We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great stay”
Review of The Black Boar Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Black Boar Inn
Ranked #10 of 26 Ogunquit B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We reserved a room on the spur of the moment based on good reviews and a great price, and were impressed with both the hospitality of our hosts and the charm and utmost cleanliness of the rooms in this historic home. The breakfast was excellent - delicious local foods - and their restaurant recommendations were top notch. Would love to go again!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank kyandnay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John J, Owner at The Black Boar Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2014

We hope to host you again here in Ogunquit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (277)
There are newer reviews for The Black Boar Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

184 - 190 of 277 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2014

What happens when a couple from the Midwest cornfields head east, find "the perfect spot" and open a bed and breakfast in a home so historic that parts of it pre-date the founding of the United States itself?

Well, if that couple is John Joanette and Dwain Underwood, the Black Boar's owners, and the spot is the Black Boar Inn you become an integral part of the village.

The couple run the B&B with smiles and with respect not only for their home and environment, but for their guests, whom they go out of their way to please with modern conveniences (like fast WiFi, flat-screen cable TVs and a guest fridge in the lounge) all combined with the charming mansion, parts of which do indeed predate the 1776 founding of the United States.

This being crime-free Maine, doors remain unlocked 24/7 and the couple is proud to be one of the handful of all-year B&Bs in this town, which split from neighbouring Wells, Maine, in 1980 over the issue of commercialism. It seems locals wanted to ban all chains and the Wells town fathers disagreed, so the folks in the southern part of town petitioned the state and Ogunquit as an entity was born. The first by-law on the town books was, not surprisingly, "no chain anythings" and to this day it's why one has to go a bit north to find a CVS or Holiday Inn in Wells and a bit south to find Hannaford's, one of the coolest grocery chains in the northeast --- stop in for a newspaper or 6-pack of Moxie, the non-alcoholic local drink of choice. Imagine a place with not a single "famous name" anywhere (Not even a Wally World to be seen!) and having those gaudy big box signs and establishments replaced with local shops selling everything from gourmet meals and some pretty funny (and crass) lobster-themed t-shirts to places to stay.

And it is the latter where the hosts excel as they took the building, which had been a B&B but a few years back became a single-family rental which was usually only occupied in the brief Summer season of June through October, and turned it back into its former use. Fireplaces dot the lounges and other rooms — including some of the individual suites. A huge one, which still includes hooks pots were hung on for cooking in colonial days, graces the breakfast room and the mantelpiece above is clearly hand-carved. Local woodworkers made the log tables and the duo do their best to preserve and expand upon all of the original looks they can.

How do we know all this? Because John and Dwain join guests for breakfast and in the well-appointed lounge and told us. They also said they take a day a week to explore the nearby area — there are things from secluded beaches to clubs and outlet malls and the famous Freeport LL Bean within an hour's drive, as well as (at 66,214 souls) Portland, Maine's largest city. There are also a plethora of restaurants both in town and nearby and when they go out they said they always try somewhere they haven't been so when a guest asks about where to get the best lobster or Mexican or pizza they have not only an answer, but can say they have been there and this is what they found. All of their recommendations with us were spot on, so we'd say the "research" is working!

The inn has a great location, stuff like really fast WiFi, free parking at the door and the ability to leave your car and walk everywhere from the town's best eateries to the beach (two blocks). There's also the town's famous Marginal Way, which stretches over rocky cliffs and along sandy beaches with breath-taking views of the Atlantic Ocean. The walk starts under three blocks from the Black Boar's front door.

Overall, the place was excellent, the rooms and historic building wonderful and the hosts were not only visible but left us wondering if or when they might sleep as they were always there to help, offer a tea or coffee and one night when we plugged in too many iPads and ran the air conditioner on high, were at our suite's door in under five minutes to reset a breaker we'd blown. Try getting THAT personal service at a chain!!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank lilamadison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John J, Owner at The Black Boar Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2014

Thanks again for the kind comments! We hope to host you again here in Ogunquit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

My wife and I drove up to Ogunquit over the weekend of her birthday. We were NOT disappointed by the B&B. The owners were extremely friendly and very professional. They made some spot-on recommendations for activities and restaurants in the area.

The hotel itself was very nice as well. Very spacious room for a good price. The location was perfect. Just a short walk into the center of town or to the beach. The hotel provided beach towels, chairs, and even bocce ball set to take with us down to the water. Best of all was the made-to-order breakfast. Much better than the continental style meals you get at a lot of other hotels.

I would absolutely stay here again next time we visit the area.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ARubinsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John J, Owner at The Black Boar Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2014

We hope to host you again here in Ogunquit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

I carefully picked the Black Boar Inn based on the TripAdvisor raves. I'd reserved the June room [name to honor John's mother, and decorated in her favorite multi-blues] which was ready for me even though I arrived early. I was warmly welcomed first by Dwain, given the breakfast menu to pick from for the next morning [with my name already filled in!]. He showed me to my room [with its private entrance in the back of the main Inn. It was full of dappled window light and cooled by a ceiling fan. I met John outside, filling up his van with a load for the dump. :-) I got suggestions for where to get a lobster roll, then took off for lunch and exploring. Before setting out for dinner, I stopped into the living room where Dwain and 4 guests were playing a board game [which I was invited to play, but declined (wish I had accepted). I spent a comfortable night, enjoyed the shower and classy soap and shampoo, nice towels. Breakfast was delicious, individually prepared [following our orders made the previous night], with John serving each course. I enjoyed, too, the eclectic mix of guests. I had to leave soon after breakfast, but stopped to say goodbye and thanks and got big hugs. I do hope I can get back here again soon. These guys are wonderful and natural hosts, indeed. Hospitality at its best.

Room Tip: The June room is private [except for the noise of a garden fountain outside the window], with its ow...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank lynx46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John J, Owner at The Black Boar Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2014

We hope to host you again here in Ogunquit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

The new owners, John and Dwayne, are continuing the fine tradition of this b+b. From the moment you arrive, they exceed expectations in hospitality and service. This place has everything going for it: location right in the center of town within easy walking distance to everything; a charming and quaint building with clean, spacious rooms; beautiful gardens to admire; and a nutritious and tasty breakfast that gets your day off to a healthy start. We can't say enough about John and Dwayne----personable, friendly, helpful---just really gracious hosts. It is so good to have the BBI back in business again and we look forward to the next time we return. (By the way, the BBI is now open year round...maybe a cozy, winter getaway is in our future!)

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Henry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John J, Owner at The Black Boar Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2014

We hope to host you again here in Ogunquit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

The Black Boar Inn was the perfect place for our mid summer get away! The inn was clean, cozy, and full of typical New England charm. It is located in the heart of Ogunquit, and is only a short walk to the beach, restaurants, and shops that Ogunquit is known for. Dwaine and John are very welcoming and helpful, and work hard to make sure your stay is nothing but wonderful. Not to mention their breakfast is amazing! We just can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Littlefield and Maxwell Rooms... Both spacious, clean, cozy, and charming!
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank j w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John J, Owner at The Black Boar Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2014

We hope to host you again here in Ogunquit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

The BBI was just absolutely perfect for a weekend Holliday getaway. The hospitality was above n beyond,Dwaine n John are amazing owners and treat everyone just so kind and really do go above n beyond! My partner n I along with 2 best friends spent 4 of July weekend at the BBI! The location n cleanliness along with beautiful rooms that take you back in history was enough for me. Anything is within walking distance along with any type of food or restaurant or scene you are looking for. I would recommend The Black Boar Inn to anyone and everyone!

Room Tip: D all the above!
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Benjamin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John J, Owner at The Black Boar Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2014

We hope to host you again here in Ogunquit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ogunquit hotels
0.4 mi away
Gorges Grant Hotel
Gorges Grant Hotel
#2 of 36 in Ogunquit
571 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Anchorage By the Sea
The Anchorage By the Sea
#14 of 36 in Ogunquit
1,036 reviews
0.0 mi away
Studio East Motel
Studio East Motel
#19 of 36 in Ogunquit
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Admiral's Inn
The Admiral's Inn
#7 of 36 in Ogunquit
350 reviews
0.6 mi away
Meadowmere Resort
Meadowmere Resort
#8 of 36 in Ogunquit
1,027 reviews
0.4 mi away
Puffin Inn Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Black Boar Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Black Boar Inn

Address: 277 Main St, Ogunquit, ME 03907
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Ogunquit
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Ogunquit
Price Range: £110 - £197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1674, with a major addition in 1720, The Black Boar Inn is the oldest structure in the Town of Ogunquit and one of the oldest wooden structures in the United States. BBI is located in the heart of the vibrant Village and only a three minute walk to one of the top rated beaches in America. The Inn offers six large bedrooms with queen beds and private en suite bathrooms with modern amenities. The Inn's common rooms (each with fireplace) offers guests with casual places to relax with family and friends.The Inn's history is truly remarkable. King James II of England (14 October 1633 - 16 September 1701) granted a plot of land in what is present day Ogunquit, Maine, to Alexandre Maxwell at some point in the mid-1600s. The Maxwell family built a home on this multi-acre plot in 1674 and lived there for about 100 years. In the mid-1700s, the home became the property of the Littlefield Family (another founding family of Wells/Ogunquit) through marriage to a Maxwell family member. Eddie Littlefield retained ownership until 1997. As the first two families cherished the property and remained ownership each for more than a century, The Black Boar Inn is now owned by only the third family in the structure's 341 year history. This Legacy Property is a truly authentic guest experience and remains a favorite choice of travellers from all parts of the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Black Boar Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Black Boar Inn Ogunquit, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing