We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect place for first nite in Maine”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Milestone

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Milestone
Ranked #16 of 36 Hotels in Ogunquit
Certificate of Excellence
Lenoir City, TN
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Perfect place for first nite in Maine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

Room was clean and comfortable, and large-laid out well. Location is served by trolley to town and within comfortable walking distance to Footbridge Beach. Good breakfast. Staff was very friendly and helpful. We felt very well taken care of.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gpcIII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    149
    97
    19
    9
    4
See reviews for
80
131
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

We depend upon Tripadvisor for travel plans, and until now the advice from travelers has been spot on. The Milestone was not a good experience. Our group stayed for four nights recently, and we were disappointed with the room. It had a very musty, damp smell, with old, stained furniture. The look was vintage '80's, and not in a good way. We could hear the traffic noise from Rt. 1. Breakfast was served in a nice facility, and was typical grab and go fare. The walk to Footbridge Beach was not 5 minutes, more like 15... Not a problem for us, but guests should be aware of this.

I am really surprised by all the good reviews this facility receives. We gave this place thumbs down...much better choices are available in Ogunquit, and for less money.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Chautauqua2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dfhanson0126, General Manager at The Milestone, responded to this review, 13 August 2013
I want to express my concern for your less than positive experience at The Milestone. We appreciate your comments and all our comments on trip advisor and work very hard to maintain a property that our guests see as a home away from home and a place they return to frequently. Our property is an expansive property with beautiful grounds and spaces to enjoy and does offer the flexibility of varying locations for your lodging experience.

I only wish that we had been given the opportunity to address your concerns when you were here, I hope we could have made you more comfortable, in some manner, especially for a 4 nights stay. We have a very fair policy with regards to our cancellation procedure as well as early departures and certainly would have worked with you if we couldn't have found a more suitable location.

We do invest annually in our plant, and are proud at the efforts we make to keep our property, rooms and features moving forward. Last winter we invested in 20 of our standard room offerings and updated carpet, linens, draperies, blinds and other assorted room amenities. We also updated our pool area, ourdoor carpeting in several of our locations, as well as various on-going structural improvements like roof replacements, painting, room maintenenace, etc. We couldn't be happier with all the positive feedback from new and returning guests.

Our property is a 1/4 walk to the beach, to some, it's a 15 minute stroll, to others a brisk 6-8 minute walk, it all depends on the speed of pace and how one enjoys their walk. We are blessed to be so close to the Footbridge Beach, One of Boston Magazines top rated beaches, and feel our location is one of our strengths. We are a mile from the center of Ogunquit, 1/4 mile walk to one of the top rated area beaches, and conveniently located on the trolley stop for those wishing to venture to Perkins Cove or the main beach area.

We do offer a continental breakfast in our lobby, included at no fee to all of our guests and offer cold cereal, juices, coffee, tea, fresh fruit, toast, bagels, fresh baked muffins from our own Raspberri's Restaurant and assorted oatmeal options. We have found that most of our guests find plenty to get their day going, but also offer a discounted bed and breakfast package at Raspberri's, in our sister property-The Gorges Grant Hotel- less than a half mile away, for those wishing a full sit down breakfast experience.

I hope that you may consider The Milestone on a return trip, allow us the opportunity to provide the experience you expect. Thank you again for taking the time to comment, we appreciate all the feedback we receive.

Staff & Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013

The room was spotless, with direct access to the car and an elevated view over the front from the room's balcony. The huge bed (for us Brits) afforded us a wonderful night of sound sleep. We only had breakfast here which was good.The staff were both very friendly helpful. It was a shame we only stayed the one night and the heavy rain stopped us from seeing as much of Ogunquit that we would have like. The trolley bus service stopped right outside and was the perfect way to go for a splendid lobster meal nearby. Would love to return.

Room Tip: It rained a lot so we were rather glad to be very close to the reception area and the breakfast faci...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rod_B552
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013

Service was excellent, and the staff very accommodating. The resort was spotless. A very good breakfast was served. Would not hesitate to stay there again. It is also walking distance to Footbridge beach which is a big plus as you do not have to pay for parking at the beach.

Room Tip: The deluxe rooms were further away from the road which were quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elaine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013

Super clean. Walking distance from the beach. But I have to say the staff was incredible. They went above and beyond for us, getting us a great room and catering to all of our needs. Again, a warm thank you at everyone working at The Milestone. We will come back.

Room Tip: The higher the better!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kahnawake, Canada
Level Contributor
49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013

This was our first time in Maine. In Portland, ME on business and we wanted to visit the beach area before heading home. The Milestone was the first place to have vacancy late on a Saturday afternoon. We got the last room available. A little pricy but was glad I took it. Spacious room with a single king sized bed, Wi-Fi, comfy bed and chairs. The room was quiet even though the busy Rt 1 was just a stone's throw away. I liked the wide covered veranda on our section. I didn't feel like I was imposing on anybody's space when we walked to the lobby for breakfast. Everyone we passed greeted us with a 'hello' or a 'good morning'. Breakfast was regular offerings and it did the trick. The trolley stop right in front. It was drizzling so we didn't get to use the pool. All staff members were very helpful and polite. We liked it and we'll go back to The Milestone.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mama2Girly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

This is our third stay in The Milestone and we were not disappointed. This time we stayed for a week with our 3 year-old boy, who enjoyed it too. We had a standard room very close to the pool and even when the hotel was full it was never crowdy. The staff is as always very helpful and nice. We like that it is close to the beach, which we went in the morning and spent the afternoons at the pool. The room was very clean and yes, the hotel is at Rt.1 but the rooms are very well isolated and we did not hear any noise inside. The downtown is not very close and love to walk and enjoyed all the time we spent in Ogunquit. We definitely recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarinaDaniel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ogunquit hotels
0.6 mi away
Gorges Grant Hotel
Gorges Grant Hotel
#2 of 36 in Ogunquit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
0.9 mi away
Juniper Hill Inn
Juniper Hill Inn
#12 of 36 in Ogunquit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Anchorage By the Sea
The Anchorage By the Sea
#9 of 36 in Ogunquit
4.0 of 5 bubbles 997 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
The Colonial Inn
The Colonial Inn
#5 of 36 in Ogunquit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 604 reviews
1.6 mi away
Sea Rose Suites
Sea Rose Suites
#11 of 36 in Ogunquit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ogunquit Resort Motel
Ogunquit Resort Motel
#30 of 36 in Ogunquit
4.0 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Milestone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Milestone

Property: The Milestone
Address: 687 Main St, Ogunquit, ME 03907-3012
Region: United States > Maine > Ogunquit
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Ogunquit
#23 Romantic Hotel in Ogunquit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Milestone 2*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Milestone is a perfect combination of hustle, bustle and relaxation. Our rooms are close to the beach, restaurants and shops, while being set far enough away for you to enjoy the peace and quiet. Lush grounds, affordable rooms and excellent service will make you feel like you're at a five star resort without the expensive price tag. Enjoy our top notch facilities like the fitness center and heated pool. Or, venture out and take a quick stroll to the village and restaurants. If you'd like to enjoy the area's sites and scenary, simply hop on the town's seasonal trolley for a quick, easy ride. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Milestone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Milestone Hotel Ogunquit
Milestone Hotel Ogunquit
Milestone Motel Ogunquit
The Milestone Ogunquit, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing