We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The location alone is worth at least triple the room rates!!!”
Review of Marginal Way House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Marginal Way House
Ranked #7 of 36 Hotels in Ogunquit
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 August 2014

My wife loves Ogunquit. I'm a fan and being from the North Shore of MA, it's got a small town Cape feel without the hassle of getting to the Cape. Unfortunately most places in Ogunquit now have the rates, minimum night stay requirements, and mediocre customer service you run into down there. This hotel is not only situated in the best possible location if you are a beach fanatic, but it does have the old school charm without being a dump like the Colonial Inn, and the service was pretty good. Next time we go up we want to stay in the rooms right on the water, however for $170/ night, our simple standard room was just fine.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HightowerPower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (256)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

178 - 184 of 256 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2014

My husband and I have been staying at the Marginal Way house for 40 years. It is our summer vacation spot. The location is perfect-walking distance to beach, town, Perkins cove and many restaurants and shops. We have mostly stayed in the main house but there are several types of accommodation's on the property. The hotel was recently sold and thus far, the character of the place has not changed which is a very good sign. Some of the rooms have been renovated and look wonderful in keeping with the character of the property: Lovely new showers and furniture .I am told that these room renovations will continue which is a very good thing as the rooms in the main house really need it, as do the efficiencies. New furniture ,flooring and bathrooms will make a huge difference.
The best thing about the Marginal Way house is its staff. Laura Blake has worked there for years and she is a gem , just the kind of manager a hotel owner dreams of having on staff. Laura, along with Rose- Anna and Lena keep the place running smoothly and efficiently. They are a wonderful team, well organized, friendly and helpful. They treat their guests with respect ,kindness and consideration and their love of the property is apparent.
The front lawn overlooking the water is beautifully planted with lovely flowers, a perfect place to rest , read, daydream, and sip a cup of coffee or a glass of wine.
Hope to see you all again next summer.
Bluma and Mark Rosenstein
Montreal,Quebec

Room Tip: Rooms with ocean views are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank Bluma14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We have been coming to the Marginal Way House for almost 20 years, and we look forward to next 20! Our kids have grown up there, and we have made some lifelong friends. We can't say enough about the location, the view, and the wonderful staff.

We heard that new owners had taken over this year, and while some things have changed, we were pleased to see that Laura and Roseanna were still there to make us feel at home. I hope the new owners realize how special a place this is for its long-time and devoted customers. While some changes are inevitable (such as removing the dying tree), and even needed (upgrading rooms), please, please try to keep it the same as much as possible. We'll see you next year!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank D L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We too had a case where the property would not even consider refunding an extra night's stay. !!
We booked months ago, for 3 nights. ( Sun, mon, and tues night) . We enjoyed ourselves so much we asked if
we could keep the room one more night.. It was available, so we paid the extra night.
My wife is diabetic, and during the tuesday night developed some issues that caused us to change our plans
and get back into Canada sooner than later.
When we asked if any refund could be received, they said only if the room got booked.. Not much chance
of that . who would book one night ( as the room was booked after wed )..
It's not like we didnt show up at all We had already paid them for 3 nights !! The 4th was just 'gravy' for them.
They figured they would just scam us out of the night's fee, rather than do the decent thing and refund at least
some of the cost ( It wasnt even booked for the night in question, upon our arrival )
There are MANY nice places in Ogunquit. most are fantastic customer caring owners. The Marginal Way Motel
is NOT of of those places.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank goldenbriar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MWHOgunquit, General Manager at Marginal Way House, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

For the decade and a half that I have worked at the Marginal Way House, our cancellation policy has always remained the same. 14 days notice in order to receive a refund of deposit less a minimal cancellation fee. Once a guest is inside the 14 day period, if a cancellation is received, the deposit is forfeited unless the room is re-sold in full. The same applies to early check outs. This policy is clearly stated on each piece of literature that we send to guests once rooms have been booked, as well as the registration sheet that each guest signs upon check in. It is a standard policy, especially in Ogunquit. While we do empathize with the various reasons for last minute cancellations we cannot make exceptions for one without doing the same for all.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

My wife and I were planning a romantic trip to Maine for our thirtieth anniversary. Unfortunately my Step-Dad died; we called and cancelled our reservation TEN DAYS before our arrival date. We were refused a refund of our deposit because they had only rented our room for four of the five days we had reserved. Seriously I can't believe the new owners could be so greedy! Based on their greed I am sure this facility will be going downhill quickly.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
5  Thank Peter T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MWHOgunquit, General Manager at Marginal Way House, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

For the decade and a half that I have worked at the Marginal Way House, our cancellation policy has always remained the same. 14 days notice in order to receive a refund of deposit less a minimal cancellation fee. Once a guest is inside the 14 day period, if a cancellation is received, the deposit is forfeited unless the room is re-sold in full. The same applies to early check outs. This policy is clearly stated on each piece of literature that we send to guests once rooms have been booked, as well as the registration sheet that each guest signs upon check in. It is a standard policy, especially in Ogunquit. While we do empathize with the various reasons for last minute cancellations we cannot make exceptions for one without doing the same for all.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We have been staying at the MWH for six years. We love it there and will be returning next year. Grounds are beautiful, the staff is awesome, and the accomodations are what we love. Not fancy but most comfortable.

Room Tip: Reasonable for Ogunquit. Right at the convergence of the Ogunquit River and the Atlantic Ocean right...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Judy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed here for one night alone then my parents came the next day. I was very impressed! This Motel does not require a 2 night min stay and for the price you can't beat the location. It is right off Shore Road which has everything. One of my favorite features of the Motel was the beautiful lawn. The view of the water was gorgeous, the grass was well manicured and there was plenty of sitting. We had cocktails there both nights. It was also really close to Marginal Way and the footbridge to beach. Great place for your stay in Ogunquit!

Room Tip: We were in Room 16. It was on the top floor of the main house. The room was small but the bathroom w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Isabel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ogunquit hotels
0.2 mi away
The Anchorage By the Sea
The Anchorage By the Sea
#12 of 36 in Ogunquit
1,069 reviews
0.6 mi away
Gorges Grant Hotel
Gorges Grant Hotel
#3 of 36 in Ogunquit
603 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sea Rose Suites
Sea Rose Suites
#2 of 36 in Ogunquit
367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Pink Blossoms Resort (Family Suites)
0.3 mi away
Norseman Resort
Norseman Resort
#13 of 36 in Ogunquit
384 reviews
0 mi away
Terrace by the Sea
Terrace by the Sea
#26 of 36 in Ogunquit
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marginal Way House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marginal Way House

Address: 22 - 24 Wharf Lane, Ogunquit, ME 03907
Region: United States > Maine > Ogunquit
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Ogunquit
Price Range: £76 - £113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Marginal Way House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the tradition of Maine's summer resorts, the Marginal Way House has been welcoming visitors since at least 1911. Located on Wharf Lane, two blocks from the center of town, directly across from the Ogunquit Beach, the Marginal Way House offers incomparable views of the beach and coastline. Offering 3 types of rooms including hotel rooms in our Main and Wharf House buildings, ocean front rooms in our Dockside building, and efficiency apartments which are located through out our 5 building complex. Pets are accepted off season only ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Marginal Way House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marginal Way House Hotel Ogunquit
Marginal Way Hotel
Marginal Way Motel
Marginal Way House Ogunquit, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing