We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ogunquit
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Seacastles Resort Inn and Suites
Ranked #28 of 36 Hotels in Ogunquit
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 October 2013

We had a great room with small kitchenette and front porch with small view of ocean, across the street. Denise, the manager, was very helpful and suggested a great restaurant next door Blueberries which had an awesome Tapas made by a new chef Daniel from Bulgaria. This place is right across the street from the beautiful Marginal Way and a short walk to town. There was an enclosed pool and hot tub(and an outdoor one), too, We were there the last weekend in October and it was very affordable. I would highly recommend this. The interior does need to be updated.

Room Tip: Get room 104 with porch
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pej60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (166)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

86 - 92 of 166 reviews

Reviewed 8 October 2013

Stayed at this resort two years in a row. Located across the street from the Marginal Way, walking distance to Perkins Cove. Quaint downtown shoppes within walking distance. Loved that fact that our bedroom was separate from the living room. Bed was not as comfortable as we like but it was satisfactory. Nice that we had a refrigerator and microwave in the room. Staff was very helpful and room was clean. Best deal at this resort is after Columbus Day. If I had to list one complaint, it would be that the fan in the bathroom sounding like a jet engine, so we just chose not to use it.

Room Tip: Upper room with a deck has the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lisa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Stayed here 1 night in October. Very convenient location, room was clean, front desk very polite.
The room did smell alittle funky, but we just opened the windows to air it out. Did not use the pool. We stayed in a studio. Don't know what the rest of the rooms were like, but would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We stayed in a studio. It was very clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank love2travel04572
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

Bottom line: if we come after Labor Day again, we will stay here again. We've been coming to Ogunquit since 2004 and being near the Main Street, Beach Street, Shore Road intersection is where you want to be. (See other reviews for that!) Having said that, you will pay the price for staying anywhere within a half mile radius and the innkeepers seem to take advantage of this and keep pace with one another. This inn may be a bit lower in price because they do not have a workout room and you will not be able to use another facility. Also, there is no tennis court, no free breakfast, no game room, no real lobby. But if location is what you want, you got it: Marginal Way is right there, a quick walk to the center of town and you can walk to Perkins Cove or take the trolley. I jogged along Marginal Way but I really missed that treadmill when it rained.

But they do have: an indoor pool (the water may be a bit warmer in high summer), a sun deck area with chairs, a hot tub outside and a jacuzzi with the indoor pool and of course, free parking. The staff was very nice and friendly. Very helpful (they even agreed a treadmill would be nice).

I agree that the furnishings may not match in the rooms. But it was fully furnished: sofa, two chairs, dresser downstairs and up, floor lamp and table lamps. One of the bulbs was out but we did not ask for a replacement. I'm sure they would have brought one. Our room was clean and spacious. We had their loft which had two queen beds upstairs and a pull-out couch downstairs. We traveled with three tweens and we had plenty of room. However, it is a true loft: you can look right downstairs from the top, meaning it is one big open space. The kids loved it, moms and dads won't have a true separate room. We also came to a truce with two TV's going at the same time.

The kitchenette was a good size, electric stove, microwave, full size fridge, utensils, coffee maker, even a toaster. Although we did not make a meal there, the table could sit 6 if you needed to. I have stayed in rooms this size that had two bathrooms, so with only one bathroom, it was a bit hectic but we pulled it off.

For those who have read my reviews, please know that we really enjoy our destinations, so our requirements for lodging may not be what others require. We are out the majority of the day and often get back late at night. A pool is necessary when I travel with my nieces and nephews (our own child is grown and is not often with us), otherwise, it's not important. Likewise, we normally eat out, but like having a microwave and refrigerator. I would prefer at least a treadmill, but I'll jog in the street if I have too. Free breakfast is not important. My thing is the room has to be clean, particularly the bathroom, carpet (which I really don't like) and the bed. Luxury is not always a requirement. So my standards are not as high as others. Bear that in mind when you read my reviews.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
2  Thank mcprises
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

We stayed in a side loft at the Seacastles Labor Day weekend. We were very pleased with our accommodations. The room was very clean and comfortable! The staff was very friendly and helpful. The location was perfect. We will be back soon!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandra R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

We have been coming to Ogunquit for many years and have stayed at Seacastles a few times before and also at many other locations in Ogunquit. We chose Seacastles this year because they seemed to have the best price for a suite with separate a bedroom.
-As soon as we entered the room we realised the small savings was not worth it!! The room smelled horrible - like an old refrigerator that had been left unplugged.
-The furniture and carpets were so outdated looking that the idea of sitting down and relaxing in our living area was just not an option - luckiy the weather was great so we could lounge outside.
-The indoor pool is the most disgusting mold den I've ever seen - you couldn't find a worse pool in the dingiest 49.00 / night motel on the side of the highway.
-I spent my entire vacation in agony with back pains because the bed and pillows were so awful and uncomfortable that I couldn't sleep and my lower back was in constant spasms.
-The carpet to the stairs was pulling up at the front door entry - the carpet tack strip was exposed and I nearly tore my foot open on it twice.
-The AC units which must have been installed in 1984, have two speeds off and super ice blast - and they blow right on the bed. So we elected to not have AC instead of freezing to death. And they also sounded like a tractor trailer the humming noise they made was so loud.
-The bathrooms were just gross.

We stayed 3 nights after having spent a night at the Anchorage across the street. It was like night and day - we will never go back to Seacastles. Its a great location in our favorite spot in Ogunquit, but it is time for a serious overhaul and renovation to bring it up to par with its location and price.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank dfam1463
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerNorseman, Manager at Seacastles Resort Inn and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2013

Thank you for staying at Seacastles Resort Inn & Suites and sharing your opinion. We are very sorry that we failed to meet your expectations. Unfortunately, we have no record of any issues with your accommodations while you were a guest and consequently were unable to address any concerns that you may have had during your stay. We are here to provide exceptional customer service and immaculately clean and well maintained guest rooms. We are here to make our guests happy and we will do everything in our power to do so when an issue is brought to our attention. Please be assured that corrective action will be taken on the matters brought to our attention on tripadvisor. Once again, please accept our apologies.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

We were booked at another location down the street for 2 nights. The smell on our suite at the other location was toxic therefore we could not stay the 2 nights as originally planned. We called Seacastles and they had a suite available. We stayed last night and we very pleased with the cleanliness of the room and the friendliness of the staff . Our room overlooked Shore road and we felt like we were part of the action. The room was fine. The only complaint was the pull out sofa could have had a better mattress but we loved the location and the cleanliness. Thank you so much..

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Polly259
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerNorseman, Manager at Seacastles Resort Inn and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2013

Thank you for staying at Seacastles Resort Inn & Suites and sharing your opinions - we appreciate it. We look forward to the opportunity of hosting your next Ogunquit visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ogunquit hotels
0.1 mi away
Pink Blossoms Resort (Family Suites)
0.1 mi away
The Colonial Inn
The Colonial Inn
#7 of 36 in Ogunquit
706 reviews
0.2 mi away
Terrace by the Sea
Terrace by the Sea
#26 of 36 in Ogunquit
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Aspinquid at Norseman Resort
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#12 of 36 in Ogunquit
486 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Anchorage By the Sea
The Anchorage By the Sea
#15 of 36 in Ogunquit
1,050 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seacastles Resort Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seacastles Resort Inn and Suites

Address: 104 Shore Rd, Ogunquit, ME 03907-3704
Region: United States > Maine > Ogunquit
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 36 Hotels in Ogunquit
Hotel Class:3 star — Seacastles Resort Inn and Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All Suite Hotel Located In The Heart Of Ogunquit On Shore Road. Studios, 1 Bedroom, Loft & Penthouse Units All With Full Or Partial Kitchens. Indoor Pool/Whirlpool. Seasonal Outdoor Hot Tub & Gas Grills. Guest Laundry Facilities. Internet In Office. Open Year Round. Off-Season Packages Including Accommodations, Brunch & Dinner. Trolley Stop. Close To Beach & All Other Local Activities. Office Hours 7am-11pm Daily. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Seacastles Hotel Ogunquit
Seacastles Resort Inn And Suites Ogunquit, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing