We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional, Quiet and Friendly”
Review of Above Tide Inn

Above Tide Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ogunquit
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Above Tide Inn
Ranked #21 of 26 Ogunquit B&B and Inns
Niskayuna, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Exceptional, Quiet and Friendly”
Reviewed 24 August 2012

Spent a few days at the "Above Tide Inn" in late July. Al, John and Meagan are wonderful and make you feel like you are part of their family. The inn is quaint, quiet and immaculate. The views from many of the rooms breath taking. The back deck is superb for relaxing and enjoying the magnificient views. The breakfast treats include delicious homemade breads/cakes and coffee. I can't say enough about the location. This is the place for me. I will never stay anywhere else again.

Thanks Karen

Room Tip: Rooms along the back have a large deck with breathe taking views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kbmnurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abovetideinn, Owner at Above Tide Inn, responded to this review, 26 August 2012
Thanks for the great review! This guest traveled with a friend who had a room on the front deck so she enjoyed the best of both worlds. In the morning she was able to visit her friend's table on the front deck to enjoy the sunrise. Then her own room on the second floor faced the west so she could also enjoy the sunset. We can't wait for your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    10
    2
    1
    5
See reviews for
6
21
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sherbrooke, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2012

My wife and I have been going to this family own Inn for years and always loved it till we got a room on the first floor and it ruined our stay.There's absolutly no insolation.You hear everthing from the room upstairs wich made me realised how much we must have been a nuisance the previous years to the floor guest.I really like that family, the place and the location.They are always nice and helpful but I just hope they'll fix this problem cause the do have THE location in town!

Room Tip: Never ,never rent a room on the main floor unless you sleep like a rock.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank blackwall01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abovetideinn, Owner at Above Tide Inn, responded to this review, 26 August 2012
I have waited a month to write this response because I wanted to see whether other guests in this room would have similar complaints. Not one person has complained and this room has not had a vacant night since the reviewers left.

Our inn has insulation in the walls and between the first and second floors. I think the unfortunate part of this reviewer's stay is that the people who stayed above him were loud and unruly. We spoke with the people in the room above and tried to address the issue. The reviewer also had words with them. it is unfortunate that another couple can negatively impact a couple's annual vacation.

The reviewer and his wife are wonderful guests and we will make sure they have their usual room on the second floor when we see them in 2013.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derry, New Hampshire
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 July 2012

Hello- My husband and I stated at the "Above Tide Inn" late June and had a wonderful time. The Inn is situated on where the Atlantic ocean and Ogunquit river meet, quite beautiful and the beach is directly across the way. The owners are lovely and the rooms are quaint and nicely kept. We tried to get more time there over the summer, but unfortunantely there were no rooms available.
Hope to visit again and would certainly recommend to others.

Room Tip: A room with a view (ocean,river and beach).
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kelly a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abovetideinn, Owner at Above Tide Inn, responded to this review, 23 July 2012
We appreciate your review and hopefully we'll have some rooms available for your summertime visit in 2013!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2012

My wife and I took a short two night break and stayed at this Inn as we have many times in past years but not for the last three years. Nothing has changed. It is very conveniently located on the edge of the river inlet and faces the ocean and the river side beach. It is a 5 minute walk to the main beach straight ahead passing by very nice breakfast, luncheon,dining and sundry places right off the beach. There are small rooms and larger rooms and some with two bedrooms all with a deck out in front of the rooms. It is also only a 5 minute walk to the center of town with all the shops. The amenities include all your basics for an Inn in Me. nothing fancy but very pleasant and clean. Coffee, juice and cake are available in the Office around 7am to get you started. And, the coffee is good as is the cake.
The resident owners, in the summer time, have their own house next to the Inn and are very pleasant when you are. Just remember, you are at Me. Inn and not a luxury NY hotel.

Room Tip: The front rooms on the water are generally preferred but the sun rises in the east and may disturb y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John and Judy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abovetideinn, Owner at Above Tide Inn, responded to this review, 23 July 2012
Thank you for the kind words. Guests like these make innkeeping a joy!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2012

I stayed there for 3 nights and would never return. The mattress must had been 20 years old at least, the bedsheet was very thin, no shampoo, no hairdryer, the soap bar is a very thin, decor is very ''kitsch'', everything about this place is UGLY. The breakfast consist of a piece of cake, bad coffee and bad orange juice.
The owner collects all the money when you come in... it's a good thing for him because once we see the accomodations you simply want to leave this place ASAP.
You simply feel you've been taken advantage of.....that's how I felt.
Anyhow, if you still want to go at this well located inn, bring your soap, shampoo, cream, hairdryer and pillow..........it's lke going camping at $255.00 per night..........

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank FrancineDMontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Above Tide Inn, responded to this review, 29 June 2012
This review truly makes me wonder about the usefulness of TripAdvisor. We checked in daily with the two female guests, one of whom wrote this review, and they told us each day that they were having a wonderful time. Not at any point did either woman complain about our property or amenities.

Our beds were custom made for us less than ten years ago and are made to feel firm. Each morning we provide a light continental breakfast that is homemade and most of our guests compliment the cakes and coffee. As far as our rates go, we are on the water and our rates are a great deal lower than places like the Norseman, which is on the water also.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, NH
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2011

My partner and I had a wonderful 2 night stay here. Quiet and freindly. Sooo close to everything in Oguquit. It is located on the River overlooking the main beach. Easy access to the adjacent Island and the Cliff walk as well as downtown. Very scenic and awesome place to be in the summer!

Room Tip: Look for one in the Main house and for water/River view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Portsmouth_NHRocky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2011

On August 7 about 7 p.m. I made a reservation for the following night for one night. Unfortunately my father was rushed to the hospital with a heart attack a few hours later and I called to cancel about 7 am the next morning--12 hours later! As a courtesy I assumed the "family run" owners would understand and perhaps give us a credit. Not only was I surprised to find a $50 bill on my credit card but the owner said she's HEARD THAT EXCUSE BEFORE! I'm happy to say my father made it through surgery but am saddened of the insensitivity and inhumanness of this owner.

Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
10 Thank Cheryl G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ogunquit hotels
0.1 mi away
Terrace by the Sea
Terrace by the Sea
#24 of 36 in Ogunquit
291 reviews
0.0 mi away
Aspinquid at Norseman Resort
0.2 mi away
Inn on Shore Road
Inn on Shore Road
#12 of 26 in Ogunquit
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sea Chambers Motel
Sea Chambers Motel
#22 of 36 in Ogunquit
208 reviews
0.1 mi away
Marginal Way House
Marginal Way House
#12 of 36 in Ogunquit
198 reviews
0.2 mi away
Old Village Inn
Old Village Inn
#23 of 26 in Ogunquit
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Above Tide Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Above Tide Inn

Property: Above Tide Inn
Address: 66 Beach Street, Ogunquit, ME 03907-2188
Region: United States > Maine > Ogunquit
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Ogunquit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located on the Ogunquit River overlooking the Atlantic Ocean, the Inn is within walking distance to all of Ogunquit's main attractions. The Above Tide Inn is family-owned with nine tastefully decorated rooms. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Above Tide Hotel Ogunquit
Above Tide Inn Ogunquit, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing