We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First class in Ogunquit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Sparhawk Oceanfront Resort
Ranked #11 of 36 Hotels in Ogunquit
Certificate of Excellence
Wethersfield, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“First class in Ogunquit”
Reviewed 16 August 2013

We had a great stay at the Sparhawk. Our room was right on the water and it was spotless as was the rest of the resort. Nice breakfast included in the morning. Staff was very pleasant. We checked in at 1:30PM with no issues. Pool was also very nice. Easy walking distance everything in Ogunquit center. If you can get in to the Sparhawk, I would recommend it. Looking forward to returning next summer.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank capecodtraveler01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    228
    45
    9
    2
    5
See reviews for
79
137
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

This our second lengthy stay here and we love it! We used to stay at another place right on the main beach in Ogunquit, but The Sparhawk is the BEST! It is SO affordable for the location and has more amenities like a pool and tennis court that other places don't have in the area. The service is top notch, and the location is incredible! We will stay here every year that we visit the wonderful place.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Syracuse, NY
Level 6 Contributor
82 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

We are trying to make the Sparhawk the place to stay each year. It may be difficult to get in. They start booking in February for previous guests. You have to stay 7 days in the prime season but they do their best to give you a room you like if its the same week you stayed previously. Both the Carols in the office do their best to accommodate you. Because we have a 4 year old with a disablility staying a whole week can be difficult so you can try to get in on "filler" days. We stayed upstairs in the Ireland House this time. I like upstairs much better than downstairs because when you are down you can hear people walking above your head. I could use the exercise walking up and down the stairs! You have your own balcony that views Ogunquit Beach and the Marginal Way. So pretty. The tide around Ogunquit Beach is so cool. The landscaping on the grounds are beautiful. The rooms in the Ireland house are spacious. I don't think any of their accommodations have bad views. We arrived a bit early and were able to check in. Our carpets were a little wet but that was from a shampooing. It is great to know they keep their carpets clean all the time. The rooms were clean and kept very nice. Beds were comfy. Our son absolutely loved it too! The Sparhawk has a great resort like feel. Tennis. Shuffleboard. Swimming. Great for families. The free breakfast is great. We went swimming. The pool isn't freezing and its very clean. The resort is on the trolley line so you can get picked up or dropped off nearby. Its right in the heart of the Ogunquit shopping district and restaurants. Its just a mile walk along the marginal way to Perkins Cove. At low tide you can take the Marginal Way to the first set of stairs and walk the way the crow flies right to the beach. Walking to the beach via the town is a short walk. The only annoying thing is the internet speed. Very slow in all of Ogunquit and Wells. Not the resorts fault. We can not wait to return next year! A++++++++

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank larrie68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maplewood
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013

We booked a last minute vacation to Maine with out a clue where to go or where to stay. We found this hotel through trip advisor and were lucky enough to get a room in mid July. They were very accommodating considering we were not staying the 7 night minimum.
We were traveling with two small children's and booked a room in the Ireland house (room 71). You had your own patio. You could see the ocean from every room from this house but room 79 is directly facing the ocean and the path to Marginal way. It's an amazing view. These rooms are great for families or anyone that wants a bit more space. There was a small sitting area and 2 full beds plus the outside patio. Again all had ocean views.
The resort is very clean and well maintained . We arrived at the hotel before check in and the staff were very friendly going over the resort and area. We had lunch in town across from the hotel and they called us within an hour to let us know our room was ready. 2 hours before check in.
This was my first time to Maine. We loved the are and loved the hotel. I can't wait to go back knowing we have a place to stay!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank karen p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013 via mobile

As long as you know to expect an older property and all the charm that goes with it you will not be disappointed. My husband, 6 year old son and I stayed in a corner room on the second floor over looking the ocean. Room size was suitable, balcony was a good size for all 3 of us to hang out and watch the magnificent tides change and the full moon! It's a gem of a property.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MCKWD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamaica
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2013

The location is second to none. although it is a large resort, the big house and daily breakfast ambience make it feel like a first rate bed and breakfast. great location and service, with fun pool and shuffleboard. the Marginal Way coastline walk starts here and shouldn't be missed!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MRCONNOLLY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, Vermont
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2013

The Sparhawk is a great locally-owned hotel in lively Ogunquit. The hotel is on Shore Road at the beginning of the famous oceanside walk The Marginal Way. It is a 5-minute walk to the center of town, dozens of fine restaurants and shops; and a 10-minute walk to Ogunquit Beach.
The Sparhawk features many different housing options in several buildings on the property -most with ocean views. They are known for their gorgeous gardens, but the property is very well maintained and features a nice pool, tennis court, and shuffle board court among other amenities. The hotel includes a simple but complimentary breakfast, free Wi-Fi, a local newspaper, and menus, recommendations, and bookings.
We usually stay in the Ireland House, which offer living rooms and porches overlooking the ocean and Ogunquit Beach. The beds are comfortable. The resort is older, but everything is very well maintained.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mdowl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ogunquit hotels
0.1 mi away
The Anchorage By the Sea
The Anchorage By the Sea
#12 of 36 in Ogunquit
1,030 reviews
0.8 mi away
Gorges Grant Hotel
Gorges Grant Hotel
#2 of 36 in Ogunquit
557 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Colonial Inn
The Colonial Inn
#4 of 36 in Ogunquit
678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Terrace by the Sea
Terrace by the Sea
#25 of 36 in Ogunquit
292 reviews
0.5 mi away
Juniper Hill Inn
Juniper Hill Inn
#14 of 36 in Ogunquit
481 reviews
0.4 mi away
Meadowmere Resort
Meadowmere Resort
#8 of 36 in Ogunquit
1,015 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sparhawk Oceanfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sparhawk Oceanfront Resort

Property: The Sparhawk Oceanfront Resort
Address: 85 Shore Rd, Ogunquit, ME 03907-3709
Region: United States > Maine > Ogunquit
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Ogunquit
#9 Romantic Hotel in Ogunquit
#11 Family Hotel in Ogunquit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Sparhawk Oceanfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sparhawk Oceanfront Hotel Ogunquit
Sparhawk Oceanfront Resort Ogunquit
The Sparhawk Oceanfront Resort Ogunquit, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing