We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great view”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Riverside Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ogunquit
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Riverside Motel
Ranked #2 of 36 Hotels in Ogunquit
Certificate of Excellence
Georgia VT
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

Location, location, location. The view is amazing. First of the cove where you can sit on your balcony and watch the lobster boats come and go. Second the ocean with waves crashing on the shore. The rooms are immaculate. No carpeting which makes them seem much cleaner. Be sure to get a room with a balcony for the best view. My only complaint is that the office/breakfast area is not handicapped accessible which made it difficult for me. Fortunately I was traveling with a friend who could get breakfast for me and check out. There are only two steps to get into the balcony rooms so they are not a problem.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geoff S, Owner at Riverside Motel, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Thank you Mary_MGeorgiaVT for reviewing us for the T/A community.
Our entire staff appreciates you mentioning how clean our property is.
One half of our balcony rooms have carpeting (which some people prefer), and the other half has the laminate wood flooring. If booking their vacation early enough, our guests can choose their preferred flooring. Although some dates are sold out as early as 6 months in advance, sometimes one can get be lucky and drive in without a prior reservation.
By the way, our guests can also request room service, if they prefer, at no additional charge.
We also include Wi-Fi (internet service), newspapers, and four acres of clean air, all at no additional charge. (A friend told me they stayed in Manhattan the other night for $1200.00/ night, and received none of those amenities. And then, they were charged additionally $14.00 for ten minutes of internet usage. .....Amazing......)
Welcome to Maine, we hope you find time again to return to our beautiful "oasis from the stressful world"
Nancy, Geoff, and staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

592 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    473
    90
    20
    3
    6
See reviews for
106
391
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (261)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmond, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

This motel has a great location, just a short walk over the bridge to Perkins Cove where you can eat, shop and take a lobster tour. Our room was clean with a beautiful view of the cove, couldn't stop taking pictures! The town of Ogunquit is charming with lots to do and see! The staff was friendly and was accommodating when we decided we wanted to stay a 2nd night! I would highly recommend this motel to everyone and cannot wait to return. So glad I found it on the internet!

Room Tip: Many rooms have parking right in front of your door. Makes for easy unpacking and packing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shebasmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geoff S, Owner at Riverside Motel, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Thank you shebasmom for reviewing us on T/A.
Once travelers find us, they often return, sometimes for generations to our peaceful location on Perkins Cove. Even though we are a seasonal business, our entire staff is comprised of returners, also.
Best wishes, until next time,
Nancy, Geoff, and staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cossayuna, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

Happy to be back @ Riverside again this yr. Just as nice, clean, comfortable as always. A great location w/ Perkins Cove @ property edge. Love sitting on balcony, watching the fishing boats come in w/ their catch, the numerous scooners, private boats & charters. Never get tired of it. Ocean view also. Such a convenient location. Foot Bridge takes you right into the fishing village. Geoff and staff very accomadating as always. We were there mid-Sept. Probably will be back in June next yr. Sept. weather can be iffy, but we lucked out w/ 3 nice days anyway. Plus, more places open all week. Ogunquit a beautiful little village w/ many shops/restaurants. And so much of everything near by. Thanks again Geoff & Staff for a nice visit!!

Room Tip: Try to get a room on upper level w/ balcony. Parking lot level. BUT.......if you don't mind stai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cossayuna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geoff S, Owner at Riverside Motel, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Thank you Cossayuna for your kind comments.
We are happy that you had another chance to visit the Riverside this year.
Best wishes,
Nancy, Geoff, and staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013 via mobile

The Riverside motel has a great location--right across the footbridge from Perkins Cove. It is very clean, with nice wood floors rather than filthy carpets. It is not handicapped accessible. If you are in a wheel chair, you can not get to the office/breakfast area. They also do not have a designated smoking area.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Pam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geoff S, Owner at Riverside Motel, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Thank you Pam H for reviewing us for Trip Advisor.
We appreciate very much that you reminded everyone that there is NO-Smoking anywhere on our property (in case they missed the info on our web-site).
Thank you for mentioning how clean our great location is also.
We hope to see you again soon,
Best wishes,
Nancy, Geoff, and staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sedona
Level Contributor
74 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2013

My boyfriend and I fell in love with the area. The Riverside Motel was within walking distance (15-20 minutes) of the center of town. Lovely views of the Harbor and boats.

The room was clean and a nice size for two people. Although the bathroom was VERY small. It would have been challenging to navigate if we had stayed more than 1-2 nights.

We enjoyed sitting outside (on our little deck area) with a bottle of wine, watching the sun set.,

The one complaint I have (and this is why the ranking is a 4 versus a 5) was the lack of help the woman at the front desk provided. We asked if we could walk into town. She said yes, but did not tell us anything about the lovely walk (just outside of our hotel!) via the Marginal Way. We actually discovered this on our own. In my opinion this is really a huge oversight. If customers are asking how to walk into town, this is a MUST DO.

She also didn't offer us any suggestions/recommendations for our stay. She basically handed us the key and sent us on our way.

We were on the Road for 11 days traveling New England and this was the only hotel that did not offer us this level of customer service.

Next trip to the area I would definitely consider staying at the Riverside Motel. Although I may look into the hotels which are closer to the town, just to see what they offer.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LoisSedona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geoff S, Owner at Riverside Motel, responded to this review, 13 October 2013
Thank you LoisSedona for reviewing us for Trip Advisor.
I am very sorry that we did not meet your expected needs. Erring on even one of our 3000 check-ins each season is not acceptable here. I wish that it had not happened that way.
We had a meeting about this situation and found out that no one honestly remembered this particular check-in because it is definitely understood by our staff that our "standard check-in procedure" includes mentioning Perkins Cove and the Marginal Way, and the Footbridge, and our complimentary breakfast to every first-time visitor that we check-in daily. Perhaps it was a late in the day check-in and we somehow overlooked the fact that it might have been your first visit? We are not sure how we made that mistake because additionally, whenever a guest asks us if they can walk into town, it is our "standard procedural answer" to always send them the Marginal Way direction because we know there are no sidewalks going from our driveway-end of Shore Road, towards town. We should not have made such an impression on a first time guest and we apologize. .We do not understand how this could have happened, but, we will definitely be trying to make sure that it does not reoccur.
We appreciate very much the fact that you brought this to our attention. Because of that, you give us the ability to refocus stronger on this particular point in our quest of 100% guest satisfaction.

Our sincere apologies and best wishes,
Nancy, Geoff, and staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

The staff was fantastic, the grounds spotless and the breakfast hit the spot. This is my wife's and mine fifth year going to the Riverside. It is very peaceful and close enough to the action at Perkins Cove. The one problem we had is, the AC did not work. Granted it was in October but the days got into the 70's and the nights into the 50's. We wanted to turn the blower on to get the outside air flowing through the room at night. That did not happen. It put a slight damper on our stay and we will, more than likely, go back to the Riverside Motel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nbcopres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geoff S, Owner at Riverside Motel, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
Thank you nbcopres for reviewing us for T/A.
I am surprised that you did not tell us about the a/c issue. Our staff takes great pride in the fact that they swap out the old, and replace it with a new unit (that we always keep in stock) in less than 23 minutes. We do this about 5 or 6 times every season routinely. They do not last forever. I sure wish we could go back in time to make your stay as perfect as possible. It is our goal every day of the year.
Thank you for all your visits, I hope next time you remember that our entire staff is here for your every need.
Sincerely,
Geoff Scimone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Juan, Puerto Rico
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

What a great place to stay in Ogunquit!! Our whole experience was completely positive. Very personal attention from Geoff, and a very friendly staff. And what a gorgeous setting. The view from the rooms are fabulous. Meticulously clean rooms and well kept grounds. A short walk across the footbridge for shops and restaurants, and the Marginal Way. You can walk to town if you like. Beautiful, simply beautiful!! We'll be back. Thank you Geoff.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eemaxpr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geoff S, Owner at Riverside Motel, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
Thank you eemaxpr for your kind comments.
We hope you find another time real soon to return to our beautiful location on Perkins Cove.
Best wishes for a warm winter!
Nancy, Geoff, and staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ogunquit hotels
0.7 mi away
The Anchorage By the Sea
The Anchorage By the Sea
#9 of 36 in Ogunquit
4.0 of 5 bubbles 993 reviews
1.5 mi away
Gorges Grant Hotel
Gorges Grant Hotel
#3 of 36 in Ogunquit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Colonial Inn
The Colonial Inn
#5 of 36 in Ogunquit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#8 of 36 in Ogunquit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pink Blossoms Resort (Family Suites)
0.5 mi away
Sea Rose Suites
Sea Rose Suites
#11 of 36 in Ogunquit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverside Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Motel

Property: Riverside Motel
Address: 50 Riverside Lane, Ogunquit, ME 03907
Region: United States > Maine > Ogunquit
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Ogunquit
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ogunquit
#2 Family Hotel in Ogunquit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only nightly lodging on Perkins Cove, overlooking the ocean. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Riverside Hotel Ogunquit
Riverside Motel Ogunquit, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing