We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm & Friendly stay in Maine”
Review of The Black Boar Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Black Boar Inn
Ranked #10 of 26 Ogunquit B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Saratoga Springs, New York
2 reviews
“Warm & Friendly stay in Maine”
Reviewed 18 May 2014

A good friend was visiting from Seattle and I wanted her to see New England at it's best. There are lots of Bed and Breakfasts in old homes in New England, but very few get it right. John and Dwain do an exceptional job at getting it right! My west coast friend had never stayed in an historic home like this, and the wide plank floors and fireplaces really took us to another time. Dwain and John filled the house with antique peices to set the mood and lovingly showed us the unique details of our room (original wooden shutters that are hidden in the wall and slide out to cover the window if you want to sleep in). When we wanted to meet a friend for a drink in town, they recommended the perfect spot which was only steps away because the Black Boar is right in town. The beach is only steps away, too, of course, so we could walk for miles along the ocean if we wanted to. Beautiful! I will be going back!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John J, Owner at The Black Boar Inn, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Amy, it was our pleasure to give you and your friend from the West Coast a true East Coast Inn experience. We look forward to seeing you again here in Ogunquit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    241
    24
    4
    2
    2
See reviews for
43
163
13
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Niantic, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

The owners are lovely and make the beautiful inn and welcoming town even more charming. The gourmet breakfast and an easy walk to the beach and marginal way will start your day off right. We loved our quaint, private room with a view of the beautiful front gardens. We highly recommend the Black Boar Inn!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank R_Gabriel2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John J, Owner at The Black Boar Inn, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Thanks again for your kind words. Let us know when you will be travelling back this way and we will have a room ready for you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
283 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

This lovely very old house has been turned into a charming and comfortable B&B. The owners, John and Dwain, just took over in the fall and go out of their way to make this a welcoming environment. We were in the Littlefield room, at the back of the Inn, quite large with a large,updated bathroom. There were even more closets then you would expect in an old house. Very tastefully decorated, excellent breakfast. Everything you could want from a B&B experience. The Inn is very close to the heart of Ogunquit and a short walk to the beach

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank BostonTravelynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John J, Owner at The Black Boar Inn, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Thank you so much for spending your special day with us - we will hopefully see you again before the warm weather season is over!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanford, Maine
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 May 2014

My cousin came across The Black Boar Inn trying to help me find a location for my wedding. The moment I walked in I knew it was perfect! The historically styled rooms were a fairytale for the making! Dwain and John were so accommodating, allowing me to use all the Inn's amenities ! My future in-laws were coming from Germany, the best man from Canada, and my daughters from college! We all had a bed to sleep in and bathrooms to get ready! Our personal favorite was the June Room. A private room with it's own entrance and our own private outdoor space!! I rented the entire Inn for the weekend at a great price!! The central location to town and to the beach could not be any better! Walking Marginal Way or eating at Perkin"s Cove - all within walking distance! Rather an over night stay, a weekend away, or a wedding day, I would highly recommend The Black Boar Inn...

Room Tip: The June Room!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank collnthor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John J, Owner at The Black Boar Inn, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
It was an honor to host your lovely family from both the US and Germany for this very special event. We wish you both many years of wedded bliss!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 May 2014

My bf and I had a delightful stay at The Black Boar Inn in Ogunquit. We were on a New England road trip for two weeks in mid-April, and, granted April is still a bit slow before the May summer crowds start trickling in, we were able to book a room here about an hour before arriving. We stayed here for two nights. Dwain and John were gracious, kind, accommodating hosts. They gave us tips and advice about where to go in and around town each day. They provided us with a breakfast menu each night with different options for the next day, both breakfasts being homemade and equally delicious. Our hosts also prepared a fire for us each night to enjoy into the evening (can it really get any better than that??). The bedrooms were cozy and warm, which was extremely important for me (a native Texan living in SF) when the temp dropped to the 20-30s and snow fell in the Northeast.

The decor in this lovely home was second to none. If I could, I’d recreate the kitchen in my own home. There’s a gorgeous wooden table in the kitchen, made for them by one of their close friends. The actual kitchen space is separated by old burlap sacks sewn together. There’s a little coffee/tea nook, available throughout the day, and complete with an iPod set up with relaxing music playing all day and wine glasses and a bottle opener should you have a bottle you want to open up by the fire :)

I’m sure there’s so much more I can go into detail about! I am already planning a return visit next year and, hands-down, will be staying here.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharz K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John J, Owner at The Black Boar Inn, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Looking forward to your return visit next year - keep us posted.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brewster, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 3 May 2014

My husband & I went for a weekend away just to relax. From the minute we walked in the door I was taken...the inn is in pristine condition, the room we had on the first floor was spacious & very comfortable. I loved the fact that there was no clocks & no television in our room! I know there are televisions in some of the other rooms but we were thankful for the quiet as that was our intent for the weekend. Dwain & John were the most gracious hosts, so easy going & accommodating. The breakfasts were absolutely delicious & the dining room was a pleasure to sit in & take in the history of this beautiful historic home. We have already recommended the inn to anyone we've seen this week that has asked about our trip! We can't wait to go back. Thank you so much Dwain & John for your wonderful hospitality. We look forward to seeing you again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marianne6464
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John J, Owner at The Black Boar Inn, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Marianne - thank you so much for your kind words - we look forward to your return to BBI and Ogunquit!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Our final stop on my husband and I's week long adventure was at this home-y place. We got in about 8pm and both John and Dwayne, the owners were there waiting for us. They were super happy and showed us around. Even offered to start us up a fire because of the cold night that was there.

We got in our room and it was very nicely done and very nice size. Very spacey. There were plenty of surfaces to lay things down on and to keep them off the floor. Our bathroom was huge as well, with a shower big enough for a small group. If you are expecting a bathtub though, I don't think there is one in any of the rooms of the inn.

As for breakfast each morning, we were given choices the night before and could have something different. I had eggs and potatoes one morning and then banana walnut pancakes the next. Each time it was wonderful. Along with it was fresh fruit and granola with yogurt, coffee, and an english muffin. Everything was warm and sent out at the perfect time.

The inn itself is located right on the edge of the village-esque town. We walked up to the shore in about 10 minutes and then looked at the shops. The wind that was going on kind of ruined it for me, but I still loved the shore and the scenery.

Hope to get back up here one day.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelsea R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John J, Owner at The Black Boar Inn, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Kelsea - thank you for your wonderful vote of confidence! We hope to host you again here one day - stay in touch!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ogunquit hotels
0.4 mi away
Gorges Grant Hotel
Gorges Grant Hotel
#2 of 36 in Ogunquit
557 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Anchorage By the Sea
The Anchorage By the Sea
#12 of 36 in Ogunquit
1,030 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Colonial Inn
The Colonial Inn
#4 of 36 in Ogunquit
678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Juniper Hill Inn
Juniper Hill Inn
#14 of 36 in Ogunquit
481 reviews
0.0 mi away
Studio East Motel
Studio East Motel
#19 of 36 in Ogunquit
179 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Admiral's Inn
The Admiral's Inn
#6 of 36 in Ogunquit
346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Black Boar Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Black Boar Inn

Property: The Black Boar Inn
Address: 277 Main St, Ogunquit, ME 03907
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Ogunquit
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Ogunquit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1674, with a major addition in 1720, The Black Boar Inn is the oldest structure in the Town of Ogunquit and one of the oldest wooden structures in the United States. BBI is located in the heart of the vibrant Village and only a three minute walk to one of the top rated beaches in America. The Inn offers six large bedrooms with queen beds and private en suite bathrooms with modern amenities. The Inn's common rooms (each with fireplace) offers guests with casual places to relax with family and friends.The Inn's history is truly remarkable. King James II of England (14 October 1633 - 16 September 1701) granted a plot of land in what is present day Ogunquit, Maine, to Alexandre Maxwell at some point in the mid-1600s. The Maxwell family built a home on this multi-acre plot in 1674 and lived there for about 100 years. In the mid-1700s, the home became the property of the Littlefield Family (another founding family of Wells/Ogunquit) through marriage to a Maxwell family member. Eddie Littlefield retained ownership until 1997. As the first two families cherished the property and remained ownership each for more than a century, The Black Boar Inn is now owned by only the third family in the structure's 341 year history. This Legacy Property is a truly authentic guest experience and remains a favorite choice of travellers from all parts of the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your The Black Boar Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Black Boar Inn Ogunquit, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing