We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A room on the ocean, breakfast included, caring staff-who could want anything more!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Sparhawk Oceanfront Resort
Ranked #13 of 36 Hotels in Ogunquit
Certificate of Excellence
Punta Gorda, Florida
Level Contributor
117 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 255 helpful votes
“A room on the ocean, breakfast included, caring staff-who could want anything more!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2011

This has been our eigth year at Sparhawk and it seems that we can't get enough of this lovely resort. We always stay on the top floor of the oceanfront motel-style units. The water on high tide literally is directly below the balconies. We leave the windows open all night, since there is no need for air conditioning, and smell the salt air and hear the waves crashing all night. Even if there is a rainy day, guests can sit in the new chairs that Sparhawk has just purchased, and look out the big window at the ocean. The rooms are clean and the beds comfortable. The housekeepers are wonderful and make sure everything is just right.

The inground vinyl pool has been replaced with a new gunite one and it is heated. The water was very clean and the towels were bigger this year. There is a tennis court, too. Beautiful flowers are everywhere and the Marginal Way, a path that follows the coast to Perkin's Cove, starts at Sparhawk.

The hotel is in the middle of town and guests can walk to just about anything. There is also plenty of parking for cars, and the trolly makes a stop near. As for breakfast, it is included, and each morning fresh warm muffins of different types are baked, and there is cereal, breads, fruit, yogurt along with coffee, juices and other beverages.

I love Sparhawk. It is my favorite place to vacation. There is no single type of guest at Sparhawk: families can be seen having a fantastic time along with retired couples. There is something for everyone. Don't miss out!!!

Room Tip: Oceanfront motel syle rooms have the best view. The top floors have the best sun, while the lower fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sarleo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    209
    44
    9
    2
    5
See reviews for
73
126
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Binghamton, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2011

Have been staying in Ogunquit for 23 years. The Sparhawk has been our vacation home for 21 years. NEVER have we been disappointed. The grounds and the accomodations are beautiful and very well maintained. The service staff and the front desk people always go out of their way to be helpful. The continental breakfast is varied and very satisfying. This resort is a great value for your dollar.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Waterfall1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2011

The Sparhawk was highly recommended to me to visit in Ogunquit. I was fortunate to find accommodation there as I went in high season. The room was wonderful overlooking the river and the ocean. The staff were very friendly and particularly the fabulous woman who cleaned our room. It is not usual to find someone in her position who looks to help, but she was really good. The hotel does not provide a coffee machine on the room but does have coffee in the office all day for free. The breakfast was also good and the whole feeling was one of being in a B&B with a proper hotel room. The room does have a fridge although I only found it at the end underneath the sink. The location is outstanding in terms of the town and for walking along the Marginal Way. My only thing I would change would be that the furniture in the rooms could be freshened up a bit. Otherwise a wonderful experience.

Room Tip: Ocean front room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keurbooms11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, New York
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2011

We go to Ogunquit 2 or 3 times a year and wouldn't stay anywhere but the Sparhawk. It is perfectly located in the village on the ocean. The ocean views are outstanding. The grounds are beautiful. A wide varitity of room options are available. Breakfast is included as part of your stay. Jennifer and her staff are always so friendly.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Frank T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2011

This is the best place we have stayed at in Ogunquit or Wells. There is nothing negative to say here at all. We have an oceanfront room with a very comfortable king bed. This is our first time staying here and we did not know what to expect. At other places around here we have had certain expectations and then its a major disappointment. This place does not disappoint. Its spotless!!! Plus I had overlooked the continential breakfast description online when I made the reservation so this was an added surprise to us. What a great place and we can't wait to come back again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SunnyLora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverly, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2011

My wife and I love this place. We have stayed here for the past 13 years in late August as our "end of the summer" finale. The room we book is a oceanfront unit with a little deck that overlooks beautiful Oqunquit Beach. The rooms are always spotless and well kept. We never hear noise from the adjoining rooms and the only sounds are the ocean.. The included breakfast is outstanding! Highly reccomended vacation spot!!

Room Tip: Lots of repeat visitors so book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jmc55ma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
138 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2011

We had an oceanside room with a magnificent view of the Ogunquit River, the Beach and the Ocean from the room or the balcony. In the morning, beautiful sunrises. Our room was big, had 2 easy chairs, a desk and a mini refrigerator. The hotel is right on the Marginal Way, the 1+mile walk along the rocky coast and only a 10 minute walk to the beach. Great because parking at the beach costs $25/day. The pool was clean and heated so great for a late afternoon dip. Continental breakfast buffet with delicious homemade muffins, but there are many restaurants within a 5 minute walk for full breakfasts. All staff were so gracious, welcoming and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank VoyageurNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ogunquit hotels
0.1 mi away
The Anchorage By the Sea
The Anchorage By the Sea
#9 of 36 in Ogunquit
4.0 of 5 bubbles 994 reviews
0.8 mi away
Gorges Grant Hotel
Gorges Grant Hotel
#2 of 36 in Ogunquit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 525 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Colonial Inn
The Colonial Inn
#5 of 36 in Ogunquit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sea Rose Suites
Sea Rose Suites
#11 of 36 in Ogunquit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pink Blossoms Resort (Family Suites)
0.4 mi away
Meadowmere Resort
Meadowmere Resort
#6 of 36 in Ogunquit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 963 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sparhawk Oceanfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sparhawk Oceanfront Resort

Property: The Sparhawk Oceanfront Resort
Address: 85 Shore Rd, Ogunquit, ME 03907-3709
Region: United States > Maine > Ogunquit
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Ogunquit
#9 Romantic Hotel in Ogunquit
#11 Family Hotel in Ogunquit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Sparhawk Oceanfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sparhawk Oceanfront Hotel Ogunquit
Sparhawk Oceanfront Resort Ogunquit
The Sparhawk Oceanfront Resort Ogunquit, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing