We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very clean, pleasant B&B”
Review of Scotch Hill Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Scotch Hill Inn
Ranked #12 of 26 Ogunquit B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Chevy Chase, MD
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very clean, pleasant B&B”
Reviewed 22 August 2005

The Scotch Hill Inn has a terrific new owner, Keith, who is very attentive to guests and provides excellent recommendations. He really knows how to help guests plan their days and make the most of a trip to Maine.

The inn is tastefully decorated and spotless. The hot, full breakfasts, served on the front porch, were a delight.

The rooms on the second floor are great, but third-floor rooms are cramped and have noisy room air-conditioners. (But Keith has good ideas for making those rooms nicer in coming years.)

Overall, staying at this Inn was a pleasure. Don't come expecting peace and quiet and ocean views -- it's right on the main street. So you see cars, not waves. But if you know that you are coming to a fun, busy town -- not a remote beach -- you can have a great time. I definitely would return.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank 660marilyng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    239
    7
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
19
160
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 17 August 2005

Our hosts at the Scotch Hill Inn made our visit to Ogunquit and our stay at the inn truly relaxing and memorable. They were friendly, always helpful, and thoughtful. We were welcomed by chilled champagne and strawberries in our room. They made 2 dinner reservations for us, one ahead of time for our anniversary dinner and one on our first evening there (this one was short notice, but we had reservations within an hour). Our room, #2, was clean, comfortable, and cozy (it's the green room pictured on their website). Our host's breakfast creations were absolutely delicious without being overdone. The Scotch Hill Inn has the right combination of charm, style, and grace. We can't wait to go back!

Helpful?
10 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 17 April 2005

Very nice, spotless B&B in Ogunquit center. Great front porch to sit and people watch or enjoy the great breakfast. Very hospitable Innkeeper.

  • Stayed April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westborough, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2004

We were very surprised with the Scotch Hill Inn. We booked at the last minute and had no idea of what a wonderful choice we had made. Our room and the main house were beautifully maintained with many unexpected bonuses-very large bathroom, tv and refrigerator in the room, gourmet breakfast and very convenient to the main area of Ogunquit to name a few. The host was exceptional, he aims to please. A tremendous place to stay while in Ogunquit!

Helpful?
6 Thank BHPgP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 16 August 2004

The Scotch Hill Inn was a wonderful experience. Our host Bob could not have been more gracious. The Inn is condusive to total relaxation & I'm looking forward to visiting next year. Our breakfasts were superb!!!! Everything was made fresh daily and OHHHH those CHOCOLATE CHIP COOKIES .......

The Inn is immaculate. The decor charming.

Thankyou Bob

Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 14 July 2004

A great place! Great location! Great food, too! I recommend to anyone. I have stayed there twice already.

Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2004

We recently stayed at a lovely B&B in Ogunquit. The Scotch Hill Inn is very beautiful! The rooms are modern, and very upscale. Our room had a huge bathroom with claw foot tub and a seperate shower.Breakfast was great. It started with a full continental selection, then a hot entree was also served. The gathering room was very comfortable. There is a beautiful desk with a computer and high speed internet access for guest use. Our room had a tv and mini frig. There were also nice amenities...very nice soaps and shampoos in our room and to "die for" gourmet chocolate dipped mint stick.The Scotch Hill Inn made our Ogunquit stay perfect.

  • Stayed May 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ogtinnkeeper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ogunquit hotels
0.4 mi away
Gorges Grant Hotel
Gorges Grant Hotel
#2 of 36 in Ogunquit
545 reviews
0.1 mi away
Juniper Hill Inn
Juniper Hill Inn
#14 of 36 in Ogunquit
473 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Anchorage By the Sea
The Anchorage By the Sea
#10 of 36 in Ogunquit
1,025 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Colonial Inn
The Colonial Inn
#5 of 36 in Ogunquit
674 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Black Boar Inn
The Black Boar Inn
#9 of 26 in Ogunquit
269 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Admiral's Inn
The Admiral's Inn
#4 of 36 in Ogunquit
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scotch Hill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scotch Hill Inn

Property: Scotch Hill Inn
Address: 287 Main St, PO Box 1479, Ogunquit, ME 03907-3216
Region: United States > Maine > Ogunquit
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Ogunquit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Scotch Hill Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the Heart of Ogunquit, Maine stands the Scotch Hill Inn Bed and Breakfast. One of the oldest in Ogunquit, the hotel was established in 1908 by the original owners, the Perkins family. The Scotch Hill Inn offers unparalleled accommodations and amenities and is just a five minute walk from Maine's pristine beaches. The Scotch Hill inn is also just minutes away from Ogunquit's world famous Marginal Way and Perkins Cove. Shopping in Kittery, Maine and a variety of restaurants from fine dining to local cafes and pubs are nearby. We Serve a three course gourmet breakfast daily on our porch. Please come by and visit us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Scotch Hill Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scotch Hill Inn Ogunquit, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing