We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific place!”
Review of Marginal Way House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Marginal Way House
Ranked #9 of 36 Hotels in Ogunquit
Certificate of Excellence
Seneca, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Terrific place!”
Reviewed 16 October 2006

My husband and I just returned from a terrific autumn stay at the Marginal Way House in Ogunquit. We stayed in the main house which was very homey and comfortable. The location was fantastic, on the water yet right in town and within easy walking distance to everything. The staff was very helpful and we would certainly stay there again in the future.

  • Liked — Fantastic location and value
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Libberina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    132
    57
    13
    8
    1
See reviews for
59
109
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Pembroke, Maine
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2006

We just returned from four days at Marginal Way House in Oquinquit, ME. (In Spring if you stay 3 nights you get the 4th free!) The ocean is right outside your window! The waves come just a few feet away. The location of their Dockside Motel (waterfront) cannot be beat if you want to hear the ocean all night long and if you enjoy waking up to the sunrise over the water. Marginal Way House is located at the mouth of the Ogunquit River just as it empties into the sea. From the chairs out front of your room you can watch the changing of the tides twice a day. We watched loons diving for fish just feet away from us.
The beds are doubles and the decor is simple, maybe even old fashioned (not antique). But it is one of the cleanest places we have ever stayed. The staff is very friendly and helpful. They will go out of the way for you. We also really enjoyed having our dog with us. Pets are allowed in the off season.
You can walk right from your room to Ogunquit Beach. No need to drive and park anywhere! You can walk to Bread and Roses in the morning for bakery and coffee. (They offer free coffee in the Main House but we like the gourmet kind).
We also brought our kayaks. Although you have to time the tides just right, you can put in right over the short fence in front and you are off. No driving and parking again! Besides the tidal river there are salt marshes to explore by kayak. You cannot beat the location if you don't mind the no frills approach here.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank kellykabuki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2006

I just returned from a weekend getaway at Ogunquit's Marginal Way House and Motel. The location is the best! We stayed in the Motel, which has the best view of the ocean. It's close to everything, shops, restaurants, coffee shops and a convenience store. It's clean, but nothing fancy. Also, the walls are a bit thin, and the room is extremely bright in the morning. The blinds covering the windows allow the sun to pour into the room early in the morning. This didn't bother me too much, since I don't like sleeping in. So, if you're looking luxury, fancy soaps and shampoos in the washroom, and extras like a hair dryer and iron, THIS IS NOT THE PLACE FOR YOU. On the other hand, if you want a great place to watch the sunrise and hear the ocean right from your balcony, and friendly people to welcome you, then this is definitely the place for you.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
17 Thank edan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 20 September 2005

Having stayed in Ogunquit many times my husband and I feel we have finally found our "favorite place to stay". The furnishings in the rooms at the Marginal Way House are nothing to rave about but they are bright, cheery and extremely comfortable. What we liked best was the location -- you can pretty much walk to everything in Ogunquit Village. Traffic and parking can be a hassle sometimes and it was refreshing to just take off on foot from the hotel. We highly recommend the Main House in any of the upstairs rooms (the ground floor rooms looked small and dark). We plan on returning to the Marginal Way House very soon.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 13 July 2004

I have been coming to Ogunquit for 53 years. The last 6 or 7 to the Marginal Way House. What a delightful spot! Very low key but very hospitable.
The staff always friendly and helpful. Dogs (well
behaved ones) are allowed after Labor Day and my dog has enjoyed it immensely. While I endorse the Marginal Way House enthusiatically I selfishly hope that with its popularity it will always have room for me!

Helpful?
13 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 21 June 2004

We just returned from a short stay at Marginal Way it has a very beautiful view . It is directly on the water. Everyone there, Jeff, lauren and staff are very, very accomodating and gracious.

Everything was clean, and the whole atmosphere brings peace and a feeling of relaxing in a bit of elegance.

The shopping and restaurants are all high quality.

Perkins Cove is a very quaint area 4 minutes away.

You can really walk to everything.

AND you can bring your dog.

I cannot wait to return.

Helpful?
16 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Gatos, CA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2004

A charming place with comfy chairs to lounge about the lawn, great reading lights, instant hot water, convenient location and a marvelous view. We stayed in the dockside motel units with our own little patio, inside reading area and a frig. Friendly staff. Highly recommended.

Helpful?
9 Thank betscw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ogunquit hotels
0.2 mi away
The Anchorage By the Sea
The Anchorage By the Sea
#11 of 36 in Ogunquit
1,028 reviews
0.6 mi away
Gorges Grant Hotel
Gorges Grant Hotel
#2 of 36 in Ogunquit
553 reviews
0.0 mi away
Terrace by the Sea
Terrace by the Sea
#25 of 36 in Ogunquit
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Colonial Inn
The Colonial Inn
#4 of 36 in Ogunquit
678 reviews
0.4 mi away
Meadowmere Resort
Meadowmere Resort
#7 of 36 in Ogunquit
1,013 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Dunes on the Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marginal Way House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marginal Way House

Property: Marginal Way House
Address: 22 - 24 Wharf Lane, Ogunquit, ME 03907
Region: United States > Maine > Ogunquit
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Ogunquit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Marginal Way House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the tradition of Maine's summer resorts, the Marginal Way House has been welcoming visitors since at least 1911. Located on Wharf Lane, two blocks from the center of town, directly across from the Ogunquit Beach, the Marginal Way House offers incomparable views of the beach and coastline. Offering 3 types of rooms including hotel rooms in our Main and Wharf House buildings, ocean front rooms in our Dockside building, and efficiency apartments which are located through out our 5 building complex. Pets are accepted off season only ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Marginal Way House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marginal Way House Hotel Ogunquit
Marginal Way Hotel
Marginal Way Motel
Marginal Way House Ogunquit, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing