We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too expensive for what you get”
Review of Above Tide Inn

Above Tide Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ogunquit
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Above Tide Inn
Ranked #21 of 26 Ogunquit B&B and Inns
Montreal
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Too expensive for what you get”
Reviewed 28 June 2012

I stayed there for 3 nights and would never return. The mattress must had been 20 years old at least, the bedsheet was very thin, no shampoo, no hairdryer, the soap bar is a very thin, decor is very ''kitsch'', everything about this place is UGLY. The breakfast consist of a piece of cake, bad coffee and bad orange juice.
The owner collects all the money when you come in... it's a good thing for him because once we see the accomodations you simply want to leave this place ASAP.
You simply feel you've been taken advantage of.....that's how I felt.
Anyhow, if you still want to go at this well located inn, bring your soap, shampoo, cream, hairdryer and pillow..........it's lke going camping at $255.00 per night..........

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank FrancineDMontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Above Tide Inn, responded to this review, 29 June 2012
This review truly makes me wonder about the usefulness of TripAdvisor. We checked in daily with the two female guests, one of whom wrote this review, and they told us each day that they were having a wonderful time. Not at any point did either woman complain about our property or amenities.

Our beds were custom made for us less than ten years ago and are made to feel firm. Each morning we provide a light continental breakfast that is homemade and most of our guests compliment the cakes and coffee. As far as our rates go, we are on the water and our rates are a great deal lower than places like the Norseman, which is on the water also.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    10
    2
    1
    5
See reviews for
6
21
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, NH
Level Contributor
59 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2011

My partner and I had a wonderful 2 night stay here. Quiet and freindly. Sooo close to everything in Oguquit. It is located on the River overlooking the main beach. Easy access to the adjacent Island and the Cliff walk as well as downtown. Very scenic and awesome place to be in the summer!

Room Tip: Look for one in the Main house and for water/River view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Portsmouth_NHRocky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2011

On August 7 about 7 p.m. I made a reservation for the following night for one night. Unfortunately my father was rushed to the hospital with a heart attack a few hours later and I called to cancel about 7 am the next morning--12 hours later! As a courtesy I assumed the "family run" owners would understand and perhaps give us a credit. Not only was I surprised to find a $50 bill on my credit card but the owner said she's HEARD THAT EXCUSE BEFORE! I'm happy to say my father made it through surgery but am saddened of the insensitivity and inhumanness of this owner.

Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
10 Thank Cheryl G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2011

My husband and I spent two nights recently.
I will start with the positives.
Proximity to the beach.
Large balcony outside the room- even though it is over the parking lot and very close to the main road to the beach.
Now the negatives:
The room- which cost over $200/ night, was very small and very basic .the queen bed had a mattress that was rubber/ vinyl (??)on the top.
Horrible.
Besides being very rigid , you woke up feeling hot and wet!
There was no luggage rack for the suitcases- which had to go on the floor.
The bathroom was the smallest I have ever been in( other than a cruise ship- but at least they are nice) the toilet tissue was one ply.
No hairdryer in place( I had to ask )
The towels were pitifully thin.
Not acceptable when there are so many outlets nearby selling thick inexpensive ones.
The wafer thin soap was there , however no shampoo, conditioner or lotion.
The owner or his dad sat on the lower balcony all day , right beside the ice machine. Don't dare takemore than a small icebucket full.
In his defense, he sat there so no one except a paying guest , would park there.
Because the inn is next to the only road going to and from the beach, it is noisy at night .
Other than being close to the beach, it is not worth the $$$$.
Other places near by charge about the same , and are so much nicer.
We have been going to ogunquit for 30 years and have stayed on many of the places by the beach.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Fleuvee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
munkysmum
Level Contributor
69 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2011

We had always been curious about the Above Tide Inn, so on the planned last day of our honeymoon, when we just weren't ready to leave, we walked into the office and asked if we could stay there for the night. They usually don't have one night guests, but there had been a cancellation and they gave us a room. They were so friendly and helpful, even taking care of my giant flower arrangement which barely fit in the room! We had a lovely time in our sweet little room. It is like being on a boat, so close to the water, lovely balcony space for every room, close to the action but very quiet. A great view of all the shenanigans on the beach. We loved it and can't wait to go back. Such a nice experience with the friendly owners. Such a good value for a sweet place right on the water!

Room Tip: I think they are all good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank munkysmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Port, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 June 2010

Just returned from a 1 week stay at The Above Tide Inn, the Family that owns and runs it were outstanding, they were very knowledgable of the area, and willing to share it. The location was great being right on the Tidal River, Close to the heart of town, the beach and just a relaxing location. we would definitely stay here again and highly recommend this Inn.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Labsrus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
68 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2009

We loved the location of the Above Tide Inn in Ogunquit, ME. It is situated directly over the Ogunquit River where makes a turn to join the ocean. A quick walk over the adjacent bridge brings you to the amazing flat sands of Ogunquit Beach where you can walk for miles. From the small balcony of our room, we watched the wildlife, migratory birds and the local surfing community "hanging ten." The small Inn is also a short walk (1 block) to the main streets and shopping areas of the town. A foot trail leads from the rear of the property over a bridge and connects with Marginal Way, a dramatic oceanfront, mile-long walkway to the unique community of Perkins Cove. The small parking area borders the inn. Our second floor room was small and suitable for one or two people only. The stairs are not covered and are steep. No frills here, but very sunny and clean room with a small tv mounted on the wall, a wicker chair and small bureau. There is a small refrigerator in the room and an ice machine on the lower porch. A continental breakfast of juice and quick bread or muffins was served from 8 am to 10 am. The coffee was excellent. The service folks (actually the owners) were friendly and not intrusive. I requested a hair dryer and was given one. In the summer when the beach is a magnet for thousands, the location of this inn would be busy and probably noisy. But we enjoyed the beauty and solitude of this off-season weekday getaway. We enjoyed most our small, covered balcony with chairs and table and great view; least, the bed which was very hard and covered with plastic. I recommend the inn for short stays in the off season.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nanag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ogunquit hotels
0.0 mi away
Aspinquid at Norseman Resort
0.1 mi away
Terrace by the Sea
Terrace by the Sea
#23 of 36 in Ogunquit
286 reviews
0.2 mi away
Inn on Shore Road
Inn on Shore Road
#11 of 26 in Ogunquit
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sea Chambers Motel
Sea Chambers Motel
#21 of 36 in Ogunquit
201 reviews
0.1 mi away
Marginal Way House
Marginal Way House
#16 of 36 in Ogunquit
179 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Black Boar Inn
The Black Boar Inn
#9 of 26 in Ogunquit
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Above Tide Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Above Tide Inn

Property: Above Tide Inn
Address: 66 Beach Street, Ogunquit, ME 03907-2188
Region: United States > Maine > Ogunquit
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Ogunquit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located on the Ogunquit River overlooking the Atlantic Ocean, the Inn is within walking distance to all of Ogunquit's main attractions. The Above Tide Inn is family-owned with nine tastefully decorated rooms. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Above Tide Hotel Ogunquit
Above Tide Inn Ogunquit, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing