We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful getaway close to Boston”
Review of The Black Boar Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Black Boar Inn
Ranked #9 of 26 Ogunquit B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Gloucester, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful getaway close to Boston”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

I hadn't been to Ogunquit in the summer in over 25 years and it's less than 90 minutes from home. We had an outstanding time and enjoyed every minute of it. Staying at this Inn was just wonderful. The Inn owners were friendly and welcoming. The property is immaculate, comfortable and is walking distance to everything. The breakfast was expected as advertised, however, we didn't expect it to be absolutely delicious and made to order! If you haven't been to Ogunquit, you are really missing a beautiful, quaint town with gorgeous ocean views, beaches, shopping and awesome restaurants. We will be back soon and plan to stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John J, Owner at The Black Boar Inn, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Julie, it was great getting to know you during your visit. Let us know when you are heading back this way and we will keep a light on for your arrival!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    231
    21
    4
    2
    2
See reviews for
40
154
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We were lucky to be able to score a room for the night with little more than an hour's notice, and couldn't have been happier. Terrific location within easy walking distance of the beach, shops and restaurants, yet just far enough away from the busy buzz during high season. Room was quiet and comfortable, amenities spot on (loved the shower!), and John and Dwain were welcoming, helpful hosts who cook up some mean blueberry pancakes to boot. Our only regret was not having been able to stay longer to test out the beach chairs + towels that are available to all of the guests. We look forward to making a return trip.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alanna I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John J, Owner at The Black Boar Inn, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Alanna, yes, by all means make plans to come back for a few days. We will have everything ready for your arrival!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

John and Dwain were the perfect hosts for a friends' weekend in Ogunquit. The breakfasts were delicious and I felt so welcome. Thanks to them in a big way, my vacation was unforgettable. Beautiful rooms, exceptional hospitality made my stay there perfect. I highly recommend the Black Boar Inn and I will go back.

Room Tip: I was in the Littlefield Room and my friend was across the hall in the Maxwell Room. Both were spac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JuliePChicago1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John J, Owner at The Black Boar Inn, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Julie, it our pleasure to host you and please let us know when you are making your way back to beautiful Ogunquit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

This is a charming, little B&B in Ogunquit, perhaps a block from the center of town. Our room was clean, comfortable, and the bathroom stocked with high quality soap and shampoo. We stayed in the June room, which I recommend.

John and Dwain cook a number of delicious options for breakfast; coffee is strong and plentiful. Parking for one car comes with the room. Beach towels, chairs, and sunscreen are available for loan, free of charge.

Staff was friendly and helpful. We'll be back!

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John J, Owner at The Black Boar Inn, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Steve, so glad you liked the June room! It is a great space and is the oldest "space" in Ogunquit as you know!

See you again soon we hope...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Framingham, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We spent three nights at the Black Boar Inn, and had a fabulous time! The location is fantastic - walking distance to everything. Dwain and John were terrific and helpful hosts - steered us to restaurants and hiking trails that were perfect. The room was lovely, clean, and comfortable. We felt very at home. Breakfasts were GREAT. They even have beach towels and sunscreen for guest use. I highly recommend the Black Boar Inn - we will stay here again.

The ONLY thing I recommend is - if you are a light sleeper - ask for a room in the back of the Inn (not overlooking the street) OR plan to use your air conditioner at night to create white noise. Ogunquit has an active nightlife, and one of the three nights we stayed, there was a loud group across the street that stayed up talking and laughing well past 2:30 AM. Once turned on our AC, we were fine - it was only loud when we had the windows open.

Again - no hesitation about recommending Black Boar. We had a GREAT long weekend!

Room Tip: Back of the inn (away from the road) are quieter -- or just turn on the AC at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jlong1220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John J, Owner at The Black Boar Inn, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
We hope to host you again here in Ogunquit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

John and Dwain were great. Warm and welcoming hosts - ready to help with recommendations when needed. Our rooms met our needs perfectly. Breakfast was delicious, the B&B is charming, and the location is perfect for all that Ogunquit has to offer.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John J, Owner at The Black Boar Inn, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Gary, thanks again for choosing BBI for your group's stay in Ogunquit - please let us know when you might be making the "trek" back to the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, SC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 August 2014

My kids (12 and 14) and I stayed here for one night. It was our first time in Ogunquit and we loved the town and the Black Boar Inn! Our hosts were so nice, the room was very clean, and the inn itself was very charming. They have beach towels, chairs, and boogie boards for the beach, even sunscreen. It is walking distance to everything and if you want to get to Perkin's Cove, it's a quick $2 trip on the trolley - or walk along Marginal Way. P.S - breakfast was great! My kids said "If we ever come here again we HAVE to stay here!"

Room Tip: I bet all the rooms are great - ours was upstairs facing the street and had one bathroom with 2 room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fishchance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John J, Owner at The Black Boar Inn, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
We hope to host you again here in Ogunquit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ogunquit hotels
0.4 mi away
Gorges Grant Hotel
Gorges Grant Hotel
#2 of 36 in Ogunquit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Anchorage By the Sea
0.5 mi away
The Colonial Inn
The Colonial Inn
#5 of 36 in Ogunquit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Juniper Hill Inn
Juniper Hill Inn
#10 of 36 in Ogunquit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 459 reviews
0.6 mi away
Meadowmere Resort
Meadowmere Resort
#6 of 36 in Ogunquit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 972 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ogunquit Resort Motel
Ogunquit Resort Motel
#32 of 36 in Ogunquit
4.0 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Black Boar Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Black Boar Inn

Property: The Black Boar Inn
Address: 277 Main St, Ogunquit, ME 03907
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Ogunquit
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Ogunquit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1674, with a major addition in 1720, The Black Boar Inn is the oldest structure in the Town of Ogunquit and one of the oldest wooden structures in the United States. BBI is located in the heart of the vibrant Village and only a three minute walk to one of the top rated beaches in America. The Inn offers six large bedrooms with queen beds and private en suite bathrooms with modern amenities. The Inn's common rooms (each with fireplace) offers guests with casual places to relax with family and friends.The Inn's history is truly remarkable. King James II of England (14 October 1633 - 16 September 1701) granted a plot of land in what is present day Ogunquit, Maine, to Alexandre Maxwell at some point in the mid-1600s. The Maxwell family built a home on this multi-acre plot in 1674 and lived there for about 100 years. In the mid-1700s, the home became the property of the Littlefield Family (another founding family of Wells/Ogunquit) through marriage to a Maxwell family member. Eddie Littlefield retained ownership until 1997. As the first two families cherished the property and remained ownership each for more than a century, The Black Boar Inn is now owned by only the third family in the structure's 341 year history. This Legacy Property is a truly authentic guest experience and remains a favorite choice of travellers from all parts of the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Black Boar Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Black Boar Inn Ogunquit, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing