We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average at best. Not a "Sea View"”
Review of Sea View Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sea View Motel
Ranked #14 of 36 Hotels in Ogunquit
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 August 2012

Not a Sea View at all. It is actually a highway view. Name should be changed. Breakfast was not good and no place to eat it. Who wants to get there dry cereal and carry it back to their room to eat? The room once you got inside was nicely renovated. If you want a portable cot be sure to ask for it while booking your room. We wanted one and didn't think to ask for one while booking. They did not have any available. The nice aspect was that the trolley was in front of the motel. Not handicapped accessible. You do have to walk down a pretty steep incline to get to the trolley. There were stairs or an incline to get to every location of the motel. I'd look for a different place to stay.

Room Tip: Ask for the newly renovated rooms. I would have been very disappointed to have spent money and not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SDSU94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jjseaview, Owner at Sea View Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2012

We are sorry we did not meet your expectations. JJ and Karen Mokarzel, Owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (349)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

274 - 280 of 349 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2012

Too expensive highway view! Disappointing for the price Motel 6 at Hilton rate but rooms are clean! Very noisy! No beach access and certainly no ocean view as the name suggests. Breakfast is included but they may as well pour cereals at your door and call it breakfast. Anyone who rates this place more than a 2 out of 10, is lieing or paid by the motel to give a good rating. Plenty of other places nearby that beat this place hands down. If you reserve, make sure you can get a refund when you see the place and want to go elsewhere And you will.

Room Tip: If you like a noisy place choose this one. If you want to pay Hilton prices for a motel 6 room choo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Hanky53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jjseaview, Owner at Sea View Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2012

We are dissapointed with the review written by this guest. The guest(s) never voiced their concerns with us as we offer a 100% guarantee and would have taken every step possible including a complete refund, even if we lost revenue to ensure a positive guest experience. We are proud of the total staff emphasis on Guest Experience and in the 2 years since we have owned the Sea View Motel, the significant majority of our guest Trip Advisor reviews have been overwhelmingly positive. While it's not possible to please every guest, it still pains us as owners to hear that one of our guests left dissapointed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2012

we had a lovely time here. the motel far exceeded my expectations, for as soon as we entered the room it seemed like we were in a nice hotel. the bed and linens were so comfy! the place seemed to be brand new. everything was clean and neat. we enjoyed the breakfast every morning which offered coffee, juices, fruit, bagels, cereal, pastries, oatmeal, etc. the owners couldn't have been nicer. they supplied us with wine glasses, wine openers, and even hung out with us and chatted. i can't wait to return. i absolutely loved it there!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lt09013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jjseaview, Owner at Sea View Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2012

We love to see our satisfied guests write that we exceeded their expectations. It's a challenge and goal we shoot for every day with every guest. Thanks, and please accept our gratitude. Hope to see you on your next visit to Ogunquit. JJ and Karen Mokarzel, Owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2012

My family spent an extended weekend at the Sea View Motel in Ogunquit and were very happy with our accommodations. This motel is located north of Ogunquit Center on Route 1 putting it in reasonable walking distance of the downtown shops, restaurants and bars. The rooms were modern in decor and immaculately clean. In fact the photos posted on them motel's website do not do them justice. Everyone working at the establishment, including the owners (husband and wife) were incredibly friendly and helpful. During our stay, the motel was at capacity and it never felt crowded. The pool deck has a good ratio of sun to shade and was as meticulously clean as their rooms. The provided breakfast was simple but adequate including cereal, yogurt, pastries, hard boiled eggs, instant oatmeal, coffee and juices. There really is not any seating (three outdoor tables) in the breakfast area so you may need to bring it back to your room. A great added benefit is that they provide pool towels for use at the motel.

In booking this motel there are some things that you should consider. First, despite its name, there is no view of the sea (maybe on a clear day from the second floor if you stand on your tip toes?). Second, the walk from the motel to the beach is on the longer side (it took us 20 - 30 minutes). Parking at the beach in Ogunquit has become pricey, up to $25 (I was told up to $35 by the front desk but never saw it posted that high) and the lots fill up rather quickly. The trolley is an option if you do not bring a lot with you (1.50 per person each way). That being said, we did the walk and it was not that bad. A tip though: if you do walk to the beach take a left onto Hoyts Ave at the Yellow Monkey, and then take your first right onto River Road and you can avoid carting your beach gear through the center of town.

Overall, I highly recommend this establishment and do plan on returning again in the future.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank govs99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jjseaview, Owner at Sea View Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2013

Thank you for your kind words. You could not have said it better, you sound like one of the Ogunquit locals, know all the short cuts and tricks! Your comments help other visitors with some great tips. We look forward to seeing you again very soon.

JJ and Karen Mokarzel
Owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2012

The Sea View Motel was a great place to stay. We had 2 adults and 2 children in our room and it was a good fit. The staff were very helpful and kind. The room was clean and comfortable. The free breakfast was great, especially with kids and the pool was very nice as well. We have already booked for next year and will be bringing more family members with us. Overall, great place to stay!!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Amber S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jjseaview, Owner at Sea View Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2013

Karen and I appreciate your excellent review and are so pleased that you will be returning to be our guest again. That's the ultimate compliment our staff and us can ever receive.

JJ and Karen Mokarzel
Owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2012

We stayed at the Sea View recently and had a great time. We had a group that stayed in the house and two of the motel rooms. The rooms were in great shape and the beds were very comfortable. The house had plenty of room and is a good choice for a large group. The entire staff was very helpful, and the free breakfast and coffee was a good way to start the day.

The location is within walking distance to the beach, shops, and many restaurants. The beach nearby is excellent and walking to the beach is a nice option. It is a great central location for the Ogunquit area. Played golf during the stay and there are nice options for golf nearby.

Will definitely return next year.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RNS0921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2012

We stayed here for our 5th wedding anniversary and had a great time. The Sea View is a short walk from all the attractions of Ogunquit, which helped after eating a large meal! The hotel accommodations were so inviting, clean, and comfortable. The pool and jacuzzi were perfect, staff was so friendly, and the continental breakfast was great. We even had a complimentary bottle of champagne from the owner!
Would highly recommend and will definitely stay here again soon!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FourMaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jjseaview, Owner at Sea View Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2013

We are happy that we helped you have a positive and memorable anniversary while you were our guest. We love when we can add to the memories, Congrats once again!

JJ and Karen Mokarzel
Owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ogunquit hotels
0.8 mi away
The Colonial Inn
The Colonial Inn
#7 of 36 in Ogunquit
720 reviews
0.2 mi away
Juniper Hill Inn
Juniper Hill Inn
#10 of 36 in Ogunquit
512 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Anchorage By the Sea
The Anchorage By the Sea
#12 of 36 in Ogunquit
1,069 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Gorges Grant Hotel
Gorges Grant Hotel
#3 of 36 in Ogunquit
602 reviews
0.9 mi away
Meadowmere Resort
Meadowmere Resort
#5 of 36 in Ogunquit
1,061 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Admiral's Inn
The Admiral's Inn
#9 of 36 in Ogunquit
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea View Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea View Motel

Address: 417 Main St, Ogunquit, ME 03907-3220
Region: United States > Maine > Ogunquit
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#26 Romantic Hotel in Ogunquit
Price Range: £71 - £171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sea View Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Upscale Resort Style motel located less than 1/2 mile from beautiful Ogunquit Beach. All rooms have been recently updated, and we have many complimentary ammenities. These include Free Wi-Fi, Free Continental Breakfast, Free Parking, Free Long Distance Phone calls to all of the USA AND Canada! Rooms have AC, Phones, 32 or 36 inch flat screen TV, Duvet bedding with multiple pillows, hair dryer, coffee maker, microwave, refridgerator, in rom safe. Irons and Ironing borads are available upon request. Guest reviews speak for themselves, we are totally focused on our guest experience. Thanks ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sea View Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea View Hotel Ogunquit
Sea View Ogunquit
Sea View Motel Ogunquit, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing