We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, friendly hotel close to everything”
Review of Gorges Grant Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Gorges Grant Hotel
Ranked #2 of 36 Hotels in Ogunquit
Certificate of Excellence
Flemington, NJ
Level Contributor
61 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nice, friendly hotel close to everything”
Reviewed 14 July 2013

This is a very nicely set up hotel with a generous, open lobby, and some good amenities. While not directly at the beach, the beach is only a 10-15 minute walk away in either direction, or a short drive. It has both an indoor pool/jacuzzi and an outdoor pool. Both the indoor and outdoor pool are fairly small, but big enough for a bit of swimming. The fitness center is very small, with only a treadmill, an elliptical machine, a bike and some weight machines, but at least it has a fitness center. Though for the most part, you could probably just as comfortably go for a nice long walk or run. The room we had was spacious enough though the some of the furniture was a bit worn and so was some of the drywall/paint, which is one of the reasons why this only got a very good. I think the staff made this place. People at the front desk were extremely helpful and friendly. They really went the extra mile to help out with recommendations for activities, anywhere from rainy day pastimes over food to close by destinations.

Room Tip: Ask for a room further away from the AC/pool so that you don't have to listen to it kick on/off...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lagourmandise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

542 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    360
    149
    19
    10
    4
See reviews for
151
283
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2013

Hotel: Went to Ogunquit for the long 4th of July weekend and picked a well rated hotel for our stay, the GG. We arrived in the evening of the 3rd, in time to check in and head to downtown. Check-in was a breeze, the room was a standard king with plenty of room, clean, cool (it was over 90F in Me that weekend), and a refrigerator for our use. In the back are two pools, one inside and an L shaped pool outside. It was a very nice alternative to the beach on an extremely hot summer day. There is a restaurant that serves the best breakfasts for the value in the area, Raspberries. There are many others that fill up quickly, but the average price is higher and you get fresh baked muffins, choice of 4 different types of toast, pancakes, French toast, etc. Ogunquit: The hotel is about 1/2 mile north of downtown, central to the two beaches named Ogunquit and Foot bridge that have over a mile of sandy shoreline. Parking at the beaches is $20 and fills up early. You do have an option to rent beach gear; chairs, umbrellas, coolers, etc. but it looks odd as you see groups of people pushing little carts overflowing with gear. The Military packs less gear when they hit the shore. There is a trolley that passes by every 30 minutes or so and is the best option to travel to the beaches or downtown where parking is difficult at best. Parking at the beaches is $20 and fills up early. There were so many different options for dinner, we were hard pressed to choose. The best option for lunch is to go to the Hannaford in Wells, about 3 miles up the road. Pick up a meal and bring it to the beach or the hotel pool. Many little store to explore in the evening and some decent entertainment with a playhouse, piano bar, night clubs and movie theater in the town. I would go again in an instant.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruce R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bar Harbor, Maine
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2013

Beautiful hotel and grounds. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Modern clean and attractive room with comfortable bed and great shower. Nice breakfast at Raspberri's on the property overlooking the outdoor swimming pool. A half mile from center Ogunquit and all its restaurants and shops. Easy walk to the footbridge to the beach. Also, convenient to Wells. We loved it and will return!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Framingham
Level Contributor
186 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 250 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013

We recently stayed at this hotel in Ogunquit. Not on the road by the ocean but still a good location.

very clean, nice rooms, comfortable furniture. etc. We stayed in the main building. No elevator as far as we could tell and rooms are on the 2nd floor. they did offer to help carry stuff up.

Good breakfast overall.

Will stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joanel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pleasantville
Level Contributor
69 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

We have stayed here a half dozen times and always find the accommodations clean and spacious for the area. Our premium room was well maintained with lots of drawer space and counter space in the bathroom area for toiletries. Housekeeping staff was pleasant and worked around our un-orthodox schedule. Even a rainy day was enjoyable while watching a movie in the high ceiling lobby area. The pool is large enough to actually swim a few laps and wasn't too pumped with chlorine. We will be back.

Room Tip: Premium rooms are best
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roomservice56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013

The Gorge Grant is a great hotel. The rooms are very clean and larger than many rooms I've stayed in. We have a baby and the room was big enough to put the crib in a dark corner so that we could watch TV without waking her. It is not in the center of town, but is an easy walk to the stores and water. The breakfast that is served is fantastic.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yosemiteali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woburn, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 4 July 2013

We enjoyed every minute here. The rooms are spacious and beautiful! The pool was nice and the hot tub was relaxing. All of the help was pleasant. The breakfasts are tasty too! Only a 1/2 mile walk to town. Many things to see and easy to walk to. Quiet at night. Really enjoyed that. My granddaughter and her friend want to come back for a week next year! I would like that too! Thanks!

Room Tip: My granddaughter and her friend were 15. We weren't looking for children's activities. Als...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank debra c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ogunquit hotels
0.8 mi away
The Anchorage By the Sea
The Anchorage By the Sea
#11 of 36 in Ogunquit
1,015 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Colonial Inn
The Colonial Inn
#5 of 36 in Ogunquit
632 reviews
0.3 mi away
Juniper Hill Inn
Juniper Hill Inn
#9 of 36 in Ogunquit
465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#7 of 36 in Ogunquit
436 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sea Rose Suites
Sea Rose Suites
#10 of 36 in Ogunquit
310 reviews
1.0 mi away
Meadowmere Resort
Meadowmere Resort
#6 of 36 in Ogunquit
986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gorges Grant Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gorges Grant Hotel

Property: Gorges Grant Hotel
Address: 449 Main St, Ogunquit, ME 03907-3220
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Ogunquit
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Ogunquit
#7 Romantic Hotel in Ogunquit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Gorges Grant Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visit the Gorges Grant Hotel in the beautiful seaside community of Ogunquit, Maine. Our non-smoking facility offers guest rooms with one king or two queen sized beds. The rooms have private baths, free high speed wireless Internet access, high definition cable television with multiple premium movie channels and on-demand programming, voice mail, coffee maker and coffee, refrigerator and individual climate control. We also feature indoor and outdoor heated pools, Jacuzzi and a well-equipped fitness room. The hotel also provides free local telephone calls and free parking to its guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Gorges Grant Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Gorges Grant
Gorges Grant Ogunquit
Gorges Grant Hotel Ogunquit, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing