We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well Managed Oceanfront Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Sparhawk Oceanfront Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Sparhawk Oceanfront Resort
Ranked #15 of 36 Hotels in Ogunquit
Certificate of Excellence
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
106 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Well Managed Oceanfront Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

I have been coming here for 10 years and love this place. They have great customer service and a wonderful continental breakfast with boiled eggs, fresh baked goods, cereals yogurt etc. I generally stay in the Ireland House which has 2 queen size beds a sitting area, full bath and a wonderful front porch or deck that faces the ocean. They take great pride in their gardens and keep the facilities up to date with new decorating and furniture every few years. This year we noticed new granite steps outside and LED light fixtures. It is a short walk to town and we are always pleased to visit and it never seems long enough.

Room Tip: The oceanfront building is just that but the Barbara dean and Ireland House have oceanfront views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank canddlove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    208
    44
    9
    2
    5
See reviews for
73
126
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
South Dennis, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
66 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

We had the best time, the view unbelievable and the breakfast awesome, the location breathtaking. Everyone went out of their way to make us feel welcome. Our first time at the Sparhawk, now wouldn't think of going anywhere else!

Room Tip: We stayed in the main motel overlooking the ocean, the view unbelievable!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mldankese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
85 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

I've stayed at several inns along shore drive. I like the Sparhawk main inn because the porches off the rooms are right on the ocean. It's very relaxing to have the ocean so close. Friendly, clean, central to everything.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank baddogBoston_MA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Haven, Connecticut, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

Been coming here for over 10 years and have never been disappointed with The Sparhawk. Great service and the cleanest rooms i have ever stayed in. The grounds are spotless and the staff is Great .Look forward to our Trip every year.

Room Tip: Always stay in Ireland house rooms 77 to 79 ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Rich M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oakville
Level Contributor
43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

Over 30 yrs and counting ...spectacular vistas, cosy, fresh air, friendly folks , plus plus plus....
Set out from here early morning for a stroll along the marginal way or head to the beach and let your toes dig into the sand ...let the ocean sounds lull you to sleep....

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sheila G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

On Memorial Day, the large breakfast room had fresh flowers and a small American flag on each table. It's touches like these that set Sparhawk aside from the rest. I enjoy sitting and looking at the ocean. The small balcony and large windows in my room allowed me to do just that, even when the weather turned bad. Will return

Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank Ray H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Catharines, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

This was our first visit to Sparhawk. From the moment we steppedinto the office to the time we left after a stay of 4 nights we were overwhelmed by the attention to detail. Our accommodation was superb, the grounds were immaculate and the proximit to themain street was easiy walkable. The continental breakfast offered various selections and the staff was very well trained. Everything relating to Sparhawk is clean and excellent wuality. How could you not wan to come back?

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pat M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ogunquit hotels
0.1 mi away
The Anchorage By the Sea
The Anchorage By the Sea
#10 of 36 in Ogunquit
4.0 of 5 bubbles 986 reviews
0.7 mi away
Gorges Grant Hotel
Gorges Grant Hotel
#3 of 36 in Ogunquit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Colonial Inn
The Colonial Inn
#4 of 36 in Ogunquit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Pink Blossoms Resort (Family Suites)
0.4 mi away
Meadowmere Resort
Meadowmere Resort
#6 of 36 in Ogunquit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 963 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Dunes on the Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sparhawk Oceanfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sparhawk Oceanfront Resort

Property: The Sparhawk Oceanfront Resort
Address: 85 Shore Rd, Ogunquit, ME 03907-3709
Region: United States > Maine > Ogunquit
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Ogunquit
#9 Romantic Hotel in Ogunquit
#11 Family Hotel in Ogunquit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Sparhawk Oceanfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sparhawk Oceanfront Hotel Ogunquit
Sparhawk Oceanfront Resort Ogunquit
The Sparhawk Oceanfront Resort Ogunquit, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing