We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location - great little inn!”
Review of The Black Boar Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Black Boar Inn
Ranked #10 of 26 Ogunquit B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We spent three nights at the Black Boar Inn, and had a fabulous time! The location is fantastic - walking distance to everything. Dwain and John were terrific and helpful hosts - steered us to restaurants and hiking trails that were perfect. The room was lovely, clean, and comfortable. We felt very at home. Breakfasts were GREAT. They even have beach towels and sunscreen for guest use. I highly recommend the Black Boar Inn - we will stay here again.

The ONLY thing I recommend is - if you are a light sleeper - ask for a room in the back of the Inn (not overlooking the street) OR plan to use your air conditioner at night to create white noise. Ogunquit has an active nightlife, and one of the three nights we stayed, there was a loud group across the street that stayed up talking and laughing well past 2:30 AM. Once turned on our AC, we were fine - it was only loud when we had the windows open.

Again - no hesitation about recommending Black Boar. We had a GREAT long weekend!

Room Tip: Back of the inn (away from the road) are quieter -- or just turn on the AC at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jlong1220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John J, Owner at The Black Boar Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2014

We hope to host you again here in Ogunquit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (284)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

186 - 192 of 284 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2014

John and Dwain were great. Warm and welcoming hosts - ready to help with recommendations when needed. Our rooms met our needs perfectly. Breakfast was delicious, the B&B is charming, and the location is perfect for all that Ogunquit has to offer.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Gary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John J, Owner at The Black Boar Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2014

Gary, thanks again for choosing BBI for your group's stay in Ogunquit - please let us know when you might be making the "trek" back to the area!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

My kids (12 and 14) and I stayed here for one night. It was our first time in Ogunquit and we loved the town and the Black Boar Inn! Our hosts were so nice, the room was very clean, and the inn itself was very charming. They have beach towels, chairs, and boogie boards for the beach, even sunscreen. It is walking distance to everything and if you want to get to Perkin's Cove, it's a quick $2 trip on the trolley - or walk along Marginal Way. P.S - breakfast was great! My kids said "If we ever come here again we HAVE to stay here!"

Room Tip: I bet all the rooms are great - ours was upstairs facing the street and had one bathroom with 2 room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John J, Owner at The Black Boar Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2014

We hope to host you again here in Ogunquit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

John & Dwayne have created a great B&B. The room was well decorated as well as being extremely comfortable. The breakfasts were delicious. They were very knowledgable about Ogunquit as well as being proud to be residents of a beautiful town. Staying at the Black Boar Inn is a no-brainer.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Feffie61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John J, Owner at The Black Boar Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2014

We hope to host you again here in Ogunquit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We greatly enjoyed our stay at the Black Boar Inn! The accommodations were very comfortable and clean, and Dwain and John were excellent hosts! They had very helpful recommendations for things to do, and shared interesting history about the house and the area. Overall, a wonderful experience!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ejw723
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John J, Owner at The Black Boar Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2014

We hope to host you again here in Ogunquit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We reserved a room on the spur of the moment based on good reviews and a great price, and were impressed with both the hospitality of our hosts and the charm and utmost cleanliness of the rooms in this historic home. The breakfast was excellent - delicious local foods - and their restaurant recommendations were top notch. Would love to go again!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank kyandnay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John J, Owner at The Black Boar Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2014

We hope to host you again here in Ogunquit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

What happens when a couple from the Midwest cornfields head east, find "the perfect spot" and open a bed and breakfast in a home so historic that parts of it pre-date the founding of the United States itself?

Well, if that couple is John Joanette and Dwain Underwood, the Black Boar's owners, and the spot is the Black Boar Inn you become an integral part of the village.

The couple run the B&B with smiles and with respect not only for their home and environment, but for their guests, whom they go out of their way to please with modern conveniences (like fast WiFi, flat-screen cable TVs and a guest fridge in the lounge) all combined with the charming mansion, parts of which do indeed predate the 1776 founding of the United States.

This being crime-free Maine, doors remain unlocked 24/7 and the couple is proud to be one of the handful of all-year B&Bs in this town, which split from neighbouring Wells, Maine, in 1980 over the issue of commercialism. It seems locals wanted to ban all chains and the Wells town fathers disagreed, so the folks in the southern part of town petitioned the state and Ogunquit as an entity was born. The first by-law on the town books was, not surprisingly, "no chain anythings" and to this day it's why one has to go a bit north to find a CVS or Holiday Inn in Wells and a bit south to find Hannaford's, one of the coolest grocery chains in the northeast --- stop in for a newspaper or 6-pack of Moxie, the non-alcoholic local drink of choice. Imagine a place with not a single "famous name" anywhere (Not even a Wally World to be seen!) and having those gaudy big box signs and establishments replaced with local shops selling everything from gourmet meals and some pretty funny (and crass) lobster-themed t-shirts to places to stay.

And it is the latter where the hosts excel as they took the building, which had been a B&B but a few years back became a single-family rental which was usually only occupied in the brief Summer season of June through October, and turned it back into its former use. Fireplaces dot the lounges and other rooms — including some of the individual suites. A huge one, which still includes hooks pots were hung on for cooking in colonial days, graces the breakfast room and the mantelpiece above is clearly hand-carved. Local woodworkers made the log tables and the duo do their best to preserve and expand upon all of the original looks they can.

How do we know all this? Because John and Dwain join guests for breakfast and in the well-appointed lounge and told us. They also said they take a day a week to explore the nearby area — there are things from secluded beaches to clubs and outlet malls and the famous Freeport LL Bean within an hour's drive, as well as (at 66,214 souls) Portland, Maine's largest city. There are also a plethora of restaurants both in town and nearby and when they go out they said they always try somewhere they haven't been so when a guest asks about where to get the best lobster or Mexican or pizza they have not only an answer, but can say they have been there and this is what they found. All of their recommendations with us were spot on, so we'd say the "research" is working!

The inn has a great location, stuff like really fast WiFi, free parking at the door and the ability to leave your car and walk everywhere from the town's best eateries to the beach (two blocks). There's also the town's famous Marginal Way, which stretches over rocky cliffs and along sandy beaches with breath-taking views of the Atlantic Ocean. The walk starts under three blocks from the Black Boar's front door.

Overall, the place was excellent, the rooms and historic building wonderful and the hosts were not only visible but left us wondering if or when they might sleep as they were always there to help, offer a tea or coffee and one night when we plugged in too many iPads and ran the air conditioner on high, were at our suite's door in under five minutes to reset a breaker we'd blown. Try getting THAT personal service at a chain!!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank lilamadison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John J, Owner at The Black Boar Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2014

Thanks again for the kind comments! We hope to host you again here in Ogunquit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ogunquit hotels
0.4 mi away
The Anchorage By the Sea
The Anchorage By the Sea
#13 of 36 in Ogunquit
1,055 reviews
0.4 mi away
Gorges Grant Hotel
Gorges Grant Hotel
#6 of 36 in Ogunquit
596 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sea Rose Suites
Sea Rose Suites
#1 of 36 in Ogunquit
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Blue Shutters Inn
The Blue Shutters Inn
#18 of 26 in Ogunquit
51 reviews
0.7 mi away
Bourne Bed & Breakfast
Bourne Bed & Breakfast
#7 of 26 in Ogunquit
159 reviews
0.6 mi away
Meadowmere Resort
Meadowmere Resort
#8 of 36 in Ogunquit
1,053 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Black Boar Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Black Boar Inn

Address: 277 Main St, Ogunquit, ME 03907-3216
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Ogunquit
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Ogunquit
Price Range: £75 - £206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1674, with a major addition in 1720, The Black Boar Inn is the oldest structure in the Town of Ogunquit and one of the oldest wooden structures in the United States. BBI is located in the heart of the vibrant Village and only a three minute walk to one of the top rated beaches in America. The Inn offers six large bedrooms with queen beds and private en suite bathrooms with modern amenities. The Inn's common rooms (each with fireplace) offers guests with casual places to relax with family and friends.The Inn's history is truly remarkable. King James II of England (14 October 1633 - 16 September 1701) granted a plot of land in what is present day Ogunquit, Maine, to Alexandre Maxwell at some point in the mid-1600s. The Maxwell family built a home on this multi-acre plot in 1674 and lived there for about 100 years. In the mid-1700s, the home became the property of the Littlefield Family (another founding family of Wells/Ogunquit) through marriage to a Maxwell family member. Eddie Littlefield retained ownership until 1997. As the first two families cherished the property and remained ownership each for more than a century, The Black Boar Inn is now owned by only the third family in the structure's 341 year history. This Legacy Property is a truly authentic guest experience and remains a favorite choice of travellers from all parts of the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Black Boar Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Black Boar Inn Ogunquit, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing