We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Place to Stay in Ogunquit”
Review of Riverside Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ogunquit
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Riverside Motel
Ranked #3 of 36 Hotels in Ogunquit
Certificate of Excellence
St. Augustine, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Place to Stay in Ogunquit”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

The location is ideal. It is close to the Marginal Way, our favorite restaurants (Oarweed & Barnacle Billly's). We like to stay on the the upper level though both levels have excellent views. we have stayed at Riversde Motel numerous times and never had a bad experience. The staff is friendly and very welcoming. The breakfast has healthy and less healthy options.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bruce4158
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geoff S, Owner at Riverside Motel, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Thank you Bruce4158 for reviewing us for T/A.
Our entire staff is grateful for your kind comments.
Best regards,
Nancy, Geoff, and staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

601 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    480
    91
    21
    3
    6
See reviews for
106
398
15
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (264)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We have been vacationing at the Riverside Motel for a number of years. We find it a wonderful place to relax and enjoy the area. The staff is pleasant and helpful. The location is great and provides walking access to Ogunquit center. Great Place

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geoff S, Owner at Riverside Motel, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Thank you Robert C for sharing your trip with the readers,
Best wishes,
Nancy, Geoff, and staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belmont, VT
Level Contributor
126 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

As mentioned in my 2012 review, this motel has much to offer. Since we have been coming here for 5 years, we wanted to "mix" things up a bit this year so we opted to spend 2 nights instead of our 3-4. We were pleasantly surprised that the room we got was renovated very tastefully with the pristine white bedding of any first class hotel and beautiful sea glass color shams and bed scarf. The rooms are spacious enough because you REALLY want to spend time sitting on your portion of the deck that runs the length of the building with commanding views of all the comings and goings of this picturesque seaside cove. You are near the walking bridge, opening and closing to allow the boats and vessels in and out; you actually watch the offloading of the fresh fish which is offered at local restaurants and have the convenience of a walk to many fine shops, the Marginal Way (a seaside walk into the village of Ogunquit with a beach and many shops and restaurants) and the Perkins Cove restaurants...Barnacle Billy's-a very special delicious eatery. The Riverside Motel staff is top rate; you feel like you are on a Caribbean cruise ship-they always smiling, greet you and are very attentive. We did miss the personal greeting by the owner the last 2 years but one evening as we strolled to dinner past the office, there he and his wife were on their private deck sending down a hearty "Welcome Back". Now THAT'S hospitality!!! We regretted not staying longer as we traveled north to Kennebunkport and were disappointed with the next motel; no outside sitting, no views. So...we are contemplating an off-season return and will look forward to a second visit within a year. Do yourself a favor and DON'T pass up this inn. But, wait, maybe we should just keep this our secret....forget all of the above.

Room Tip: As mentioned last year, top floor balcony rooms are great BUT the lower level has access to a gorgeo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Belmontcouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geoff S, Owner at Riverside Motel, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Thank you Belmontcouple for taking your time to review the Riverside.
Our entire staff appreciates your kind comments. Someone recently described us as having the warmth of the finest B & B, with the skill levels of a five-star flag. But, what most sets the Riverside apart is the character of our repeaters (many for multi-generations) and our first time visitors. It is remarkable to see the kindness and courtesy that abounds from all of our guests at the Riverside. Something magical has evolved over the last 140 years of Riverside vacations, and wonderful people continue to tell their wonderful friends about it.
Thank you very much,
Nancy, Geoff, and staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We were staying at Cliff House but stopped at Riverside today to pick up a brochure and look at the property and rooms, since it is closer to Perkins Cove. The manager and the owner would not let us park and yelled at us to get out. We tried to explain that we were prospective customers and would like to look at the property, but it didn't matter, they were just very, very unfriendly. We ripped up the brochure and left it on the lawn. Needless to say, we will not go back or even consider staying there in the future.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Fred F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geoff S, Owner at Riverside Motel, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Thank you for reviewing us for T/A
and reminding all our readers that all of our Riverside guests' assigned parking spaces will be available when they return from dinner, or touring Ogunquit. Our staff Is quite vigilant about making that a reality. We are very blessed that something like this happens only about 20 times per day in the summertime.

Geoff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derry, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
49 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

You can't find a better spot to sit and see the best of Ogunquit. We had a rainy day and were able to sit out because the deck and roof kept us dry while we sat in our chairs and watched the boats. We're cyclists and appreciated the breakfast which was ready at 6:30am. When you stay at a B&B they usually serve much later. This suited our needs perfectly.

Room Tip: Parents had a king room on second floor and found the railings obstructed their view when sitting...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tkjolicoeur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geoff S, Owner at Riverside Motel, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Thank you tkjolicoeur for sharing your experience with the T/A community.
It is definitely a difficult choice to decide, balcony or lawn level, Many of our returning guests stay in different spots each season for the variety.
Best regards,
Nancy, Geoff, and staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cherry Hill, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed 17 June 2014

The location in Perkins Cove is perfect. The balcony view overlooking the Cove is breathtaking. Close to the foot bridge into the cove area for shopping, dining and walking the Marginal Way. Easy walk into town and the Big Beach, too !! Family was staying at the Woodbury Studio also overlooking the Cove on the Rocks. Exceptionally clean, lovely friendly staff !! Plenty of towels, pillows, clean blankets. I booked the motel because of the reviews on line. Continental breakfast pleasant enough. More fruit, less donuts !

Room Tip: Stay on the Balcony level, close to the Bridge. Easy to drive car up to motel door. Heaven to load a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geoff S, Owner at Riverside Motel, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Thank you Sandy S for taking your time to review us for T/A.
Our entire staff appreciates your kind comments,
Best wishes,
Nancy, Geoff, and staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rensselaer, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

My husband and I have been going to the Riverside for 18 years. The property is the most beautiful place in Ogunquit. The location allows you to leave your car and walk or take the trolley to so many places. The restaurants across the footbridge are wonderful, with great decks to sit outside and have a bite to eat or an afternoon or evening cocktail. The owner, Geoff, keeps the property immaculate and it's a true pleasure to stay there. All of the staff are kind and polite and they can't do enough for you. The 1874 house is a great place to stay with it's wrap around deck and amazing views of the cove. You have birds eye views of the fishing and lobster boats that come into the cove as well as the fish that are strung up on the scales after a day of fishing. Great place to stay, perfect and romantic place to visit, year after year.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Colleen3053
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geoff S, Owner at Riverside Motel, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Thank you Colleen3053 for sharing your visit with the T/A community.
Our entire staff appreciates your kind comments,
Wishing you a wonderful summer!
Nancy, Geoff, and staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ogunquit hotels
0.7 mi away
The Anchorage By the Sea
The Anchorage By the Sea
#11 of 36 in Ogunquit
1,015 reviews
1.5 mi away
Gorges Grant Hotel
Gorges Grant Hotel
#2 of 36 in Ogunquit
542 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Colonial Inn
The Colonial Inn
#5 of 36 in Ogunquit
632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#7 of 36 in Ogunquit
436 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pink Blossoms Resort (Family Suites)
0.7 mi away
Meadowmere Resort
Meadowmere Resort
#6 of 36 in Ogunquit
984 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverside Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Motel

Property: Riverside Motel
Address: 50 Riverside Lane, Ogunquit, ME 03907
Region: United States > Maine > Ogunquit
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Ogunquit
#2 Family Hotel in Ogunquit
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ogunquit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only nightly lodging on Perkins Cove, overlooking the ocean. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Riverside Hotel Ogunquit
Riverside Motel Ogunquit, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing