outdated and the beds and sofa beds are horrible. We have stayed at Sea Castles 3 times over the course of 5 years and have never stayed in a room that is "with the times". TV's are very very old and the bedding whether it be the sofa bed or the bed itself are horrible. Units interior is as I mentioned earlier very dated, furniture is old and dated, tables the same.....Wallpaper is usually coming off the walls, bath tub felt like it was going to fall through the floor. Another minus with this resort is the FD is not open 24 hours so if you have an issue that is not an emergency you are out of luck after 11pm. The guest above us were extremely loud all night and partied until the early morning hours making it impossible for us to sleep and no avenue to get them to stop as the desk was closed, only option was to confront them yourself....was not going to happen. Another huge minus of this place is I have yet to find a unit in which the air conditioner works correctly and given it was 91 degrees this was not a goof thing. Would be a superior establishment if interior up keep was a priority and minor very inexpensive cosmetic things were fixed regularly but they are not. Also make sure your dishes are done before you leave or be prepared to pay $25.00 another thing done here at Sea Castles that is a rarity amongst hotels today, if you are paying to stay somewhere, you have to do the dishes...........? Overall not a bad place and the location is great but very outdated, no up keep and the management does not seem to mind at all. If you stay here you will be dissapointed by the rooms as the outside makes it appear as though the inside will be as nice.... Management seems to think that location will sell this place so the can slack on other areas, they may get away with it for the times being but eventually something is going to need to be done.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Northeast82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2013

Our first time in O we stayed here for Memorial Weekend and we are so glad that we did! It was rainy sat and a cold and windy Sunday but the indoor pool/hot tub was great! Our 3 year old, loved it. We appreciated the kitchenette to save some $ on simple things like snacks, a pasta night, etc. especially due to our rambunctious child with food allergies- its easier for us and less stress then eating out all day, every day. The Inn was in a perfect spot to start the Marginal Way walk AND/ Or to walk to the beach. The beach here is very child friendly because one side is on the river with almost no waves- but if you want the full ocean experience just walk 2 minutes to the other side of the little beach island. Also the cost was very reasonable I guess compared to those across the street ON the ocean side in the room we were in I could open the blinds and see the sunrise over the ocean.

Room Tip: Fitness center here=indoor pool with hot tub and outdoor jacuzzi on patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerNorseman, Manager at Seacastles Resort Inn and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2013

Thank you for staying with us and reviewing Seacastles Resort Inn & Suites. Our hotel is ideally situated on Shore Road directly across the street from the Marginal Way entrance. Families appreciate our variety of room and suite layouts and all units are equipped with either full or partial kitchens. BBQ grills are also available during the warm months. Many guests enjoy the option of dining in their rooms - especially during the summer when restaurants are very busy and not always conducive to dining with small children. All attractions are within walking distance and the trolley stop is right in front of the hotel. Our indoor heated swimming pool and whirlpool or outdoor hot tub are great for casual relaxation. Thank you again for staying with us. We look forward to hosting your next visit to Ogunquit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2013

My husband and I spent two nights at Seacastles and had a wonderful vacation. The location was perfect we could walk into town for meals and entertainment . Across the street was the path to marginal way a beautiful walkway that skirts the ocean shore and ends at Perkins Cove!! Thank you for such a wonderful visit!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lois40955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2013

We're old Ogunquit/York fans and have overnighted in most of the standbys....the Cliff House, Anchorages in Ogunquit and York Beach, and many others. Seacastles was referred to us by good friends a couple of years ago and it has been our hotel of choice when we stay in Ogunquit, almost always off season when their prices are dirt cheap.

Our room has always been clean and suite-like, with a divider between the bedroom and sitting room/kitchen which provides good space. No problems there. As a daily lap swimmer I enjoy their really good indoor pool. And the hotel is just across the road from an entrance to the Marginal Way. On our trip this past weekend the wi-fi worked well (a tad tricky to get going) and the staff was very pleasant. We like the fact that the property is near the center of town and just yards from a couple of very good restaurants.

Here are some relatively minor quibbles:

- they leave it to guests to turn on lights in the pool area, and the pool itself. I had a hard time getting this through my thick skull as it got dark and I could barely see what I was about to bump into. A sign is needed.

- the bathrooms now feature these new little tiny toilets and are a pain in the neck if one is tall, and given there are no grab bars anywhere in sight, a bit of unnecessary exercise to get up. They are too far from the bath/shower to be useful in getting in and out. I find this oddly common in Maine hotels.

- the shower area contains only one tiny grab bar, and that is to its rear, making it very difficult to navigate. I find this whole bathroom set up rather odd and could be somewhat dangerous.

- how about some decaf coffee, and some tea?

I have a minor disability and seldom ask for a handicap room, assuming there may be someone worse off than me. But come on folks, get in a couple of grab bars in good strategic locations. I did discover after a day that there are folding chairs in the closet one could use in the bathroom, but still no grab bars; just a creaky shower rod to use.

The overall laws of Maine strike me as odd as far as disabilities go. I noticed that new devices, at 6k apiece, are now required for all pools and hot tubs in commercial facilities to help customers get in and out. But many of the businesses and restaurants we visited had no handicap parking (which I needed during the snow storm that came up the coast while we were there). One hotel we stayed at on the coast a couple of years ago had a brand new building, but its bathrooms were totally without grab bars, stools, or anything helpful. When I wrote the owner to complain she responded that "we are in compliance with state laws." I guess that was for my lawyer in the event I slipped and killed myself. I don't want to make a big deal of this, but its only when customers are critical that things get fixed, or state change their laws.

Like another reviewer here I don't really like these deposit laws in Maine, particularly in the off season. We travel all over the country and most of the time find that hotels and resorts are far more flexible.. So a bad snowstorm is coming, the roads will be dangerous, and we are still out our deposit????

This all said, we would certain return to Seacastles, and I guess that's the bottom line.

Room Tip: Bottom floor. No elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rkgood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ogunquit hotels
0.4 mi away
Norseman Resort
Norseman Resort
#13 of 36 in Ogunquit
381 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aspinquid at Norseman Resort
0.1 mi away
The Anchorage By the Sea
The Anchorage By the Sea
#10 of 36 in Ogunquit
1,067 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Gorges Grant Hotel
Gorges Grant Hotel
#3 of 36 in Ogunquit
602 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sea Rose Suites
Sea Rose Suites
#1 of 36 in Ogunquit
367 reviews
1.2 mi away
InnSeason Resort The Falls at Ogunquit
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seacastles Resort Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seacastles Resort Inn and Suites

Address: 104 Shore Rd, Ogunquit, ME 03907-3704
Region: United States > Maine > Ogunquit
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 36 Hotels in Ogunquit
Price Range: £69 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Seacastles Resort Inn and Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All Suite Hotel Located In The Heart Of Ogunquit On Shore Road. Studios, 1 Bedroom, Loft & Penthouse Units All With Full Or Partial Kitchens. Indoor Pool/Whirlpool. Seasonal Outdoor Hot Tub & Gas Grills. Guest Laundry Facilities. Internet In Office. Open Year Round. Off-Season Packages Including Accommodations, Brunch & Dinner. Trolley Stop. Close To Beach & All Other Local Activities. Office Hours 7am-11pm Daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Seacastles Resort Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seacastles Hotel Ogunquit
Seacastles Resort Inn And Suites Ogunquit, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing