We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value and delicious just north of Ogunquit's main village” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Captains Catch - CLOSED

Captains Catch
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Ogunquit, Maine, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good value and delicious just north of Ogunquit's main village”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

Cooked up perfectly by the Captain personally. You can order it up or take fresh catch home. Walking distance to our Inn so he will see our business and that of our guests.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank DU03907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    5
    3
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Wells, Maine
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“BETTER THAN MOST”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

This seasonal restaurant is always good and always quite busy. It is worth the wait and you will not be disappointed . Can be a tad pricey but again as usual you get what you pay for so do not pass it by.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank swimp00l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
100 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Nice people, decent food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

I ordered a clam belly roll and my husband got the lobster roll. Both were nothing special, but it made a good enough lunch. The rolls tasted cheap and I think that was the biggest problem. The service was friendly and quick and the seafood tasted very fresh. I would give this place another shot.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Inferno2727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
275 reviews
151 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 446 helpful votes
“Wonderful Little Find!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

We found Captain’s Catch as we wound our way south from Portland to Boston, and what a find! The menu offers a nice blend of traditional and innovative dishes, and our family enjoyed haddock fish tacos, fish & chips, and the double hot dog special. The haddock fish tacos had a wonderful flavor, the fish & chips were perfectly prepared, and the hot dogs were crisp and flavorful. After spending so much in touristy restaurants along the coast, Captain’s Catch was a nice change of pace.

Dining is at picnic tables under umbrellas along the highway. Service was prompt, and the price was reasonable. We very much recommend Captain’s Catch for a true taste of the Maine coast!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Louis59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfort, Kentucky
Level Contributor
150 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Overpriced, poor service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2013 via mobile

I feel we were I we hatred for this meal. The sign said the prices, but our bill was much higher. The food was good, but the rest of the experience was disappointing. Service was poor. My son ordered a cob Of corn with his meal, and didn't receive it. They wouldn't give us one. Wouldn't go back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AndreaWM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing