We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, extremely accommodating!”
Review of Terrace by the Sea

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Terrace by the Sea
Ranked #24 of 36 Hotels in Ogunquit
Certificate of Excellence
Bennington, Vermont
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Excellent location, extremely accommodating!”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

The location here is perfect, right in town and right on the ocean! The view is beautiful and the staff was amazing! The staff was full of suggestions and went out of their way to make sure we had everything we needed! Everyone was very friendly and the room was very clean! I am very picky and only write reviews if something is really good or really bad but this place was great! We will be back and I would highly recommend it to anyone visiting Ogunquit!

Room Tip: We stayed in the motel building which was much easier with kids and a stroller so we didn't have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmjestey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    173
    88
    20
    3
    7
See reviews for
62
157
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Upstate New York
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

My friends and I find Terrace to be the perfect spot for our annual girls' weekend in Ogunquit! Great location, beautiful view, and the two-level rooms are perfect for a group of 4. The hotel is older but that just adds charm, which I love! I'm genuinely surprised it's not ranked higher here on TA.

You can't beat the value for this location, with an easy walk to the beach and the entrance to Marginal Way. And breakfast being included is another great plus! The staff are always kind and helpful.

I highly recommend it!

Room Tip: We love the two-level suites with ocean view in the building behind the actual inn, next to the pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southern maryland
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

We stayed here in September for a few days. Having never been to Maine, I spent lots of time reading over Tripadvisor reviews for Ogunquit and neighboring seashore motels and finally I selected Terrace by the Sea because of it's location even though I thought it might be an older establishment. I was so pleased with everything. The location definitely is their major draw; the beach is nearby as is the Marginal Way, shopping, dining, trolley stop just up the street and the view of the shore is gorgeous. The layout of the place offers a variety of buildings and rooms. We stayed on the 2nd floor of the older motel. I had wanted to stay in the main house but got the only room available when I called three weeks before our mid-Sept. visit and the room was much better than I had expected. It was very clean, a large room with table/chairs, fridge & microwave and the bathroom was fine. Each room has a designated parking spot; to get to the motel rooms parking spots was a bit confusing; had to drive up to the main road and then down the next street. But once you did it all made sense. You did not need to use your car all that much as the location is so great. We did because we drove to some of the nearby seashore towns for our whale watching boat ride, shopping and sightseeing. The trolley takes you all around town and is a fun way of seeing the sites. We did not use the pool although it was opened in Sept. Appeared to be on the small side but during the summer I am sure it would be refreshing to take a swim in it after a day at the beach which by the way is a short but pleasant walk along a wooden pathway. Absolutely do not miss walking the Marginal Way; such a delightful paved path with plenty of benches to sit and enjoy the scenery, plus areas to walk or climb down to the water. If you don't want to walk it roundtrip, walk to the end and take the trolley back to town. Try to go at different times of the day because early morning and sunset are very different experiences. The breakfast was just sufficient but nothing exciting to get your morning started but there was plenty of porch seating and outdoor seating to enjoy the beautiful water views. The establishment appeared to be casual in nature and that many of their customers are those who return year after year. I would definitely return if I ever get back to Maine!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lovingretirement2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex jct,vt
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

The view and location you can't beat.The rooms are very clean and well kept up. You have to stay here.Stay in the House the best of all.The wrap around porch and breakfast.The short walk to marginal way.Everything is great.

Room Tip: Ocean front king size bed in the main house.The best of the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank taximan29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

I recently stayed at Terrace by the Sea in Ogunquit Maine for the first time with friends. It was lovely. Comfortable beds and an awesome view. We were blessed with great weather and all the beautiful fall colors. We were able to sit on the wrap-around porch of the main house for breakfast. How wonderful! The location is very convenient. Very close to marginal way and shops and restaurants. No need to use your car. I would definitely stay at this property again.

Room Tip: We stayed on the second floor and it was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bonnie86-12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
Level 5 Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Stayed here for the first time this July. We were very happy with everything about this place. GREAT location, so easy to roll our beach cart to the beach, but also in the middle of town. Stayed on the 2nd floor of the main inn and had an absolutely gorgeous view of the ocean. Great sunset pics. Bed was very comfy. Adequate sized fridge in room for keeping bevs cold. Nice continental breakfast. Friendly staff. We will definitely return!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TigerLilyPad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stowe, Vermont
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

room 105 in the inn corner room lots of sunlight. Sliding glass door to the private deck. direct ocean view. King bed, TV, refrigerator. Lovely living room with fireplace. Very convenient to shops, restaurants, marginal way. You can leave your cr in the parking lot and walk to most activities

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank collinsnd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ogunquit hotels
0.2 mi away
The Anchorage By the Sea
The Anchorage By the Sea
#11 of 36 in Ogunquit
1,025 reviews
0.6 mi away
Gorges Grant Hotel
Gorges Grant Hotel
#3 of 36 in Ogunquit
545 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Colonial Inn
The Colonial Inn
#5 of 36 in Ogunquit
674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Pink Blossoms Resort (Family Suites)
0.6 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#9 of 36 in Ogunquit
444 reviews
0.0 mi away
Marginal Way House
Marginal Way House
#12 of 36 in Ogunquit
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Terrace by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Terrace by the Sea

Property: Terrace by the Sea
Address: 23 Wharf Lane, Ogunquit, ME 03907
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Ogunquit
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Ogunquit
#17 Romantic Hotel in Ogunquit
#25 Family Hotel in Ogunquit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Terrace by the Sea 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just a walk away from Ogunquit's beautiful beach, fine dining and shopping, the Terrace By The Sea is a perfect location to fully enjoy the heart of Ogunquit and what our town has to offer. Six buildings, three offering gorgeous oceanfront rooms, an extended continental breakfast, complimentary high-speed internet, heated outdoor pool, and much more. Come enjoy oceanfront accommodations from our point of view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Terrace by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Terrace By The Sea Hotel Ogunquit
Terrace By The Sea Ogunquit, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing