We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than ever!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Aspinquid at Norseman Resort
Ranked #26 of 36 Hotels in Ogunquit
Certificate of Excellence
Marshfield, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Better than ever!”
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Second time staying, first time reviewing! Thanks to the handwritten thank you note on our receipt, we are writing to tell the world about our fantastic stay at the Aspinquid. We'll, actually, not the whole world, because we want to be able to get a reservation when we come in the fall!
We first stayed here three summers ago and there is vast improvement between now and them. The grumpy older man at the desk has been replaced with a front desk staff that is like no other we have encountered in our travels! They are pleasant, helpful, and if the had a red carpet, they would roll it out over the front steps for you! Second, they have renovated rooms. Yes, renovations, which they are proud to show you. New paint, carpet, beds, bedding, kitchenettes, everything in the Main Building, which shows this property's initiative and growth toward the future.
It is already cemented in a fabulous location, away from the congestion of the beach, yet only several hundred feet away in either direction to dozens of dining options.
The landscaping has been improved and the motel building was being worked on while we were there. Plans to improve the gardens are also in the works by the looks of things.
To wrap it up, stay in a Beach St renovated room, meet the nice women at the front desk and kick back and relax. Best spot in Maine!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Beachnut1242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    114
    48
    29
    20
    13
See reviews for
89
77
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, Connecticut
Level Contributor
170 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Our first time to visit Maine in the Fall. The Aspinquid is such a great location for staying in Ogunquit and the costal area, Wells, York, Kittery, and Kennybunkport. A few minute walk to the beach or downtown. Food, drinks, shopping, beach and more is a short walk. The rooms a good size & Bev at the front desk is a dream to ask any question and her knowledge is great of the area. Best area to stay and a great staff serving you. I'll be Back.

Room Tip: Call ahead for best Ocean view. All rooms do have an ocean view but a few are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KenG01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
129 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

If you go for the beach, it is an A+ ,and I am sure that you pick-up this Hotel for its situation.
Yes it is a bit tired on the Deco- side but if you select the studios on the river side , you are all set to to everytjhing you need to do en Ogunquit; you are 2 ssteps away from the best bakery and coffee place; they could prepare your lunch , so at night you can explore the marginal way;
it is also clean and reception is very accomadating. ENJOY

Room Tip: avoid the rooms on the street side; noise from cars and walkers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CLAUDEMontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

This is the 2nd time that I have stayed at the Aspinquid. Although the rooms need to be updated, i.e. flat screen Tv, etc....the ladies at the front desk @ the Aspinquid are all great. They were friendly, courteous and extremely accommodating when we needed an extra parking space for the weekend. I have stayed at many different places in Ogunquit....but the service alone is a great reason to come back to the Aspinquid.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jfk20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
147 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

We have stayed in the Aspinquid for 20+ years. The location is spectacular. However the hotel has taken a major turn for the worse since it was acquired by the current corporate owners. While the hotel has made some improvements such as the new exercise room, the hotel rooms are essentially unchanged in 20 years. The hotel uses young and inexperienced staff to clean (not well) the rooms. The hallway entrances have become cluttered w beach equipment which is deposited by guests at night. The hotel has allowed the beautiful pond where Mrs. Andrews kept her goldfish to dry up. Apparently the new owners are more interested in the bottom line than running a class resort hotel. After 20+ years, we will sadly look for a different hotel next summer. We first came to the Aspinquid when our three kids were little. We hope that the new owners will take the time to read this. It is ashame how such a wonderful hotel in such a beautiful setting has been ruined.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Sandy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerNorseman, Manager at Aspinquid at Norseman Resort, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
Thank you for staying with us and sharing your opinion on tripadvisor. We are sorry that you are a frustrated return guest. We have spent thousands of dollars on deferred maintenance issues since our purchase in 2011. Contrary to your understanding, we are a family owned hotel company with over 30 years experience in the hospitality industry. In addition to the fitness room which you have mentioned, we renovated 12 guest rooms this past year in the Main Building. The property definitely needs work but we are committed to making the Aspinquid better each year. Also, the pond developed a tear in the liner which is why it is not currently operating - it will be repaired. If there was a particular issue with our housekeeping staff, we do hope that the matter was brought to our attention for immediate corrective action. We are sorry if guests left their personal beach belongings in the corridor and we hope that you notified us if there were any particular safety issues involved. Thank you again for your business and review. We are here to help you enjoy your vacation and if you choose to visit us again - we hope that you allow our staff to assist you in doing just that.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Beautiful grounds and exterior, nice staff, great balconies and unbeatable location, right at the beach. However, the rooms are not up to par with other comparable places in Ogunquit (and I've stayed in almost all of them). The stairwell of our building smelled moldy. Although clean and supposedly updated, the rooms should be a lot more luxurious for the price. The sink and counter were ridiculous, I have never, ever seen anything like that in Ogunquit. It would be so simple to get the rooms where they need to be and not that expensive: pictures on the walls, dining chairs that are not from 1980 and with holes in the caning, decent bedding, matching curtains, tasteful paint colors (how about beige walls with WHITE trim instead of flesh colored trim?). If these basic steps were taken the owners could charge even more for the rooms. Despite the proximity to the beach, I would be very reluctant to stay here again. What a shame.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NYTOMTL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lenox, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 August 2013

To all the skeptics, the Aspinquid may not look fabulous when strolling down Beach St towards the Main Beach, but once you give it a shot, you find it is the little engine that could. Led by the fantastically sweet Beverly and Wendy at the front desk reception, right of the bat they have an excellent customer service team here with these two gals. We were a walk in and given immediate and prompt attention and given a couple of options for accomadations ranging from a standard efficiency to a more roomy apartment. We chose a standard efficiency and were checked in in mere minutes. The rooms are not fancy but simple clean and comfortable. Each has a deck of its own and it was enjoyable to enjoy the views of the ocean from it.
The property consists of three buildings of hotel rooms, a garden area, fenced in in ground pool, new exercise room, tennis court and what is undeniably the best location in town. It is perfectly situated in the middle of downtown and the beach. The trolley is convienient to take to Perkins Cove.
We must say that the Aspinquid has all it's bases covered. The gals at the front desk are delighted you are there and although at both our check in and check out were at busy times, we received service with a smile from Wendy and Beverly and promised them we would come back. This hotel is soon to lose it's little engine that could status and move into locomotive territory! It deserves a great review!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mamajean15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ogunquit hotels
0.1 mi away
Terrace by the Sea
Terrace by the Sea
#23 of 36 in Ogunquit
286 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pink Blossoms Resort (Family Suites)
0.4 mi away
The Colonial Inn
The Colonial Inn
#5 of 36 in Ogunquit
633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Anchorage By the Sea
The Anchorage By the Sea
#11 of 36 in Ogunquit
1,018 reviews
0.1 mi away
Abalonia Inn
Abalonia Inn
#19 of 36 in Ogunquit
236 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sea Chambers Motel
Sea Chambers Motel
#21 of 36 in Ogunquit
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aspinquid at Norseman Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aspinquid at Norseman Resort

Property: Aspinquid at Norseman Resort
Address: 57 Beach Street, P.O. Box 896, Ogunquit, ME 03907
Region: United States > Maine > Ogunquit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Ogunquit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Aspinquid Hotel conveniently located on Beach street is within walking distance to restaurants, art galleries, movies, clubs and the beach. The hotel amenities include an outdoor swimming pool, tennis court and koi pond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Aspinquid at Norseman Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aspinquid At Norseman Hotel Ogunquit
Aspinquid Hotel Ogunquit
Aspinquid At Norseman Resort Ogunquit, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing