We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First time at Riverside...Will return!”
Review of Riverside Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ogunquit
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Riverside Motel
Ranked #6 of 36 Hotels in Ogunquit
Certificate of Excellence
Gansevoort, New York
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“First time at Riverside...Will return!”
Reviewed 7 October 2012

My Husband and I, and Our son and his Fiance stayed in the room next to ours Sept. 11th - Sept. 18, 2012. While the rooms were a bit smaller than we are used to, this motel was spotless, with very helpful and friendly staff. The view from our deck was beautiful with the sun rising each morning before our eyes, shining on the beautiful harbor viewed right from our deck. The Continental breakfast was well stocked and opened promptly at 7am each morning. I did miss having a coffee pot in our room as I am an early riser, though decided to take pics of the sunrise instead, a nice variation from my routine. The rooms are just right for couples only, thus it is beautifully quiet, while being a stones throw from the busyiness of Perkins Cove, which you can view from your deck. I did have to buy myself some longer, softer pillows, as we had a King bed and the pillows were single sized in length, and not soft enough for my tender head. I just loved staying here, would highly recommend it for couples and definitely will return. Do wish I got to meet Geoff, who was so very helpful throughout this past Winter as we planned and booked our rooms, as I would have like to thank him personally.

Room Tip: If you don't want stairs and you want to drive right up to your room, be sure to pick Balcony ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rita778
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geoff S, Owner at Riverside Motel, responded to this review, 11 October 2012
Thank you Rita778 for sharing your visit with T/A,
Our entire staff appreciates your kind comments. They love to hear the word "spotless" so often. That is our number one goal; Clean.
Thank you also for helping to clarify to the readers one of the most counter-intuitive facts about the Riverside. There are no stairways necessary to reach the "balcony" level (top level), as it is actually at "street level". The "lawn level" (lower level) rooms do require the use of stairs (as do the rooms in the 1874 building). People who want to avoid the stairs should try to reserve the Balcony (upper) level.
Thank you also for the best collection of pictures that we have been given in quite some time!

Sorry that we didn't meet personally, hope we do the next time.
Wishing you all a warm winter!
Geoff and staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

595 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    475
    90
    21
    3
    6
See reviews for
106
393
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (262)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
123 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2012

Our last night in Maine was at the Riverside and it was a perfect place to wind down and relax before the long drive home. Our room had been updated with laminate wood flooring which made the room appear larger. The back door leads you to a deck where you can sit, relax and enjoy the views. This motel is extremely quiet and clean. The shops, restaurants, trolley stop, and Marginal Way are a short walk away.I would not recommend bringing small children because there is no pool and activities for them not to mention the proximity of the water.

Room Tip: Balcony rooms has great views and no steps.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Virginiagirl_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geoff S, Owner at Riverside Motel, responded to this review, 1 October 2012
Thank you Virginiagirl_12 for reviewing us for Trip Advisor.
We are very glad you enjoyed our "oasis from the stressful world".
Best wishes,
Geoff and staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westwood, New Jersey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2012

We stayed at the Riverside Motel for 2 nights before venturing up to Acadia National Park in Bar Harbor. This place is a hidden gem, tucked away, but oh so close to Perkins Cove. You literally have to step outside your door and it is right in front of your eyes. The rooms are nice, clean and more than one needs to stay in such a beautiful vacation spot. The views from the balcony are spectacular and it was so nice just to be able to sit outside to have alittle wine & cheese before heading out for dinner. We ate lobster of course any chance we could. We ventured into Perkins Cove for dinner the first night and ate at the Drawbridge Lobster Pound. YUM! We both had the Lobster rolls, corn on the cob and cole slaw, they were delish! Both mornings we ventured over to the Cove Cafe for breakfast, Wonderful, 2 thumbs up! The second evening we went to Five O Shore Restaurant for a very comfortable and decadent dinner. The place was very busy and our entrees were, as expected, very good. Thanks Trip Advisor for helping once more to make out getaway great!

Room Tip: ask for the upper tier rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank rockinrah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geoff S, Owner at Riverside Motel, responded to this review, 17 September 2012
Thank you rockinrah for reviewing us for Trip Advisor.
Our entire staff appreciates you taking your time to mention how clean our property is.
Best wishes and happy travels,
Geoff and staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oviedo, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2012

This was one of the most relaxing vacations we have had at a resort location. It is very quiet and restful.Great accomodations. A very nice continental breakfast and a friendly staff. Located right on Perkins Cove and an easy walk over the unique drawbridge, you are at the heart of good food, interesting site and great exercise walking along Marginal Way.
There are no pets and no pool and therefore few, if any chilldren. Relaxing and quiet. It really is best suited for adult singles or couples.
Try it you'll love it.

Room Tip: Location of every room is great. All have a view of the Cove.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carl H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geoff S, Owner at Riverside Motel, responded to this review, 11 September 2012
Thank you Carl H for sharing your experience with the T/A community.
Our staff is always striving to acheive clean, quiet, and comfortable for our guests. I am glad you enjoyed their efforts.
You noticed one of the most important factors in how the Riverside is so peaceful; No Pool!! Experienced travelers know that for many, it is actually a plus to find a property without a pool within hearing distance. The fact that we do not have any resort properties anywhere near us also helps. The recipe has been here for over 100 years; mix together Perkins Cove, fishing boats, kind people, and add water. Subtract traffic and noise, and be prepared for one of the most relaxing summer getaways for miles around.
We are very glad you tried the Riverside this year, and look forward to seeing you again real soon.
Thank you,
Geoff and staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckfield, Maine
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2012

My husband and I stayed here very clean motel very relaxing to sit out and watch the boats in the cove we liked that it was only a 2min walk to shops and Resturants also there is a trolley to use if you want to travel to downtown Ogunquit, lots of traffic so may want to use trolley makes it many stops all through the day. Also there is a walking path all around the Ocean beautiful views its called marginal way

Room Tip: We liked the ground level looking out over the cove
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grambelanger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geoff S, Owner at Riverside Motel, responded to this review, 10 September 2012
Thank you Grambelanger for posting your review,
Our staff appreciates your comments very much.
Best wishes,
Geoff and staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EHT, NJ
Level Contributor
147 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2012

We return to the Riverside every year. This year there were a few improvements to the motel. We always stay on the upper floor of the first building. New floors and a refreshing cleanup to the bathroom. As everyone who ever stays here will report, there is a beautiful view, if beautiful can come close to describing the addiction that comes from just sitting on the porch watching Perkins Cove. I've posted reviews of Riverside before and each time I give it high marks. This year is no exception.

Room Tip: We enjoy the upper floor of the first building (lower room numbers). The best views of the sunrise a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vdas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geoff S, Owner at Riverside Motel, responded to this review, 8 September 2012
Thank you vdas for your review again,
Viewing your other reviews tells us that you don't give high marks easily.
Our staff really appreciates your kind comments.
Best wishes, until next time!
Geoff and staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cape may
Level Contributor
58 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2012

Year after year we have enjoyed our stay at the Riverside Motel. It is the perfect location for Perkins Cover. Sit out on your balcony and enjoy the most fabulous view in Ogunquit. Watch the sun rise each morning as the lobster boats prepare for their day's work. Enjoy a cup of coffee and the morning fresh air or an evening cocktail and the sunset...not to be beat. A quiet setting on the water with rolling grasses and Adirondacks chairs to sit back relax and enjoy a good book. We had a second floor room only steps from the footbridge which leads you directly to the cove with restaurants and shopping and the most magnificent Marginal Way. The views from the top of Marginal Way you will remember forever. A short drive up Shore Road leads you right to the middle of the town; you can also walk. The employees and owner of Riverside strive to make your stay comfortable, enjoyable, and memorable...you'll be coming back every year as we do.

Room Tip: We prefer the second floor king room. But all the rooms are great! park right outside your door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank weege49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geoff S, Owner at Riverside Motel, responded to this review, 7 September 2012
Thank you weege49 for reviewing us for T/A.
Many of our guests would agree with your perfect description of our quiet setting on the water to relax; what one coined our 'oasis from the stressful world'.
We can't wait until you are enjoying it again real soon.
Best wishes,
Geoff and staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ogunquit hotels
0.7 mi away
The Anchorage By the Sea
1.5 mi away
Gorges Grant Hotel
Gorges Grant Hotel
#2 of 36 in Ogunquit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Colonial Inn
The Colonial Inn
#4 of 36 in Ogunquit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#8 of 36 in Ogunquit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pink Blossoms Resort (Family Suites)
0.5 mi away
Sea Rose Suites
Sea Rose Suites
#12 of 36 in Ogunquit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverside Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Motel

Property: Riverside Motel
Address: 50 Riverside Lane, Ogunquit, ME 03907
Region: United States > Maine > Ogunquit
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ogunquit
#2 Family Hotel in Ogunquit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only nightly lodging on Perkins Cove, overlooking the ocean. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Riverside Hotel Ogunquit
Riverside Motel Ogunquit, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing