We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“B&B with a special difference”
Review of Inn on Shore Road

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Inn on Shore Road
Ranked #14 of 26 Ogunquit B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 August 2013

My husband and I had a wonderful 3 night stay July 2013. We had stayed at the former many times and found that in spite of the wonderful location, the rooms were desperately in need of a makeover. We were thrilled to learn that the owners of the wonderful Cafe Prego next door took over the in. They have lovingly restored it to its original beauty let adding new, modern finishings to make the rooms comfortable and inviting. The new mattresses are amazing...the microfiber sheets (something new for me) were so soft they made my sheets at home feel like sandpaper. Tori, the innkeeper was always friendly, welcoming and took care of anything we requested. I asked for wine glasses..."white or red?" was Tori's reply. Just about bowled me over.
The included continental breakfast was a bit more than "continental"...quiche, homemade granola and oven warm muffins, fresh fruit, yogurt etc. and the coffee was perfect.
The location is right in town. We didn't move our car for 4 days. AND there are also some pet friendly rooms. Perfection!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Montrealaise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (154)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

121 - 127 of 154 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2013

My husband and I just returned from a great overnight stay at the Inn on Shore Road. From the moment we arrived, we felt at home. Tori's hospitality was amazing and everyone was so helpful. The Inn is truly located in the heart of the town - everything in walking distance.

We stayed in Room 5 - outstanding with its own private balcony and bathroom fit for a king. The breakfast was lovely and had everything you could possibly want - including fresh baked and warm blueberry muffins.

I can't wait to visit again! Thanks for a wonderful time!

Room Tip: Room 5 with a balcony was superb!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stacey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Hi,
My wife and I and our pet had the pleasure of staying in room 11 from Aug. 12th to the16th. Just wanted to share with you how truly happy we were with your accommodations. From the beautiful landscaping to the softness of the sheets and bath towels and how comfortable the bed was… everything was perfect. We loved your bathroom products and how cozy the room is. By the way your quiche was excellent as well!

There are not many pet friendly accommodations at Ogunquit so we were truly happy to have finally found a wonderful and affordable place to stay with our pet.

Besides the AC making a loud noise, which was a little annoying at night time we overall truly enjoyed our stay at the Inn on Shore Road. Everything is just steps away which was very convenient for us.

We cannot wait to go back to Ogunquit next summer and stay at your Inn!

Room Tip: Pet friendly rooms are on the back which is very convenient.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Josh A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

The Inn on shore rd is wonderful, everthing is spotless the sheets and bed clothes are soft and luxurious, continental breakfast is really good, and talk about be close to everthing. is a under statement . You are were its at. and to top it all off their restaurant 5' O Shore rd. Is the best.
Tori,,, the Innkeeper is so wonderful. makes you feel right at home she is genuine,,,,,,,,,,,,,,

Room Tip: Try for ROOM 4 or 6
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RudyJoan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

We stayed at the Inn on Shore Road for 1 night in August. The innkeeper, Tori, is (like the previous reviews detail) a wonderful host. The inn itself drops you right in the middle of the action in Ogunquit with a reasonably short walk to the beach. The rooms are nice - no frills- but definitely well-kept and comfortable. We also had a chance to meet one of the owners who was a very friendly guy who actually offered to "house" our dog (the inn offers 3 "pet friendly" rooms in the back of the building) in one of the neighboring restaurant's offices (which they own or operate) while we enjoyed a beach day - we turned him down but it was a nice gesture.

Overall - the price is right, the place is clean and comfortable and the staff is spot on.

*Additional note - we dined at Five-O Shore Road (which is owned by the same person/people who operate the inn) and it was an excellent Italian meal (and this is coming from a Brooklyn-ite!). Get the Agnolotti - you will not regret it!

Room Tip: They offer 3 "pet-friendly" rooms at the back of the inn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 59kevin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Had a great time at the Inn this w/e. Tori is gracious and kind and thoughtful. When she realized I was a vegetarian (I didn't mention it as there was enough for me for breakfast) she offered to change out the menu for future days. The location is central and we walked or biked everywhere. The room was comfortable and quaint. The gelato certificate was a really nice touch and brunch at Five 0 was delicious on Sunday. The only down side was the 10 month old crying in the lobby at 6:10AM. Can't blame the inn for that though. It is a great place to stay in Ogunquit and I hope to return this summer.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chlaclair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

The Inn was like being at home, with friends.The entire staff was always accomidating and Tori, the hostess, exceeded every need our group had...from food and coffee to meeting supplies. I actually stayed at another hotel that had a continental breakfast (turned to be not so good) as well. After the first morning, I ate with my colleagues at The Inn for a contiental breakfast that was fantastic! The location is great, but the real prize is the team on staff.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michael p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ogunquit hotels
0.3 mi away
The Colonial Inn
The Colonial Inn
#7 of 36 in Ogunquit
718 reviews
0.4 mi away
Meadowmere Resort
Meadowmere Resort
#8 of 36 in Ogunquit
1,055 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Trellis House
The Trellis House
#1 of 26 in Ogunquit
540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Black Boar Inn
The Black Boar Inn
#10 of 26 in Ogunquit
285 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hartwell House Inn
Hartwell House Inn
#5 of 26 in Ogunquit
426 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Admiral's Inn
The Admiral's Inn
#9 of 36 in Ogunquit
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn on Shore Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn on Shore Road

Address: 38 Shore Rd, Ogunquit, ME 03907-3701 (Formerly West Highland Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Ogunquit
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Ogunquit
Price Range: £148 - £266 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn on Shore Road has been totally renovated & is accepting reservations! Each day at the Inn begins with a complimentary continental breakfast buffet in the Venetian Room & Sunday Brunch is served at neighboring Five-O Restaurant where guests are treated to select items from Chef James Walter's Brunch Menu. The Inn's within walking distance to Ogunquit Beach & other notable destinations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Inn on Shore Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Highland Hotel Ogunquit
Inn On Shore Road Ogunquit, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing