We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“PERFECTION!!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Aspinquid at Norseman Resort
Ranked #16 of 36 Hotels in Ogunquit
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 July 2013

we went on their on line booking and got a last minute room for july 4th....room was clean...balconyhad beautiful view of the river and it overlooked the pool....beverly and wendy at the desk coulddn't have been nicer,,,,,location couldn't have been better...walked to town...walked to beach....and the hotel was the best spot to watch fireworks...we will definitely be back!!!!!!!

Room Tip: make sure you have a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (326)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

262 - 268 of 326 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2013

Been there B 4 & will go again. Why: everything was wonderful. We took our friends on this trip & they could not stop talking about how great the people that serviced us were at the Aspinquid. The rooms were spectacular, the views were wonderful, the pool was warm & very clean. Everything that a person expected was even better. Being in the center of everything: like walk to the beach- 100 yards, walk to many stores 100 yards, walk to a restaurant or bar, walk the Marginal Way- a great walk, & parking ( U R there, park and go) sometimes parking can cost up to $15 a day in the area. The manager David and the desk person Beverly are most willing to help with all your requests. Landscaping & flowers are beautiful.

Room Tip: Make a reservation early, suites are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KenG01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2012

Friends and I stayed at the Aspinquid this past August. Being from New Hampshire, I have been to Ogunquit many times and have stayed at this place before, but many years ago. Here is the problem,,, I think the same stuff, including the sheets, where the same I used and saw in the room from all those years ago. As I recall, this WAS a family owned and operated property, the mother was such a sweet lady. I have heard that some rich guy has bought up this and many hotels in the Ogunquit and Wells area, caring nothing of preserving the beautiful properties he has purchased. He is known for letting them go so downhill, and not updating them at all. What a shame! Guess when you buy the properties for the location and don't care about keeping them nice and updated, you must only care about ripping people off. You should be ashamed of yourself, Cindy D.

Room Tip: Try the meadowmere, much nicer
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank CindyEatsOut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerNorseman, Manager at Aspinquid at Norseman Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2012

Thank you for staying with us. I am sorry that your stay was disappointing. The Norseman purchased the Aspinquid in 2011 from a family who had owned the property for several years. We have been making many improvements over the past year and will continue to make improvements to the property to make it better each year. As we continue to improve the hotel, our guests can depend on outstanding hospitality in conjunction with clean and well maintained accommodations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2012

I read the reviews before booking so I was prepared for a good location, but dated room. The location us great, (there are other hotels situated as close to the beach by the way), but the room was horrific. I can deal with dated, but can not deal with dirty and lack of attention to any repairs. We stayed in the loft style rooms, the bathroom was disgusting, the shower facet was rusting and broken, we were able to patch it together, there was a crack in the door, peeling paint and the tub had not been cleaned, there was a dirty ring right around it. The mattresses were stained and dirty and looked like they should be put out to the dump. The carpet was filthy, it was stained and sticky. The blinds on the door to the balcony did not close and fell apart went we tried to shut them. We fixed them, but basically they do not function. Our deck had a piece of unfinished ply-wood for the surface, it was not pleasant to sit on the balcony. You get the picture. Instead doing basic repairs on the rooms they are very proud of their new fitness center. Seems like some basic repairs should be the priority. It is too bad, because it could be a fabulous hotel, it has great views, the room was spacious and good lay out for families, but you would not want any kids crawling around. Also the thermostat was not functioning which made for cold fall mornings. Maybe we had the worst room on the premises, but until they do some up-keep I would stay far away from this hotel. Must give credit to the night receptionist who was very professional, friendly and helpful, however, she has no control over the sad state of the rooms.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Very-Cold-In-Mtl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerNorseman, Manager at Aspinquid at Norseman Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2012

Thank you for staying at the with us. I am sorry that your stay was disappointing based on your review. We strive to provide clean and well maintained accommodations and any issue that may have existed in your room would have been addressed immediately if brought to our attention. We have made many improvements since purchasing the property in 2011 and will continue to improve every year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2012

We have been traveling to Ogunquit for MANY years. We wer suprised to find this hotel had been bought by the Norseman after being family run for so many years but the new owners have added a bright spot to this great hotel - Wendy at the front desk! She is charming, pleasant and clearly enjoys her job! There are other reviews on this site that say she is the best desk clerk in many years and we wholeheartedly agree! The flowers and landscaping are wonderful! The pool is clean and the views are fantastic. You cannot go wrong staying here.
The location is steps to town and just a few hundred feet from the beach. Make sure you book early for an ocean view room!

Room Tip: Brand new gym with brand new equipment on site!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank arlene r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2012

This hotel is a hidden gem in the small village of Ogunquit. Fantastic views (especially of the river and dunes that stretch toward Wells) and hospitable front desk service from a lovely young woman named Wendy. By all means ask for this sweet girl if you book here! She will do her best to get you the room you want and point you in all the right directions. We met Bev during our stay too and this woman is extremely nice and will go out of her way to help you out. These two woman make the resort what it is.
What the resort isn't, is updated. We know that it was purchased last year and although some improvements have been made to the grounds (BEAUTIFUL flower boxes and impeccable landscaping), the rooms need some TLC. The hotel is closed for half the year and if they just did one building a year in renovations they could cash in on what is undeniably the BEST location in town as it is situated only steps from the quaint downtown shops and restuarants and still commands beautiful river and ocean views and is several hundred feet from the ocean. Owners take note - we want to come back year after year! Please remodel! And don't let Wendy or Bev go - they make the hotel exceptional!

Room Tip: River views are gorgeous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank liza h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2012

A little pricey for the dated condition of the place. The guy at the front desk, I think his name was Michael, was a major grump; other guests said the same thing. The furniture on the patio is cute to look at but is old and uncomfortable. Pool is tiny. If you smoke, don't go here...it is not allowed on the property. I assume it is the same with the 2 sister locations. It is in a great location; once we parked in the lot we never used the car again. Overall, however, I would not recommend it and would not return.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sue J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ogunquit hotels
0.3 mi away
The Anchorage By the Sea
The Anchorage By the Sea
#11 of 36 in Ogunquit
1,069 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sea Rose Suites
Sea Rose Suites
#2 of 36 in Ogunquit
367 reviews
0.1 mi away
Terrace by the Sea
Terrace by the Sea
#26 of 36 in Ogunquit
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Norseman Resort
Norseman Resort
#12 of 36 in Ogunquit
383 reviews
0.5 mi away
Gorges Grant Hotel
Gorges Grant Hotel
#3 of 36 in Ogunquit
603 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Colonial Inn
The Colonial Inn
#8 of 36 in Ogunquit
720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aspinquid at Norseman Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aspinquid at Norseman Resort

Address: 57 Beach Street, P.O. Box 896, Ogunquit, ME 03907
Region: United States > Maine > Ogunquit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Ogunquit
Price Range: £106 - £252 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Aspinquid Hotel conveniently located on Beach street is within walking distance to restaurants, art galleries, movies, clubs and the beach. The hotel amenities include an outdoor swimming pool, tennis court and koi pond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Aspinquid at Norseman Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aspinquid At Norseman Hotel Ogunquit
Aspinquid Hotel Ogunquit
Aspinquid At Norseman Resort Ogunquit, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing