We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly clean comfortable 12 min walk to beach” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sea View Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sea View Motel
Ranked #27 of 36 Hotels in Ogunquit
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Friendly clean comfortable 12 min walk to beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2012

I really liked the staff here...helpful and friendly on all shifts. The room was clean; comfortable bed; mini fridge and large screen tv. I had end room 31 near street but didn't hear any noise from traffic. Pool very refreshing and breakfast fresh.
Walk to beach in 12 minutes or so if you don't take beach street. Hannaford grocery about 4-5 miles down the road.

Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank mtn1moma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jjseaview, Owner at Sea View Motel, responded to this review, 18 September 2012
Thank you for your upbeat review. We are thrilled you took the time to write the review and highlight our staff. We continually encourage all our staff to be helpful and friendly with our guests. It's nice to see they do and that their work is also noticed and appreciated. We hope to see you again soon. JJ and Karen Mokarzel, Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    126
    80
    22
    12
    6
See reviews for
65
112
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bethlehem, NH
Level Contributor
66 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2012

We spent 4 nights at the Sea View Motel. This is a great place in a convenient location that is owned and operated by very nice people.

We had three generation in two rooms for our visit. The rooms are all recently renovated, neat, clean and practical. The stay-over housekeeping was fine. New TVs are great. The WIFI system seems to work everywhere on the property. Nice to relax outside at a picnic table and do work/fun from the laptop while enjoying a beer.

Breakfast was great - basic but quite fulfilling. Pastries, bagels, muffins, cereal, yogurt, eggs, fruit, and of course coffee and juice. In fact coffee is available free of charge all day. They serve cookies in the afternoon as well which is quite a nice touch.

The kids enjoyed the pool while parents enjoyed the Jacuzzi. Both are clean, neat and well maintained.

Easy walk to town and the beach. If you want to ride the trolley, there is a stop right out front.

We stayed in the Garden Terrace rooms that have wood floors and are away from the parking lot. There is a real sense of privacy here. Room rates were quite reasonable given what others are still charging the last week of August.

The staff is all very friendly and helpful. The desk staff goes out of their way to help you. The hotel staff that serves breakfast and does other work on the property are all friendly and accommodating. You can't help to relax and feel at home with the staff.

Sure - you could find fancier places closer to the center of town. For the price, the location and the service, this is a great value in a convenient location run by people who do sincerely care. I would not hesitate to bring the family back next year for another great visit and stay at the Sea View Motel.






.

Room Tip: Ask for the Garden Terrace rooms. They are a bit more secluded and are renovated with wood floors. A...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vspiotti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jjseaview, Owner at Sea View Motel, responded to this review, 18 September 2012
Wow! Thank you so much for your nice review. You have made us all feel awesome! We share all our reviews with our staff, and showing them your review was a great moment for all of them and for us as owners. Please let us know when you return, we will make it a point to give you a personal thank you again. JJ and Karen Mokarzel, Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Mexico
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2012

Not a Sea View at all. It is actually a highway view. Name should be changed. Breakfast was not good and no place to eat it. Who wants to get there dry cereal and carry it back to their room to eat? The room once you got inside was nicely renovated. If you want a portable cot be sure to ask for it while booking your room. We wanted one and didn't think to ask for one while booking. They did not have any available. The nice aspect was that the trolley was in front of the motel. Not handicapped accessible. You do have to walk down a pretty steep incline to get to the trolley. There were stairs or an incline to get to every location of the motel. I'd look for a different place to stay.

Room Tip: Ask for the newly renovated rooms. I would have been very disappointed to have spent money and not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SDSU94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jjseaview, Owner at Sea View Motel, responded to this review, 18 September 2012
We are sorry we did not meet your expectations. JJ and Karen Mokarzel, Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
176 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2012

Too expensive highway view! Disappointing for the price Motel 6 at Hilton rate but rooms are clean! Very noisy! No beach access and certainly no ocean view as the name suggests. Breakfast is included but they may as well pour cereals at your door and call it breakfast. Anyone who rates this place more than a 2 out of 10, is lieing or paid by the motel to give a good rating. Plenty of other places nearby that beat this place hands down. If you reserve, make sure you can get a refund when you see the place and want to go elsewhere And you will.

Room Tip: If you like a noisy place choose this one. If you want to pay Hilton prices for a motel 6 room choo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Hanky53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jjseaview, Owner at Sea View Motel, responded to this review, 29 July 2012
We are dissapointed with the review written by this guest. The guest(s) never voiced their concerns with us as we offer a 100% guarantee and would have taken every step possible including a complete refund, even if we lost revenue to ensure a positive guest experience. We are proud of the total staff emphasis on Guest Experience and in the 2 years since we have owned the Sea View Motel, the significant majority of our guest Trip Advisor reviews have been overwhelmingly positive. While it's not possible to please every guest, it still pains us as owners to hear that one of our guests left dissapointed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Njurunda, Sweden
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2012

we had a lovely time here. the motel far exceeded my expectations, for as soon as we entered the room it seemed like we were in a nice hotel. the bed and linens were so comfy! the place seemed to be brand new. everything was clean and neat. we enjoyed the breakfast every morning which offered coffee, juices, fruit, bagels, cereal, pastries, oatmeal, etc. the owners couldn't have been nicer. they supplied us with wine glasses, wine openers, and even hung out with us and chatted. i can't wait to return. i absolutely loved it there!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lt09013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jjseaview, Owner at Sea View Motel, responded to this review, 18 September 2012
We love to see our satisfied guests write that we exceeded their expectations. It's a challenge and goal we shoot for every day with every guest. Thanks, and please accept our gratitude. Hope to see you on your next visit to Ogunquit. JJ and Karen Mokarzel, Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2012

My family spent an extended weekend at the Sea View Motel in Ogunquit and were very happy with our accommodations. This motel is located north of Ogunquit Center on Route 1 putting it in reasonable walking distance of the downtown shops, restaurants and bars. The rooms were modern in decor and immaculately clean. In fact the photos posted on them motel's website do not do them justice. Everyone working at the establishment, including the owners (husband and wife) were incredibly friendly and helpful. During our stay, the motel was at capacity and it never felt crowded. The pool deck has a good ratio of sun to shade and was as meticulously clean as their rooms. The provided breakfast was simple but adequate including cereal, yogurt, pastries, hard boiled eggs, instant oatmeal, coffee and juices. There really is not any seating (three outdoor tables) in the breakfast area so you may need to bring it back to your room. A great added benefit is that they provide pool towels for use at the motel.

In booking this motel there are some things that you should consider. First, despite its name, there is no view of the sea (maybe on a clear day from the second floor if you stand on your tip toes?). Second, the walk from the motel to the beach is on the longer side (it took us 20 - 30 minutes). Parking at the beach in Ogunquit has become pricey, up to $25 (I was told up to $35 by the front desk but never saw it posted that high) and the lots fill up rather quickly. The trolley is an option if you do not bring a lot with you (1.50 per person each way). That being said, we did the walk and it was not that bad. A tip though: if you do walk to the beach take a left onto Hoyts Ave at the Yellow Monkey, and then take your first right onto River Road and you can avoid carting your beach gear through the center of town.

Overall, I highly recommend this establishment and do plan on returning again in the future.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank govs99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jjseaview, Owner at Sea View Motel, responded to this review, 16 May 2013
Thank you for your kind words. You could not have said it better, you sound like one of the Ogunquit locals, know all the short cuts and tricks! Your comments help other visitors with some great tips. We look forward to seeing you again very soon.

JJ and Karen Mokarzel
Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfort, NY
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2012

The Sea View Motel was a great place to stay. We had 2 adults and 2 children in our room and it was a good fit. The staff were very helpful and kind. The room was clean and comfortable. The free breakfast was great, especially with kids and the pool was very nice as well. We have already booked for next year and will be bringing more family members with us. Overall, great place to stay!!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amber S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jjseaview, Owner at Sea View Motel, responded to this review, 16 May 2013
Karen and I appreciate your excellent review and are so pleased that you will be returning to be our guest again. That's the ultimate compliment our staff and us can ever receive.

JJ and Karen Mokarzel
Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ogunquit hotels
0.8 mi away
The Colonial Inn
The Colonial Inn
#4 of 36 in Ogunquit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 603 reviews
0.8 mi away
Pink Blossoms Resort (Family Suites)
1.1 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#7 of 36 in Ogunquit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Sea Rose Suites
Sea Rose Suites
#11 of 36 in Ogunquit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
0.2 mi away
Juniper Hill Inn
Juniper Hill Inn
#12 of 36 in Ogunquit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Mariner Resort
The Mariner Resort
#13 of 36 in Ogunquit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea View Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea View Motel

Property: Sea View Motel
Address: 417 Main St, Ogunquit, ME 03907-3220
Region: United States > Maine > Ogunquit
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in Ogunquit
#26 Romantic Hotel in Ogunquit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Sea View Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Upscale Resort Style motel located less than 1/2 mile from beautiful Ogunquit Beach. All rooms have been recently updated, and we have many complimentary ammenities. These include Free Wi-Fi, Free Continental Breakfast, Free Parking, Free Long Distance Phone calls to all of the USA AND Canada! Rooms have AC, Phones, 32 or 36 inch flat screen TV, Duvet bedding with multiple pillows, hair dryer, coffee maker, microwave, refridgerator, in rom safe. Irons and Ironing borads are available upon request. Guest reviews speak for themselves, we are totally focused on our guest experience. Thanks ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Sea View Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea View Hotel Ogunquit
Sea View Ogunquit
Sea View Motel Ogunquit, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing