We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded Expectations”
Review of Terrace by the Sea

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Terrace by the Sea
Ranked #23 of 36 Hotels in Ogunquit
Certificate of Excellence
Grafton, MA
Level Contributor
131 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Exceeded Expectations”
Reviewed 12 September 2011

My family and I stayed in the Court Motel building for a weekend in September. As the title says it exceeded our expectations. The room was immaculately clean. We heard nothing from any neighbors even though the hotel was full. The location cannot be beat with easy access to both the town and the beach. The Marginal Way is short walk from the hotel. Although the court motel has no water views the main hotel grounds have a great view of the beach. A continental breakfast is provided. We will be back on our next visit to Ogunquit.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GraftonTraveler24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    168
    88
    20
    3
    7
See reviews for
61
154
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Rensselaerville, NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2011

This was our 10th visit to the Terrace, and each year we enjoy the location, the view and, most of all thewelcoming and attentive service... from check-in with Darlene to check-out- with Sergio waving good-bye. The delightful breakfasts on the porch overlooking the ocean are unique for the views, the multi-lingual conversations and the relaxed, friendly atmoshere of guests and staff.Under the watchful eye of Pam, housekeeping keeps everything spic and span - and timely. The walk to town, to the marginal way and to the ocean , or just sitting on the lowered edged lawn overlooking the sea (our favorite) , we wait all winter for our next visit. Lynda Blankenship, Rensselaerville, NY

Room Tip: We prefer the motel rooms with porch and the ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lynda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heemstede, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2011

This was the most expensive room we stayed in during our three week trip trough Maine and New Hamshire (we paid 350 usd for the room per night). It was average at best and certainly not worth the money. The room is basic and so is breakfast. Location is okay and this seems to be the main reason for charging this much. Will not return.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ehaas19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amherst, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2011

My husband and I are older and and our side room #121 is at the ground level (no stairs) and was right next to the pool. It was perfect for us to walk to breakfast on the inn's porch, our car, the beautiful lawn with flowers and views of the ocean. The room had newer decorations, very spacious, had a larger than usual refrigerator and a full size tub with shower. We had plenty to eat at breakfast with fresh fruit, granola, yogurt and we ate out on the main inn porch with a gorgeous view of the ocean. Just spectacular! We went swimming in the very clean pool, surrounded by beautiful flowers and sat in the nice chaise loungers. The ocean, marginal way, shops, restaurants and trolley are a short walk. This place is a little piece of heaven and we keep coming back!

Room Tip: Ask for a "side" room and you can park right next to your car and the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LadybugNH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2011

This was our first trip to Maine and heard that Ogunquit was a great place to see. We heard that the Marginal Way was the place to be, but all of the recommended hotels were booked. One of the hotels we had called suggested the Terrace by the Sea. The location was fabulous. 2 blocks to the beach, less than a block to shops and restaurants, and two block to the Marginal Way. Other than the Norseman, we could not have been closer to the beach. We realized that if you stay on Marginal Way, you would be several blocks from the beach so we lucked in to an optimal location for us. Parking is 25.00 at the beach per day, so that would have meant a pretty long walk for my kids while lugging beach equipment. The room we had was basic, but very clean. The bed was comfortable and we appreciated the free WiFi and refrigerator. The grounds were beautifully maintained with flowers everywhere. The breakfast was excellent. When we return to Ogunquit, we will stay at the Terrace by the Sea.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chris297NewJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 June 2011

We stayed on the 2nd floor of the motel annex. The room was simple, but clean and it had two chairs outside the room on the covered verandah, which was great, because it rained several days when we were there.

The breakfasts are great and the location would be hard to beat. It is only a 5 minute walk to the beach!

Definitely recommendable.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
150 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2011

The Terrace by the Sea is awesome --- the hotel rooms are always super clean. The location is superb --- right on the ocean, but within walking distance to town. A couple of years ago they expanded by acquiring more buildings. Most places might "degrade", but they seemed to flourish. I thought the lawn would be overcrowded with additional people --- not sure about how the summer is, but Memorial Day Weekend was just fine. Each year you see improvements and upkeeps. Their continental breakfast is very robust. My husband and I happened upon this hotel several years ago while walking the Marginal Way on a winter day in February! We have been coming here once a year since that time. Would highly recommend.

Room Tip: Rooms on Wharf Lane have water views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Queensabode
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ogunquit hotels
0.2 mi away
The Anchorage By the Sea
The Anchorage By the Sea
#10 of 36 in Ogunquit
1,016 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Colonial Inn
The Colonial Inn
#5 of 36 in Ogunquit
632 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pink Blossoms Resort (Family Suites)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Gorges Grant Hotel
Gorges Grant Hotel
#2 of 36 in Ogunquit
542 reviews
0.0 mi away
Marginal Way House
Marginal Way House
#16 of 36 in Ogunquit
179 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sea Chambers Motel
Sea Chambers Motel
#22 of 36 in Ogunquit
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Terrace by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Terrace by the Sea

Property: Terrace by the Sea
Address: 23 Wharf Lane, Ogunquit, ME 03907
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Ogunquit
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Ogunquit
#17 Romantic Hotel in Ogunquit
#25 Family Hotel in Ogunquit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Terrace by the Sea 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just a walk away from Ogunquit's beautiful beach, fine dining and shopping, the Terrace By The Sea is a perfect location to fully enjoy the heart of Ogunquit and what our town has to offer. Six buildings, three offering gorgeous oceanfront rooms, an extended continental breakfast, complimentary high-speed internet, heated outdoor pool, and much more. Come enjoy oceanfront accommodations from our point of view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Terrace by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Terrace By The Sea Hotel Ogunquit
Terrace By The Sea Ogunquit, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing