We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience”
Review of Lobster Shack

Lobster Shack
Ranked #2 of 98 Restaurants in Ogunquit
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Takeout
Description: Enjoy lobster, steamers, lobster rolls, chowder and a whole lot more in a friendly, casual atmosphere. Live lobsters caught by local lobstermen wait in tanks filled with ocean water coming straight from the cove. Choose your size and two sides. For all the taste without the work, have a lobster roll any way you like it...a quarter pound single, double-stuffed, triple, or an entire pound on a buttery toasted roll with or without mayo. The lobster wrap and lobster BLT are also recently added favorites. Homemade chowder made from an old family recipe is a great way to start your meal, there's no thickening flour just the perfect combination of clams, fish, potatoes, onions and spices in a milk and cream base.The "Shack" has been owned and operated by the Evans family since the 1980s and is proud to serve the hottest chowder and the coldest beer in town. Let Jason, his family and his crew provide you with a true Maine eating experience in the oldest restaurant in Perkins Cove...
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great experience”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Great lobster, as fresh as you will ever experience. Basic, no frills cafe style but this was what we wanted. Closes at 9pm which seems very early for us Europeans. Bustling and busy until 8.30. Friendly and helpful staff, great food, reasonable prices.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Graeme T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

750 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    489
    193
    49
    18
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“More than expected”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We knew we wanted to stop here for lunch after taking in the beautiful views from the Marginal Way and thought we would go with the lobster salad lunch special like most of the rest of the crowd. My wife ordered that and was not disappointed. I however, wanted something different and ordered the fish tacos. It was not the kind of thing I expected from a seafood shack on the coast of Maine. They were fabulous! I have ordered fish tacos on a lot of travels and these may have been the best. 3 wonderfully seasoned sautéed haddock (yep not fried) pieces with all the right accompaniments. Next time you are in the heart of lobster country, do yourself a favor and try a little Mexican alternative.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank dswaldman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“The real, genuine article”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

The Lobster Shack is likely extremely busy during the summer months, and since it's such a small, cramped spot, I'm not sure it would be our first choice for dining with friends or other family members. Fortunately my wife and I checked it out right after Labor Day when the crowds and weather were already cooling off, and it was just what the doctor ordered. Fresh, no-nonsense food prepared no-frills: if you want lobster, you've got it, though the pickings are slim if you're not into it. Worth a trip if you're in the area and it's not the dead middle of summer time,.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rodan4242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern New Jersey
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Came to Maine for lobster and got their best here”
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

Sweet, clean and cozy dining room right in Perkins Cove. Perfect anytime but especially welcome on a rainy day. Chowder, lobster rolls, soup and beer all top notch. Staff is friendly and efficient. Decent value too! Give it a try, I don't think you'll be sorry you did.

Helpful?
1 Thank valeriejohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old Lyme
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best Lobstah Evah”
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

Best Lobstah Evah! Seriously, get the lobster roll and fish/clam chowder. I have never had lobster melt in my mouth before and probably won't again until my return! Lovely area for walking off great food. And yes, their beer is cold. Wasn't going to post review because I want to keep this place a secret to myself. :-)

Helpful?
1 Thank Stacy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Lobster Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing