We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of Riverside Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ogunquit
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Riverside Motel
Ranked #3 of 36 Hotels in Ogunquit
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 October 2013

The Riverside motel has a great location--right across the footbridge from Perkins Cove. It is very clean, with nice wood floors rather than filthy carpets. It is not handicapped accessible. If you are in a wheel chair, you can not get to the office/breakfast area. They also do not have a designated smoking area.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank Pam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geoff S, Owner at Riverside Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2013

Thank you Pam H for reviewing us for Trip Advisor.
We appreciate very much that you reminded everyone that there is NO-Smoking anywhere on our property (in case they missed the info on our web-site).
Thank you for mentioning how clean our great location is also.
We hope to see you again soon,
Best wishes,
Nancy, Geoff, and staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (625)
There are newer reviews for Riverside Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

371 - 377 of 625 reviews

Reviewed 12 October 2013

My boyfriend and I fell in love with the area. The Riverside Motel was within walking distance (15-20 minutes) of the center of town. Lovely views of the Harbor and boats.

The room was clean and a nice size for two people. Although the bathroom was VERY small. It would have been challenging to navigate if we had stayed more than 1-2 nights.

We enjoyed sitting outside (on our little deck area) with a bottle of wine, watching the sun set.,

The one complaint I have (and this is why the ranking is a 4 versus a 5) was the lack of help the woman at the front desk provided. We asked if we could walk into town. She said yes, but did not tell us anything about the lovely walk (just outside of our hotel!) via the Marginal Way. We actually discovered this on our own. In my opinion this is really a huge oversight. If customers are asking how to walk into town, this is a MUST DO.

She also didn't offer us any suggestions/recommendations for our stay. She basically handed us the key and sent us on our way.

We were on the Road for 11 days traveling New England and this was the only hotel that did not offer us this level of customer service.

Next trip to the area I would definitely consider staying at the Riverside Motel. Although I may look into the hotels which are closer to the town, just to see what they offer.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LoisSedona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geoff S, Owner at Riverside Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2013

Thank you LoisSedona for reviewing us for Trip Advisor.
I am very sorry that we did not meet your expected needs. Erring on even one of our 3000 check-ins each season is not acceptable here. I wish that it had not happened that way.
We had a meeting about this situation and found out that no one honestly remembered this particular check-in because it is definitely understood by our staff that our "standard check-in procedure" includes mentioning Perkins Cove and the Marginal Way, and the Footbridge, and our complimentary breakfast to every first-time visitor that we check-in daily. Perhaps it was a late in the day check-in and we somehow overlooked the fact that it might have been your first visit? We are not sure how we made that mistake because additionally, whenever a guest asks us if they can walk into town, it is our "standard procedural answer" to always send them the Marginal Way direction because we know there are no sidewalks going from our driveway-end of Shore Road, towards town. We should not have made such an impression on a first time guest and we apologize. .We do not understand how this could have happened, but, we will definitely be trying to make sure that it does not reoccur.
We appreciate very much the fact that you brought this to our attention. Because of that, you give us the ability to refocus stronger on this particular point in our quest of 100% guest satisfaction.

Our sincere apologies and best wishes,
Nancy, Geoff, and staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

The staff was fantastic, the grounds spotless and the breakfast hit the spot. This is my wife's and mine fifth year going to the Riverside. It is very peaceful and close enough to the action at Perkins Cove. The one problem we had is, the AC did not work. Granted it was in October but the days got into the 70's and the nights into the 50's. We wanted to turn the blower on to get the outside air flowing through the room at night. That did not happen. It put a slight damper on our stay and we will, more than likely, go back to the Riverside Motel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nbcopres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geoff S, Owner at Riverside Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2013

Thank you nbcopres for reviewing us for T/A.
I am surprised that you did not tell us about the a/c issue. Our staff takes great pride in the fact that they swap out the old, and replace it with a new unit (that we always keep in stock) in less than 23 minutes. We do this about 5 or 6 times every season routinely. They do not last forever. I sure wish we could go back in time to make your stay as perfect as possible. It is our goal every day of the year.
Thank you for all your visits, I hope next time you remember that our entire staff is here for your every need.
Sincerely,
Geoff Scimone

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

What a great place to stay in Ogunquit!! Our whole experience was completely positive. Very personal attention from Geoff, and a very friendly staff. And what a gorgeous setting. The view from the rooms are fabulous. Meticulously clean rooms and well kept grounds. A short walk across the footbridge for shops and restaurants, and the Marginal Way. You can walk to town if you like. Beautiful, simply beautiful!! We'll be back. Thank you Geoff.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eemaxpr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geoff S, Owner at Riverside Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2013

Thank you eemaxpr for your kind comments.
We hope you find another time real soon to return to our beautiful location on Perkins Cove.
Best wishes for a warm winter!
Nancy, Geoff, and staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Stayed at the end of Sept for 2 nights, we had a second floor room overlooking Perkins Cove. Everyhing was very clean, and the room was very large, and had a great location for shops and the Marginal Way. For these rooms you could park right outside of your room. The free continnetal breakfast was at the office, which was a short walk outside. Vending and ice machines were well placed.

The rooms could stand a little updating, and you had to mail in a check to make a reservation, but I certainly would stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GoBlue2222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geoff S, Owner at Riverside Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2013

Thank you GoBlue2222 for your kind comments about our great location and reasonable rates. We strive to provide the best value at the most beautiful location in Southern Maine.
We hope you find time to stay with us again,
Best regards,
Nancy, Geoff, and staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

We stayed in the lower rooms, the cheapest, under the main motel. Unfortunately the upper rooms were sold out! Do NOT stay in these rooms; every footstep can be heard overhead. The room had a bit of a musty smell, but these are basement rooms on the ocean, so I guess this might be unavoidable. The motel is old but everything has been refurbished. We found the mattress a bit lumpy, and the upholstered chairs need to be replaced; you sink right in them! There is a table top fridge in the room. The room is average in size with a small bathroom.

Complimentary continental breakfast is served from 8 to 11 in the reception/office room. The breakfast is limited, no toaster for white or brown bread, but the blueberry muffins were delicious with more blueberries than dough. Fruit consists of bananas and apples.

The property is huge and well maintained with flowers and manicured lawns. It looks right on Perkins Cove where some 20 plus boats dock. To go to Perkins Cove, just cross the foot-bridge. The entire property is non-smoking which I agree wholeheartedly with.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Travelling-Couple02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geoff S, Owner at Riverside Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2013

Thank you Travelling-Couple02 for your detailed review, we would have been happy to resolve both your problems while you were here (wish you had simply asked us). Thank you for all the positive compliments, also. Thousands each year have been very happy that we are now NON-smoking throughout the entire 4 acre property. I hope you consider again our 4 acres of fresh air the next time you visit Ogunquit.
Best regards,
Geoff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

The Riverside Motel is, for us, the only place to stay in Ogunquit. The staff is very friendly and accommodating, the room was very clean, the grounds well-kept. The continental breakfast is a great way to start the day. The location is perfect with the drawbridge providing easy access to the restaurants/bars/shops/boats of Perkins Cove, not to mention the Marginal Way.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kathym61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geoff S, Owner at Riverside Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2013

Thank you kathym61 for sharing your experience with the T/A community.
Our entire staff appreciates that you mentioned how clean our entire property is.
We hope you find a chance to return to relaxing Perkins Cove again,
Best wishes,
Nancy, Geoff, and staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ogunquit hotels
0.7 mi away
The Anchorage By the Sea
The Anchorage By the Sea
#15 of 36 in Ogunquit
1,036 reviews
1.5 mi away
Gorges Grant Hotel
Gorges Grant Hotel
#2 of 36 in Ogunquit
572 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Colonial Inn
The Colonial Inn
#5 of 36 in Ogunquit
690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#11 of 36 in Ogunquit
473 reviews
0.7 mi away
Meadowmere Resort
Meadowmere Resort
#8 of 36 in Ogunquit
1,027 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Admiral's Inn
The Admiral's Inn
#7 of 36 in Ogunquit
350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverside Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Motel

Address: 50 Riverside Lane, Ogunquit, ME 03907
Region: United States > Maine > Ogunquit
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ogunquit
#2 Family Hotel in Ogunquit
Price Range: £66 - £183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only nightly lodging on Perkins Cove, overlooking the ocean. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Riverside Hotel Ogunquit
Riverside Motel Ogunquit, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing