We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Can't beat the location but please update the rooms!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ogunquit
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Aspinquid at Norseman Resort
Ranked #25 of 36 Hotels in Ogunquit
Certificate of Excellence
Voorheesville, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Can't beat the location but please update the rooms!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2012

This hotel is a hidden gem in the small village of Ogunquit. Fantastic views (especially of the river and dunes that stretch toward Wells) and hospitable front desk service from a lovely young woman named Wendy. By all means ask for this sweet girl if you book here! She will do her best to get you the room you want and point you in all the right directions. We met Bev during our stay too and this woman is extremely nice and will go out of her way to help you out. These two woman make the resort what it is.
What the resort isn't, is updated. We know that it was purchased last year and although some improvements have been made to the grounds (BEAUTIFUL flower boxes and impeccable landscaping), the rooms need some TLC. The hotel is closed for half the year and if they just did one building a year in renovations they could cash in on what is undeniably the BEST location in town as it is situated only steps from the quaint downtown shops and restuarants and still commands beautiful river and ocean views and is several hundred feet from the ocean. Owners take note - we want to come back year after year! Please remodel! And don't let Wendy or Bev go - they make the hotel exceptional!

Room Tip: River views are gorgeous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank liza h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    106
    45
    29
    20
    13
See reviews for
86
71
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mashpee, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2012

A little pricey for the dated condition of the place. The guy at the front desk, I think his name was Michael, was a major grump; other guests said the same thing. The furniture on the patio is cute to look at but is old and uncomfortable. Pool is tiny. If you smoke, don't go here...it is not allowed on the property. I assume it is the same with the 2 sister locations. It is in a great location; once we parked in the lot we never used the car again. Overall, however, I would not recommend it and would not return.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sue J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatham, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2012

our family goes every summer for a long weekend and have found the new owners to have made positive changes: cleaner, brighter, newer furniture. they have kept up the nice flowers and have improved the maintenance. I especially want to say that Wendy, the weekend desk person, was especially friendly, helpful, and pleasant; the best desk clerk in the dozen or more years since I've been staying here. the location near the beach and town is excellent; ogunquit beach is just awesome and the close location of the hotel to the beach is great!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank davidandjan112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2012

My hubby and I stayed here one night in their property across the street, which is an old house that they are redoing. The room was spotless and modern. However, the bed is very low to the ground and we both found it a bit hard. The bathroom was large and the air conditioner worked great. There are no hangers in the closet. There is a lot of parking in the lot beside the house and when we arrived early, we were given a parking pass so we could leave our car and walk to the beach. The room rate of $150 was very reasonable. Also, when you check out and need to use a bathroom later, you can use one in the main building--very handy. Hi to Beverly and Michael, both at the front desk, who were very pleasant

Room Tip: Stay on the second floor in the renovated house and walk down the hall to an small balcony with a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Shorthand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorchester, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
87 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2012

This was our fist time staying at the Aspinquid in Ogunquit ME.
We have stayed in the past at 2 of their sister properties.
Michael made it very easy to make a last minute reservation over the phone.
We arrive he checked us in with a smile and very attentive. We walked across the street to a smaller building.
The room was very clean, bright with modern furniture. Just a short walk to the beach and the hotel pool, what more could you ask. I have work in the past as a manager and director to several hotels in Boston; including a 5 Star property. I’m very impressed.
If you are looking for a simple, clean and convenient place to stay in Ogunquit, this is the place, great value as well.

Room Tip: Try any of the local restaurants!! Great food!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Guillermo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2012

The Aspinquid commands one of the best locations in Ogunquit. Its a short walk to the beach or to the village. The rooms are carefully situated so that you have a great deal of privacy and usually a nice view of the river or oceanfront from your balcony. It is solidly constructed and the floors are well carpeted. That means its quiet, and that is something that can be hard to come by at some of the other places in town. The mechanical (HVAC and plumbing) have always been in good order on our visits. There is a small kitchenette which is nice if you are planning to picnic. The rooms are a bit underdecorated and the small old style portable television will tell you that you are at a seasonal resort in Maine and at not the Ritz. However, the housekeeping is as good as you will find anyplace. The rooms are spotless and they give you plenty of towels. The folks at the front desk have always been courteous. They let me compare rooms before checking in and that was a nice courtesy. Maine prices can be a little steep in season but, overall, the Aspinquid seems to deliver fair value for the money. As I said, you cant go wrong.
I

Room Tip: Ask to look at your options before you check in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YankeeExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada, Kentucky
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2012

The Aspinquid in nicely located, but could use some updates to the rooms. Wendy took our reservation and took the time to explain the different types of rooms. She was very pleasant to deal with! Also, Beverly, who checked us in, was such a nice lady as well! The only fly in the ointment we had was when I asked a man at the desk where the ice machine was. He sighed loudly and seemed irritated when he had to get up and point out where it was. Come on, helping us customers out is part of the deal...but except for mr. crabby at the front desk, all was perfect with our stay!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank charles b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ogunquit hotels
0.4 mi away
The Colonial Inn
The Colonial Inn
#5 of 36 in Ogunquit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 604 reviews
0.1 mi away
Terrace by the Sea
Terrace by the Sea
#21 of 36 in Ogunquit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pink Blossoms Resort (Family Suites)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#8 of 36 in Ogunquit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
0.1 mi away
Abalonia Inn
Abalonia Inn
#18 of 36 in Ogunquit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
0.1 mi away
Marginal Way House
Marginal Way House
#22 of 36 in Ogunquit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aspinquid at Norseman Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aspinquid at Norseman Resort

Property: Aspinquid at Norseman Resort
Address: 57 Beach Street, P.O. Box 896, Ogunquit, ME 03907
Region: United States > Maine > Ogunquit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Ogunquit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Aspinquid Hotel conveniently located on Beach street is within walking distance to restaurants, art galleries, movies, clubs and the beach. The hotel amenities include an outdoor swimming pool, tennis court and koi pond. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Aspinquid At Norseman Hotel Ogunquit
Aspinquid Hotel Ogunquit
Aspinquid At Norseman Resort Ogunquit, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing