We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spectacular view from our room” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Sparhawk Oceanfront Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Sparhawk Oceanfront Resort
Ranked #14 of 36 Hotels in Ogunquit
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas
Level Contributor
62 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Spectacular view from our room”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2008

We stayed in Room Number 6 - right on the water. What a view! The hotel is a short walk from downtown Ogunquit. The grounds are very well kept and the room was clean and comfortable with a nice balcony and two easy chairs in front of a picture window for colder days. We walked on the Marginal Way - right next to the hotel - a very pleasant experience. Prices go up in late June and we just beat the high season price by being there on June 18 & 19th.

  • Liked — View from balcony
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank William D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    207
    44
    9
    2
    5
See reviews for
73
126
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Timonium Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2007

For the past four years my wife and I have traveled to the beautiful place by the sea, Oguquit Maine for our fall vacation the first week of October. We always stay at the Sparhawk Oceanfront Resort and have already made our advance reservations for the same week in 2008. There are many fine places to stay in Ogunquit; however the devoted staff truly has made the Sparhawk our home away from home. The staff is friendly and exremely efficient. The daily maid service is excellent as our room was spotless throughout our entire stay. The grounds and landscaping at the Sparhawk are breathtaking. The added fall decorations of pumpkins, gourds and corn stalks enhanced its charm. The Marginal Way walking path along the cliffs starts at the Sparhawk and winds its way for about a mile to Perkins Cove a small seaport wher you can watch the lobstermen bring in their morning catch. The continental breakfast is always fresh and plentiful and provides a great way to see the sunrise and start your day. The town of Ogunquit is very quaint and has many small shops and eateries to enjoy. The Village Market has great food and one of the best clam chowders in the area. The Sparhawk is located right on the Atlantic Ocean and the Ogunquit River. The changing high and low tides are a sight to see. Our room was on the top floor ocean front with the sea wall and waves only a few feet away. The sound of the ocean is so calming and right off our balcony. Ogunquit and the adjacent town of Wells have many fine restaurants. We especially enjoy Billy's Chowder House, Mike's Clam Shack and 98 Provence on Shore Road. We sincerely thank the Owners and fine staff of the Sparhawk Resort for a wondreful vacation these past four years and look forward to our visit in 2008.

Helpful?
6 Thank wburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ogunquit, Maine
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2007

We have stayed at The Sparhawk 2 or 3 times a year since 1991. It is a very special and somewhat unique resort motel. The rooms and suites are beautifully furnished and much more luxurious than you might expect for a place at the shore. The uniqueness comes in that it is almost exclusively filled with repeat guests who book on a year to year basis. We know one couple who have been there annually for 56 years! Their yearly occupancy rate is always in the high 90% range so that should tell you everything. The gardens are gorgeous and have been the cover feature in 'Down East' the magazineof Maine. The location literally hanging over the ocean and at the start of the famous Marginal Way is the best in the whole town.

  • Liked — Comfortable and impeccable
  • Disliked — Nothing comes to mind
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank VirginiaThespian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maine
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2007

Management is less then sensitive to satisfying the customer. Being in a service industry where the motto of "Customer Satisfaction is Paramount", our stay at the Sparhawk was a less then a pleasant experience. When you are expecting a quite, restful diversion from the hectic schedule we all seem to keep, this motel has not left the light on for you. It is not the customer who is paramount just their schedule. When there is annual maintenance event scheduled or rescheduled and is known, there should be options given to the customer, i.e. different rooms, option of a refund or a discounted room rate. When the impending event is communicated by a notice simply left on the bed while you’re out. This is less then professional and lacking in basic customer satisfaction principles. There are many fine establishments in the area; we will use one of them in the future.

  • Liked — cleanliness
  • Disliked — Noise/Smell
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
16 Thank oae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2006

I had booked Sparhawk in February at the recommendation of a repeated visitor to the Anchorage as she thought the Sparhawk would be more to my liking. The Sparhawk books fast and i was lucky to get 4 nights for a room with a river/ocean view. I had read some negative reviews earlier this season and was concerned what I might find.

We found the accomodations excellent, the staff friendly and the location perfect. The Sparhawk sits at the very start of the Marginal way and is on the edge of the center of town. The grounds have by far the nicest flower garden and their gardener was out working every day, even in the pouring rain. The views from the river front motel rooms are fabulous and we slept with the doors and windowns open to the crashing waves every night. The pool was within an easy walk from our terrace when we needed to cool off. Their contenental breakfast, while not spectacular was plentiful. Best of all, Management allowed us to park within their overflow parking lot after the 11:00 A:M checkout so that we could enjoy the remainder of our day.

  • Liked — Location of hotel, location of unit and condition of grounds
  • Disliked — Mo light light on terrace
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
8 Thank joelbrandt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irvine, CA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2006

We enjoyed our stay at this oceanfront resort. The location was great - a fantastic ocean vew from our patio, next to the margional walkway and a few minute walk into town. The staff was friendly and helpful. Our teenagers really enjoyed the tennis court and shuffle board courts. We noticed during our stay - that the shuffle board was almost constantly in use. It's a great place for familes to relax. We were even able to spend a day at the beach. The only downside, was the room decor was a bit dated and the breakfast minimal.

Helpful?
12 Thank Getzmrt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotia, N.Y
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2006

Our stay could not have been better. Great room, friendly staff and teriffic location. We have stayed other places but this by far our favorite.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank tlfitzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ogunquit
0.1 mi away
The Anchorage By the Sea
The Anchorage By the Sea
#10 of 36 in Ogunquit
4.0 of 5 bubbles 985 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Colonial Inn
The Colonial Inn
#4 of 36 in Ogunquit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 603 reviews
0.7 mi away
Gorges Grant Hotel
Gorges Grant Hotel
#2 of 36 in Ogunquit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Pink Blossoms Resort (Family Suites)
0.4 mi away
Meadowmere Resort
Meadowmere Resort
#6 of 36 in Ogunquit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 963 reviews
2.1 mi away
Cliff House Maine
Cliff House Maine
#1 of 1 in Cape Neddick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sparhawk Oceanfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sparhawk Oceanfront Resort

Property: The Sparhawk Oceanfront Resort
Address: 85 Shore Rd, Ogunquit, ME 03907-3709
Region: United States > Maine > Ogunquit
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Ogunquit
#9 Romantic Hotel in Ogunquit
#11 Family Hotel in Ogunquit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Sparhawk Oceanfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sparhawk Oceanfront Hotel Ogunquit
Sparhawk Oceanfront Resort Ogunquit
The Sparhawk Oceanfront Resort Ogunquit, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing