We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This Place Needs a Total Over-Haul!”
Review of Marginal Way House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Marginal Way House
Ranked #6 of 36 Hotels in Ogunquit
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 September 2012

I should have read these other reviews more carefully before booking here! The location is great and the views are wonderful, but that's where it ends. While the staff (maybe the owners and their family?) were nice, I think that they just don't have a clue about how old, outdated, and in need of repair this place is. The bathroom was so old I didn't even want to use it. The sink would not drain so my husband took it upon himself to clean the drain in the middle of the night--disgusting. They left shampoo bootles that were obviously re-used and not even full, the refrigerator was rustly....I could go on and on. And it's really too bad because they have a great piece of property that I know I could make into a world class inn with not a lot of money. If you are used to motel type rooms you might be OK with all of this; if you usually book higher end hotels with granite, etc., this place will not meet your needs.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank FrequentTraveler300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (256)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

204 - 210 of 256 reviews

Reviewed 25 September 2012

Waking up to the sunrise over the Atlantic made our stay to the Marginal Way house a good one. We stayed on the third floor in a room looking out on the ocean, and while the configuration of the room was a little odd with the sink by the window away from the bathroom we were happy with the place. It was clean, the bed was fairly comfortable and the location made it an easy walk to everywhere we wanted to go in town.Our room was large for the age of the house, however the age did show through in parts of the house. Overall good stay for our first trip to the Maine Coast.

Room Tip: Get an ocean view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Erinkathleen332
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2012

I chose this hotel because it was in the perfect location (it's in the center of town yet you can easily walk to the beach).

And I didn't care that the place is old - the stairs to rooms are steep and narrow, the rooms are small, the furniture is older, the rooms don't have phones, the bathrooms don't have any electrical outlets, there isn't a pool, and WiFi is available only in the main building in the evening.

But t seems like the owners are doing the bare minimum on the upkeep on this place. In our room, the cushions on our wicker furniture were stained (and they had already been flipped once as the other side had even worse stains), the bathroom faucet leaked, one lamp didn't work (which we told management and asked for a new lightbulb but never received one during our 5-night stay), one set of sheets and towels were stained, the stand for our fridge was ancient and badly rusted, and one bed had seen better days. Outside of our room, the screen of a screen door continuously fell out, the ceiling of the porch in our building badly needed scrapping and repainting, and an iron railing was badly rusted. The staff consists of college kids.

There are too many nice places to stay in Ogunquit and while I loved the location, we won't be back.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank BookandDogLover31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2012

The location and views are great. The property offers lots of opportunity to be outside. The walk to the beach is short. Everything was perfect except for the temperature of the ocean! Our room had a fabulous view. It would be advisable for rhe housekeeping staff to do a more thorough cleaning before turning over rooms.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Linda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2012

The only positive comment about our stay was the location. We stayed in an appartment for 6, we were 3, small and not very clean. Our first night there, we found a clump of hair between the sheets. I've been going to Ogunquit for several years now, I will not be staying there again!!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lucky3125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2012

Our family was looking for a relaxing beach vacation where we would be staying close to the water. If we were any closer to the water, we would have had to swim! The Marginal Way House and Dockside Motel delivered exactly what we wanted. The motel was the closest building to the water. We could sit outside our room, or just look out our window to hear, see and smell the Atlantic Ocean. We were just a five minute walk to the main beach in Ogunquit - and often went to the beach early morning and dusk just to walk around. I thought it would be noisy being so close to a well-used path, but it really feels like a hidden gem. In addition to its close proximity to the beach, if you leave the hotel and turn away from the beach, you are in the middle of downtown Ogunquit, on Shore Road, with many wonderful restaurants and shops to visit.
Our room in the Dockside Motel had a cozy cottage feel. it was just big enough for us - two double beds with a little sitting area. Having a small refrigerator helped us save money on breakfasts and lunch. There is coffee available in the morning in the main house, where you could enjoy the view from the Front Porch. There are five buildings on the property, but it never felt crowded. Our room was spotless, although a bit dated, which added to its charm. We appreciated the fact that we could rent a room for only three nights, rather than an entire week. It was very reasonably priced for the height of the summer, and a location right on the water. We plan to come back on the off-season to experience this beautiful place by the sea in different seasons.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank happywanderers82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2012

It was my second time in ogunquit, Maine and I noticed that I should have come here before. The staff is very accomodating in every way, to assure your stay is pleasantly remembered. You're just in the center of the town( walking distance). I truly believe that It's the best location in Ogunquit. The rooms are super clean, comfortable and well enough to relax. Thank you so much Laura & Geoff....

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ocean7373
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ogunquit hotels
0.2 mi away
The Anchorage By the Sea
The Anchorage By the Sea
#12 of 36 in Ogunquit
1,067 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sea Rose Suites
Sea Rose Suites
#1 of 36 in Ogunquit
367 reviews
0 mi away
Terrace by the Sea
Terrace by the Sea
#26 of 36 in Ogunquit
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Gorges Grant Hotel
Gorges Grant Hotel
#3 of 36 in Ogunquit
602 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#14 of 36 in Ogunquit
492 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Colonial Inn
The Colonial Inn
#7 of 36 in Ogunquit
718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marginal Way House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marginal Way House

Address: 22 - 24 Wharf Lane, Ogunquit, ME 03907
Region: United States > Maine > Ogunquit
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 36 Hotels in Ogunquit
Price Range: £90 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Marginal Way House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the tradition of Maine's summer resorts, the Marginal Way House has been welcoming visitors since at least 1911. Located on Wharf Lane, two blocks from the center of town, directly across from the Ogunquit Beach, the Marginal Way House offers incomparable views of the beach and coastline. Offering 3 types of rooms including hotel rooms in our Main and Wharf House buildings, ocean front rooms in our Dockside building, and efficiency apartments which are located through out our 5 building complex. Pets are accepted off season only ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Marginal Way House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marginal Way House Hotel Ogunquit
Marginal Way Hotel
Marginal Way Motel
Marginal Way House Ogunquit, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing