We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing Fried... nothing gained”

Oarweed Cove Restaurant
Ranked #33 of 97 Restaurants in Ogunquit
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Kids, View, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Valparaiso, Indiana
Level Contributor
116 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Nothing Fried... nothing gained”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

After back to back to back fried clam meals, we wanted to try Oarwoods who has no fried foods on their menu. They also don't take reservations, which was perfect for us since we never knew when the dinner bell would ring for us. We just had a couple of their large dinner salads; with a blueberry pie ala mode for dessert. It was tasty and the view of the cove with the tide going out was memorable.

I would recommend you take mosquito spray.. we were in the building that is open-air seating and there were a lot of them buzzing around. Service was excellent.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ValpoInd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

584 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    213
    172
    114
    51
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
York, Maine
Level Contributor
304 reviews
216 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Gotta try the crab melt”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

As a local, we thought asking an opinion of someone who works in the immediate area about this place would be a safe bet and we were glad we did! Unfortunately, some reviewers are jaded resulting in an inaccurate review. Had I followed the reviews, we wouldn't have tried this place for the first time. As I said, we are locals. As locals, we don't get out much due to the high tourist traffic and we can buy fantastic food and make it best at home. It's tough to impress me. I was impressed with the crab melt. It wasn't too fishy. Very tasty. We also had crab cakes and a fish sandwich. Both were very good, but the crab melt was definitely the best. Now, keep in mind it's not cheap, but you get what you pay for. There is real crab meat in the melt and the crab cakes without much filler. Everything is perfectly cooked/grilled. Add some fresh lemon to the crab cakes and dip in the sauce and it makes your eyes roll. The fish sandwich was perfectly cooked as well. Oh, and let's not forget the blueberry pie a la mode! We never get dessert, but we were referred to their desserts as being some of the best and it was. Some things are not homemade, which was fine by us, because you can tell they focus on the more important items, which are all homemade. Well balanced. Oh and one more thing......the staff was incredibly nice! They were warm, welcoming, had smiles on their faces, attentive, etc. Well done!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank StephV44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Randolph, New York
Level Contributor
142 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“A welcome respit at the end of the Marginal Way”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

The Oakweed Cove was a pleasant restaurant with a fantastic ocean view. We were there for lunch after our walk along the Marginal Way...a must do when in Ogunquit. The service was great and the host and waitress were friendly and informative. We had clam chowder and crab rolls which were delicious. I commented to our waitress that I loved the oyster crackers that I had been served several times since in Maine and asked if they could be purchase at local grocery stores. She wasn't sure but brought me several packets to take with me. (I did find a place to buy them on line--delicious, crunchie and they don't get soggy). Always great to have a waitress who goes the extra mile.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kathy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lafayette, Louisiana
Level Contributor
44 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great food and views!”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We ate here for lunch, after a walk on the Marginal Way. Good seafood and service. It isn't air-conditioned, and we were there on a very hot day (90), but there were plenty of fans and a great breeze.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank ladydoc61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alstead, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“The best children's menu”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We only ate at three of the restaurant in Perkins cove but the Oarweed had the best children's menu of those three. A very good selection, quantity of food and great quality as well as reasonabley priced.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank WendyG452
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Oarweed Cove Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Oarweed Cove Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing