We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay with kids, nice indoor/outdoor pool, friendly staff”
Review of Gorges Grant Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Gorges Grant Hotel
Ranked #2 of 36 Hotels in Ogunquit
Certificate of Excellence
Yardley, PA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great place to stay with kids, nice indoor/outdoor pool, friendly staff”
Reviewed 2 August 2009

The first time in Maine, we were hoping to have a relaxing time, enjoy the beach, eat fresh fish and have restful nights. We found all this in Ogunquit. Most importantly the hotel was very kid friendly. We had a spacious room with a separate bath/shower. Our 2-year old son had "almost" a private space for himself in the foyer area outside of our bath room. The hotel provided a full-size crib. The room had a coffee maker, fridge, wet bar, TV and a spacious sitting area where our son played with his cars and blocks. The hotel foyer offered fresh coffee each morning, a quiet place to sit, read the newspaper or check out the internet. The pool was a nice alternative to the beach with a resort-like environment. Breakfast was good and utilizing the breakfast coupon offer was a great deal. The Egg & I (100 yds from hotel) breakfast restaurant was our primary choice. The Lobster Pond across from the Egg & I offered very good lobster and sea food (albeit a bit pricy). The Front Porch Restaurant was the best dinner in town. We definitely come again! The hotel is within walking distance to downtown Ogunquit. We also took the Trolley to/from the beach (Trolley stop right in front of the hotel), very affordable compared to parking.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BCJ_Yardley_PA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

533 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    353
    147
    19
    10
    4
See reviews for
148
278
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Randolph, New Jersey
Level Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2009

I am a bit surprised by some of the negative reviews I have read on this hotel. Our room seemed to be brand new. The hotel was extremely clean. There is a large outside pool and a decent size indoor pool. The folks running the hotel were extremely pleasant and helpful.

The hotel is not located on the water and it is a short ride to the shops in town. I believe the trolley stops right at the hotel. You can walk to the Egg & I (breakfast) and the Lobster Pound (dinner).

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VacationLoverUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Lebanon, NH
1 review
Reviewed 13 April 2009

We went here for a long weekend to celebrate our 50th wedding anniversary. While the hotel is near the sea coast but not on the shoreline it is centrally located and well appointed. It was quiet and soundproofing seemed to be very good. The lobby has a welcoming atmosphere with a fireplace and access to a computer. Just off the cheerful breakfast room faces the woods and the menu, while more limited than the Maine Diner, provided good fare at a reasonable and competitive price. The wait staff was pleasant and effieient. The heated pool and hot tub were well maintained. the exercise room was small but had the basic equipment. We plan to return at least once a year.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank retiredchief_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhode Island
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 February 2009

My husband and I went to Ogonquit for a 4 day stay just to get away for some R and R. We arrived on a Thursday and were greeted by a very friendly front desk staff. Our room on the first floor was clean and very modern. Breakfast Friday at Strawberries was very good. Unfortunately, my husband became ill and spent the rest of our stay in bed (he had pneumonia). We had already paid for the breakfasts and the hotel removed the charge for his as he was unable to even go to the dining room. After I ate breakfast they brought me some juice and toast to bring to the room for him. Everyone there was very helpful and caring. I would not hesitate to return to Gorges Grant for a vacation.

  • Liked — Large, clean, nicely decorated room
  • Disliked — That Strawberries was not open for more than just breakfast.
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Geri48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mass
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2009

This Hotel seems very nice from their web site I must say! But my first visit to Ogunquit will now be my last due to this hotel.

The rooms, were not very clean, were very small, and were very expensive.

The lobby, was nice but only because they had a fireplace, every thing else in the lobby (the carpets, couches, and paint) were old and needed to be updated.

The pool, the water was dirty and hot tub was not working.

The staff, the house keepers we quite and not friendly, the mangement was rude and disrespectful, and the maintence gentlemen seem to be the only friendly staff that workes for this hotel.

If your looking for a nice get away I would recommend you choose a different hotel.

  • Liked — fast check out
  • Disliked — hotel was dirty
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank MassLovetoTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager449, Manager at Gorges Grant Hotel, responded to this review, 30 January 2009
Thank you for choosing the Gorges Grant Hotel. Thank you as well for taking the time to share your thoughts on tripadvisor.com. Comments such as yours are welcomed. They provide us with insight from the Guest perspective, and they help us to deliver superior service levels.

We apologize for any portion of your stay that you felt was unsatisfactory. We take great pride in the cleanliness and maintenance of our hotel, as well as the service we provide. We take all feedback seriously. We respond immediately when we are made aware of any part of our Guests’ stay that falls below their expectations. Our goal is to address concerns during the stay so that we may rectify the issue and make each visit enjoyable.

Your satisfaction is important to us. We encourage you to contact us and provide us with as many details as possible regarding your experience during your stay. We will carefully inspect any and all areas you describe as unsatisfactory, and we will take steps to make any necessary corrections based on our findings.

Thank you again for choosing the Gorges Grant Hotel, we look forward to serving your needs each time you are in the Ogunquit area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
164 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2008

This must be about the 5th time we have stayed at this hotel and our trip to Ogunquit would not be complete without staying here. We opted to upgrade to a suite this time for an extra $35 a night which in our opinion was very worthwhile.

I really do not have any criticisms of the Gorgeous George which for obscure reasons we have nicknamed the hotel. Its easy to find, plentiful free parking, lovely, helpful people on the front desk, good restaurant (only open for breakfast this time round). A trouble free and extremely pleasant stay which has always been the case when we have been here.

Check out the Omelette Factory over the road for a superb breakfast, though you may have to queue at weekends. The Lobster Pound a few yards up is also worth a visit. Ogunquit is a very nice place to visit and centrally located for the factory malls, leaf peeping or whatever else you want to do in Maine.

  • Liked — No niggles at all
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pentangle99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 November 2008

Ogunquit, Maine: Absolutely Wonderful
We have stayed at Gorges Grant for at least the last eight or nine years. Some times two or three times a year. We would not consider going to another hotel. The service is fantastic. The people at the front desk are very polite and helpful. The housekeeping crew is very thorough.
We have also enjoyed many great breakfasts at Raspberries. The food is delicious.
I would not hesitate to tell all my friends about Gorges Grant.

  • Liked — very clean and friendly
  • Disliked — there is nothing I didn't like
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shadowNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ogunquit hotels
0.8 mi away
The Anchorage By the Sea
0.9 mi away
The Colonial Inn
The Colonial Inn
#4 of 36 in Ogunquit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 623 reviews
0.3 mi away
Juniper Hill Inn
Juniper Hill Inn
#10 of 36 in Ogunquit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#8 of 36 in Ogunquit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
0.9 mi away
Pink Blossoms Resort (Family Suites)
1.0 mi away
Sea Rose Suites
Sea Rose Suites
#12 of 36 in Ogunquit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gorges Grant Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gorges Grant Hotel

Property: Gorges Grant Hotel
Address: 449 Main St, Ogunquit, ME 03907-3220
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Ogunquit
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Ogunquit
#7 Romantic Hotel in Ogunquit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Gorges Grant Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visit the Gorges Grant Hotel in the beautiful seaside community of Ogunquit, Maine. Our non-smoking facility offers guest rooms with one king or two queen sized beds. The rooms have private baths, free high speed wireless Internet access, high definition cable television with multiple premium movie channels and on-demand programming, voice mail, coffee maker and coffee, refrigerator and individual climate control. We also feature indoor and outdoor heated pools, Jacuzzi and a well-equipped fitness room. The hotel also provides free local telephone calls and free parking to its guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Gorges Grant Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Gorges Grant
Gorges Grant Ogunquit
Gorges Grant Hotel Ogunquit, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing