We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location, great service, overall perfect Maine experience.”
Review of Riverside Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ogunquit
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Riverside Motel
Ranked #4 of 36 Hotels in Ogunquit
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 October 2011

Geoff and his staff bend over backwards to accomodate their guests. We liked it so much we extended our stay by two days! The location was perfect with fantastic views and an easy stroll to shops and restsutants and the Marginal Way. We couldn't ask for cleaner rooms or friendlier people. We hope to come back again...had a great time in Maine.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jvangets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geoff S, Owner at Riverside Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2011

Thank you jvangets for reviewing us for the T A folks.
Our staff loves when people mention how clean the property is. We hope you find some time to come back again!!
Thank you,
Geoff and staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (633)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

492 - 498 of 633 reviews

Reviewed 28 October 2011

My wife and I had a wonderful time at the Riverside Motel this past weekend (Oct.21-23). Geoff and his staff are most accommodating. We try to get to Ogunquit at least twice a year! We already made reservations for June 2012. Book early...the Riverside Motel is very popular.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank elks38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geoff S, Owner at Riverside Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2011

Thank you elks38 for taking the time to review us again.
Sorry, but, I just realized I missed responding to your review in October when you wrote it up.
The main reason the Riverside is such a special place to visit is the considerate people that stay with us, like you.
Can't wait 'til 2012.
Stay warm, 'til then,
Geoff and staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2011

The view from all rooms is just breathtaking. Being harborside, along with all the lobster boats at rest, there is no better place in Ogunquit to spend time away from home. The grounds are kept to the highest standard, and the rooms are cleaned daily and left spotless. The included breakfast in the morning is a nice touch. Coffee, donuts, muffins, cold cereal, yogurt, orange juice and milk seem to be the norm. Easy access to shop or walk the marginal way at Perkins Cove was simple as walking over the Harbor draw bridge which was a stones throw away from the motel.
We hated to leave, as we could of sat outside for hours just glaring at the Harbor and all its activities.

Room Tip: We stayed on the ground floor level. There are rooms above, but did not have the opportunity to view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tleab1340
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gscimone, Owner at Riverside Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2011

Thank you Tleab1340 for giving the Riverside your highest review.
Our staff loves it when so many people use the "Spotless" adjective!!
We are thrilled that you found us and then took the time to share with the T A community.
The upper (balcony) rooms are slightly larger, with a higher view, (ocean view beyond the harbor).
But, upper level, or lower level, many of our first-time visitors are pleasantly surprised by how relaxing it is watching the boats gently bobbing in the harbor. Almost hypnotic. About two minutes after arrival on the balcony chairs, or lawn chairs, many first-time visitors learn that this will be their "Oasis from the stressful world".
We look forward to your next visit!
Thank you very much,
Geoff and staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2011

I want you, dear reader, to know that all of our combined reviews are NOT by mistake...the Riverside Motel is in fact beautiful, quiet, clean, and full of the charm that the classic motels from bygone eras used to hold for its visitors.

The staff is AMAZING and they are so pleased to ensure that your stay is comfortable and relaxing. Geoff and his wife are excellent innkeepers that know the meaning of their craft and maintain their high standards throughout the property.

Finally I mention Perkins Cove! What a wonderful slice of Maine coast and entryway to the Marginal walkway...breathtaking!

Room Tip: I am convinced there are no bad rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Derek M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gscimone, Owner at Riverside Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2011

Thank you TheGDMurphys for sharing your experience with the T A folks,
A special BIG thank you from our staff, who love getting noticed!
See you soon,
Thank you!
Nancy and Geoff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2011

We arrived to a clean, fresh room with a magnificent view of the water! We enjoyed sitting on the chairs & lounges as we watched the boats go by. The only thing we would change is to stay longer!

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mari P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gscimone, Owner at Riverside Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2011

Thank you gypsymari for sharing your experience with the T A folks,
We hope you get another chance to visit the East Coast! Safe journey back to the West,
Thank you,
Geoff and staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2011

My wife and I stayed here for Columbus Weekend and it could not have been better. Significant upgrades to the windows, floors and soundproofing make it better than ever. Not the Ultra Yuppie resort, just perfect location,friendly staff, a million dollar view and relaxing chairs on the lawn to enjoy life. It just doesn't get any better than this!!!!

Room Tip: Rooms on the lower level allow you to enjoy the lawn and the incomprehensible view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shoefro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gscimone, Owner at Riverside Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2011

Thank you Shoefro for sharing your trip with T A.
Thank you for your kind comments, we are glad you enjoyed another stay.
Geoff and staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2011

I loved the fact that I could step out my door and be right on the lawn on Perkins Cove. On the plus side, a nice continental breakfast was included, room size was good, but the bathroom was quite small , decor a little dated, having said that, the staff was very nice, room very clean, and the whole atmosphere very peaceful. You could walk over the bridge to Perkins Cove, and to the Marginal Way.......... I sat in the morning watching the lobster boats go out and then in the afternoon watching them come back in and unload the boats, it was such a nice experience.........would definitely come back and stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NYAnnie13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gscimone, Owner at Riverside Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2011

Thank you NYAnnie13 for sharing your experience with the T A folks.
Our staff loves when people mention how clean our property is.
The bathrooms in our 1874 building are bigger and brighter than those in our lawn-level rooms. And from the 1874 deck you can view the ocean as well as the cove and the Perkins Cove Footbridge.
We look forward to your next visit!
Thank you,
Geoff and staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ogunquit hotels
0.7 mi away
The Anchorage By the Sea
The Anchorage By the Sea
#13 of 36 in Ogunquit
1,055 reviews
1.5 mi away
Gorges Grant Hotel
Gorges Grant Hotel
#6 of 36 in Ogunquit
596 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Colonial Inn
The Colonial Inn
#7 of 36 in Ogunquit
718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sea Rose Suites
Sea Rose Suites
#1 of 36 in Ogunquit
365 reviews
0.7 mi away
Meadowmere Resort
Meadowmere Resort
#8 of 36 in Ogunquit
1,053 reviews
0.9 mi away
Marginal Way House
Marginal Way House
#5 of 36 in Ogunquit
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverside Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Motel

Address: 50 Riverside Lane, Ogunquit, ME 03907
Region: United States > Maine > Ogunquit
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ogunquit
#2 Family Hotel in Ogunquit
Price Range: £68 - £189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only nightly lodging on Perkins Cove, overlooking the ocean. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Riverside Hotel Ogunquit
Riverside Motel Ogunquit, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing