We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My favorite B&B ever!”
Review of Scotch Hill Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Scotch Hill Inn
Ranked #13 of 26 Ogunquit B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Chesapeake, Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“My favorite B&B ever!”
Reviewed 15 July 2013

I traveled with two of my dear friends recently on a road trip to New England ,a trip planned to celebrate out 60th birthdays, and happened to find the Scotch Hill Inn, which was by far our favorite place of the entire trip! Innkeeper Anthony is an amazing cook, while his mother Rita did everything to make our stay as memorable as possible, including a chilled bottle to celebrate our birthdays, directions and recommendations to various places in the area. Breakfast was served on the front porch where you overlook the immaculate gardens, and other sitting areas including a fire pit and grill. The house was adorable, immaculate, and comfortably large. Parking is a breeze in the area behind the house. Breakfast choices consisted of eggs Florentine, blueberry pancakes, fresh fruit with homemade granola/yogurt, and a gourmet Italian frittata. Inside are assorted hot beverages, bottled water, homemade cookies (don't miss those!), umbrellas, beach chairs, and anything else you may need. The Inn is an easy walk to various restaurants, trolley stops, and the cutest little shops. The whole town of Ogunquit is friendly and hospitable. It happened to rain after we walked to the Ogunquit Lobster Pound, and because we did not have the umbrella, the restaurant owner drove us down the street back to our Inn. Later, we took the trolley tour to the end to see the town, then chose where we wanted to go back to visit. Everywhere we went, we encountered so many nice people...cannot wait to go back! Thank you Anthony and Rita for an amazing visit!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terri757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    236
    7
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
19
159
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 13 July 2013

I chose Scotch Hill Inn based on the high reviews here and the experience was even better than I expected. That's primarily due to the wonderful new owners, Mike, who is an amazing chef and makes you a full breakfast to order every morning, and his lovely mother, Rita, who wants every detail of your stay to be perfect. Hearing that it was my husband's birthday, they left an adorable bottle of prosecco in our fridge and two champagne classes. Another highlight for us was the beautiful porch with ceiling fans where we ate breakfast, and hung out on the wonderful rocking chairs in the evening. I would definitely come back.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GlennMG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2013

We only stayed 1 night on the way down the coast of Maine. We decided to stay in Ogunquit as the town got great reviews. This is a cute little town. Even though we had rain during our stay, we did a lot of walking around town. Anthony gave us an umbrella that we used while we walked to town (close to walk to but inn is in a quiet location). We walked the Marginal Walk along the coast, which was very nice. We really enjoyed staying at this bed and breakfast. The owner Anthony is fabulous! His inn is extremely neat and clean and the breakfasts were amazing. He is a wonderful cook! He gave us tips on where to eat (Old Village Inn-delicious and cheap!). We stayed in the Perkins Studio...very comfy bed and huge room! Very private too! We will definitely recommend this inn to all our friends and family.
PS: Hi Anthony!!! Also, Hi to Raymond and Denyse, other guests that we met at breakfast.

Room Tip: The Perkins studio was very large and private. Very clean too!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pattyann220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Longmeadow, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2013

We have just returned home after spending 4 Wonderful nights at The Scotch Hill Inn.The innkeeper Anthony was a great host who really knows his way around the kitchen!The breakfasts were truly wonderful(and filling) and our room was immaculate when ever we returned from our daily excursions.We were so pleased with the accommodations that we made reservations for a week-end this fall.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mansfield Center, Connecticut, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 June 2013

This house is amazing. The rooms are impeccable, the food fantastic, the owners are so sweet. The Scotch Hill Inn is within a one minute walking distance to shops and restaurants. You cannot go wrong if you stay here!

Room Tip: Ask for the room with the claw foot tub!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pugpink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 June 2013

Recently, we stayed at the Scotch Hill Inn. I could not have been more pleased. We have been back now twice.

The amenities: It's a beautiful inn, which comfy beds and amply space in each of the rooms we have stayed in. It's kept immaculately clean, which I greatly appreciated. Each day there is a fantastic breakfast, that you would easily pay $30 for in a restaurant. A lovely touch is that you enjoy your breakfast on a patio overlooking the town, weather permitting. The rooms all have a very homey, yet modern decor. One room we stayed in had a wonderful claw foot tub. The other had a huge shower. Each day, the owner serves breakfast, an afternoon snack and wine with an assortment of coffee and teas and cookies in the evening. All of this is a complimentary part of your stay. My husband and I felt that these little extras were a wonderful touch. Very upscale and enjoyable. I have to say, I wasn't surprised to hear the owner was a gourmet chef. The breakfast, snacks and even the homemade cookies reflected his skill.

The location: The inn is located within a very short walk to town, but not so close that the clubs keep you up at night. The beach is just a hop skip away too, No need to move your car and fight for a parking space, because you can walk or trolley everywhere. Really, we both felt it was ideal.

The atmosphere: if you are looking to stay close to the action but not so close that it's stumbling onto your front steps at 2 AM, the Scotch Hill Inn is for you. The owner, Anthony, takes great pains to make each guest feel comfortable and satisfied, right down to hypoallergenic pillows, upon request. The casual feel of the inn makes it seem like a retreat. A real home away from home vibe. There's a gas fireplace inside to enjoy a cup of tea on chillier evenings. There is a huge wrap around porch complete with rocking chairs for the warmer evenings and mornings. The owner keeps the grounds lush with flowers and lovely flowering bushes. It's quite lovely.

Tips: There are all different styles of rooms. Speak with the owner, if you have something in particular in mind. The website is a great resource too. Mid-week rates are a little lower than the weekend. So, if you have the availability to get away during the week, you'll be pleased with the rates. Price wise, it's very reasonable considering the location and everything included. Also, the owner, Anthony is a great resource for information, such as dining locations (a chef always knows the good spots), things to do in the area, places to shop, etc. Keep in mind this is a small inn, so they book up fast. So, call early if you are looking for a holiday weekend. Also, because this is a small inn, you won't have access to a gym or pool. My opinion, who needs a gym or pool when the beach is only a short walk away. Hello? Why else would you go to coastal Maine than to enjoy the beautiful beach.

This is a truly is a 5 star location, atmosphere and experience at a 3 star price tag. Happy Vacationing!

Room Tip: Keep in mind this is a small inn, so they book up fast. So, call early if you are looking for a hol...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heinzybear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2013 via mobile

My wife and I like to get away in the seasons. We stumbled upon a not so hidden gem in the heart of down town Ogunquit. Apparently a new owner took over as the place was decorated with more class than the website showed and everything had been freshly painted with much better brighter colors. I got talking to the inn keeper who turns out to be a class act chef. Me being a chef myself I do not give rave reviews on chefs but oh boy can this gentleman put together fresh food. He gives breakfast as part of the cost of the room rental. He does an exotic breakfast with fruit cup but if you are not feeling exotic he does some toned down things like blueberry pancakes with wild Maine maple syrup. I was feeling exotic and he presented my wife and myself with a fabulous fried egg, creamy polenta and roasted asparagus delight. The following day we had a roasted veg frittata. Amazing, fresh and wonderfully delicious. He also has coffee and tea with fresh baked items in the lobby 24 hrs. He provides glasses of wine and a late moon snack. Sometimes he does a drink of the day like frozen mango margaritas. YUM! The prices vary depending on the accommodations but I would venture to say that the cost goes from 80 to 150 per night off season then probably 120 to 220 per night in season. Feel free to chat it up with him as there is nothing about the town or surrounding towns that he can't provide you with info on. I won't stay anywhere else. The inn is a dream and the inn keeper is a class act. Love this place.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cambridgeologist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ogunquit hotels
0.4 mi away
Gorges Grant Hotel
Gorges Grant Hotel
#2 of 36 in Ogunquit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 535 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Anchorage By the Sea
0.1 mi away
Juniper Hill Inn
Juniper Hill Inn
#10 of 36 in Ogunquit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Colonial Inn
The Colonial Inn
#4 of 36 in Ogunquit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 624 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Black Boar Inn
The Black Boar Inn
#9 of 26 in Ogunquit
5.0 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
0.6 mi away
Meadowmere Resort
Meadowmere Resort
#5 of 36 in Ogunquit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 976 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scotch Hill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scotch Hill Inn

Property: Scotch Hill Inn
Address: 287 Main St, PO Box 1479, Ogunquit, ME 03907-3216
Region: United States > Maine > Ogunquit
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Ogunquit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Scotch Hill Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the Heart of Ogunquit, Maine stands the Scotch Hill Inn Bed and Breakfast. One of the oldest in Ogunquit, the hotel was established in 1908 by the original owners, the Perkins family. The Scotch Hill Inn offers unparalleled accommodations and amenities and is just a five minute walk from Maine's pristine beaches. The Scotch Hill inn is also just minutes away from Ogunquit's world famous Marginal Way and Perkins Cove. Shopping in Kittery, Maine and a variety of restaurants from fine dining to local cafes and pubs are nearby. We Serve a three course gourmet breakfast daily on our porch. Please come by and visit us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Scotch Hill Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scotch Hill Inn Ogunquit, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing