We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had My Doubts at First”

Post Road Tavern & Rocky Coast Brewing
Price range: US$7 - US$24
Cuisines: American, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Post Road Tavern is a family restaurant providing high quality dinners at reasonable prices. We feature British selections mixed with American PRT Specialties. We have a full bar and nightly dinner specials. Check the web site for details.Rocky Coast Brewing is a beer brewing operation within the Post Road Tavern restaurant. It features hand crafted "pico" brews by our master brewer. His unique recipes and processes produce outstanding Ales. In this age of the micro brewed beer our Pico brewed Ales are head and shoulders above in terms of taste, smoothness and drinkability.
Reviewed 1 July 2014

After a long drive from Rhode Island, we parked our bags at the Ogunquit Resort Motel and walked over to the Post Road Tavern. 2 cars in the large driveway, looks like it’s someone’s home and I thought…uh oh, probably a dive. So how bad can 1 beer be, right? Well, what a wonderful surprise to walk into a large, clean, all new wood chairs/bar area. They brew their own beer and it’s GOOD beer. The chef makes delicious food. The bartender, Rebecca, was very knowledgeable in the beer, food and other local places to visit while in Ogunquit. And since it was a late Sunday night,that explained the empty parking lot. We bought a Post Road logoed pub glass and went back a few nights later for another craft beer.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank redroses123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (153)
There are newer reviews for Post Road Tavern & Rocky Coast Brewing
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 28 of 153 reviews

Reviewed 14 June 2014

My husband and I were looking for a different restaurant to try, we are in Ogunquit most weekends summer and fall. We have driven by this place so many times since it once was a Chinese food restaurant. Looked at the reviews on Trip Advisor and said let's give it a shot. I had the feta cheese,spinach, olive flat bread so good, my husband had the garden salad which would be consider a meal at any other restaurant and the Shepard's Pie which he said was outstanding. Can't wait to my next visit.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Lulumass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

we wanted to stop for a quick bite and cocktail. this was a little dive close by.
first , ill be fair, we did not try the beer so cannot review that. cocktails were ok, the food was bad..
we tried wings. these wings seemed to be boiled in water then had hot sauce thrown on them, I think I ate one and we threw the rest out. they were awful! the ribs were awful as well. they were overcooked, no flavor and just fatty, again, tossed those. my husband had fish and chips,, which he said was ok. , the best part of our supper was the waitress, who was friendly.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank yankeefan13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom O, Owner at Post Road Tavern & Rocky Coast Brewing, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to provide valuable feedback on our restaurant. As you can see from other reviews we are known for our great food and our great ales. We apologize if your meal wasn't to your liking.

Clearly your experience wasn't very good. We always ask our customers when we are at the restaurant about their experience. And if we are not there we ask and our servers if there were any customer concerns. We did not hear anything about your experience until reading this review.

We are very confident that if you return we can provide a meal that will meet your expectations. PRT/RCB is a family run business and we take great pride to ensure that everyone gets the best food, service and quality possible.

Our Ales are getting great reviews in our restaurant and in other locations that carry it. Please try one or two when you return and we are certain you will also enjoy them as many others have done.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Homemade Beer is good but not great, same with food which was inconsistent. They tried to charge me $21 for a meal that was $18 on the menu. . . in the end it was taken care of. But beware, watch your bill!

The staff was friendly and accommodating.

1  Thank Mr_Nice_Guy120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom O, Owner at Post Road Tavern & Rocky Coast Brewing, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time write a review of your past visit. We will review our computer and menu to ensure that they match so that guest bills are accurate. We had recently changed our menu for the spring/summer and we missed an item.

We work hard to craft beers that most people will enjoy. This is true for our freshly made menu items as well. As we continue to improve our menu items and beer offerings we hope that everyone coming to the PRT/RCB will find something that they really enjoy.

We are confident that when you return you will find great enjoyment with the food, the ales and the service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

This "Brew - Pub " does a marvelous job of combining two difficult things ; Niumber 1 is a strong consistent resturant that turns out great amazing food that's inventive , very imaginary , and delisous ; and Number 2 is being perhaps the BEST independent Brewery in the whole Southern Coast / or maybe more !Theirs Beer's and Ale's are truely remarkable . True craftmanship in the brew - house !
And the inside layout is such , that it's just as comfortable for a single , a couple , or a family ; they're made it that all might enjoy the love of their labors .
Great place [ Al Davis ]

2  Thank ANCD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom O, Owner at Post Road Tavern & Rocky Coast Brewing, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Thanks for taking the time to write such a nice review. Our staff work hard to make sure that everyone receives the best service and food/drink possible. Hope to see you back at the PRT/RCB in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Post Road Tavern & Rocky Coast Brewing also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing