We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a Pleasant Surprise!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gypsy Sweethearts

Gypsy Sweethearts
Ranked #44 of 97 Restaurants in Ogunquit
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
shelton, ct
Level Contributor
30 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“What a Pleasant Surprise!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

Expecting this place to be your typical tourist trap, we walked away with a completely different view. The food was superb (I had the walnut-crusted Haddock), the wait staff as well, and the the proprietor Tony was a gem! We loved the ambiance, location, food, and restaurant furnishings, and we even went so far as to buy one of their unique beeswax candle holders! Definitely patronize this one!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank bobShelton_Ct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    130
    77
    35
    14
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
“Always nice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

I have had dinner and tapas here in the past and I always have a great meal, great service and great drinks- I recommend the sangria! I had dinner with my boyfriend a couple of weeks ago and we sat on the roof deck. Our server was very attentive and our meal was delicious. I will continue to return!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Molly J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milford, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great food.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

My wife and I went in for a nice dinner one evening during vacation. The food and service were both excellent. The atmosphere is unique and charming if a little cramped. The chairs however were brutally uncomfortable. By the end of the meal I rushed through my dessert (which was excellent) just so I could get out of the chair. Despite the chairs we would definitely return!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank RyanC1076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“What a delight”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

I have been going to ogunquit, Maine for years this is my first time at gypsy and what a delight and definitey will go back, from the time I walked in till the time I left I felt like they were like family, what a treat to find a southern owing the rest. which I am from and food good and reasoanble price, serivce attentive free parking behind and outside dining if referred

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank a a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
70 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Accomodating and Great Setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

My wife and I were staying in Wells and ventured to Ogunquit to walk along Shore Road for the day. We had tweeted that we were looking for restaurant recommendations and the Beachmere Inn tweeted back to us with Gypsy Sweethearts as their favorite (along with a few others). We walked past several restaurants, reading their posted menus and just didn't see what we were looking for. Then we came to Gypsy Sweethearts and decided to give it a try. The weather had greatly cooled off and many of the restaurants had their heat lamps going for outside seating, but we discovered it was too hot sitting next to one and indoor seating was also quite warm. They brought us up to their upper deck and sat us in the most private location possible, all alone on the roof top!! We didn't mind in the least, but I'm sure the waiter got a workout climbing the stairs to serve us.

We sat at a table for two, overlooking Shore road, surrounded by white lights twisted through the ivy on the deck railing. It was like a scene from a romantic movie. I posted a picture of our table for this review.

They had a decent wine list (got a 7 Deadly Zins) and a great martini list (pomegranite martini, my wife's favorite). We split a crab cakes appertized that had a tequila infused sauce on it. My rib eye was cooked perfect and was quite large. My wife had the almond crusted haddock, another of her favorites. We just hit this night perfect, perfect location, great food, great service, and thanks to twitter for the recommendation.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank EricinNH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gypsy Sweethearts also viewed

 

Been to Gypsy Sweethearts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing