We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy place with great view of ocean.”
Review of Terrace by the Sea

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Terrace by the Sea
Ranked #23 of 36 Hotels in Ogunquit
Certificate of Excellence
Greenwood, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Cozy place with great view of ocean.”
Reviewed 30 August 2014

The rooms are quite large and comfortable. This has a motel feel to it as the buildings all have exits directly to the parking lot, and parking is limited and assigned to your room. If you would like an ocean view be sure to ask for one as many rooms view only the parking lot. The staff was probably the most helpful and friendly group of people we encountered in all of our travels. I can't say enough good things about them. They seemed genuinely happy to meet us. The breakfast was continental with an assortment of fresh fruit, pastries, and cereal. We ate on the porch and enjoyed the sun and ocean breeze.

I have only one major complaint. When traveling with my family, we expected the wifi to work as this is very important to the teenagers you know. In all honesty though, it's important to us as well in that we often want to look up restaurants, attractions, etc. And this is doubly important as the cell phone coverage is extremely spotty at best. We had at least six different devices, and only two of them could connect to the wifi. The front desk gave us all the codes we needed to connect, but the connection was as slow as molasses in January. This is the only reason I marked them down. They might as well not offer wifi as it really isn't an option at all. Some days it would take overnight to even get connected. And from there, good luck trying to pull anything up on your device.

Lastly, the room price seems a little steep. But as everyone knows, you get what you pay for, and this place is great. Beach access is close and very convenient. We'd definitely stay here again. Just don't depend on good wifi.

Room Tip: Ask for the ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    168
    88
    20
    3
    7
See reviews for
61
154
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
103 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

My husband & I arrived at this quaint, historic hotel & were greated by the friendly staff, Deanna,Celeste & Larissa . We were early & to our delight our room was ready. We stayed in the front motel which is detached from the main building. Our room was very clean with a kitchenette & everything you need to cook with if you choose to do while on vacation. The deck & the view is the best part. They have tall adirondack style chairs with a table attached in the middle of the two chairs. They are high enough so your view is not obstructed by the railing of the deck so you can sit & enjoy a beverage & something to snack on while gazing at the beautiful ocean! Another plus.... the chairs were spotless!!!! Clean deck chairs are a must with me! The hotel is located in the perfect spot. Not only on the ocean but It is within walking distance to stores, restaurants, & the beach. You can also just jump on the trolley. Upon checking out on Sunday after our continental breakfast (which was included with our room). We did not want to waste a beautiful day so we asked Nick at the front desk if you could enjoy the day & sit by the pool. "Absolutely he said, enjoy the facilities " He took our car keys in case he had to move our car for other guests that were arriving. (When it is high tide there is very little beach to sit on & it gets very crowded so we chose the pool) Overall, it was a wonderful weekend. We fell in love with this hotel & the staff is fantastic. Thank you Nick for moving our car & rolling up the windows we left open! Its not unusual for a quick evening shower in Ogunquit. Can't wait to go back in the fall! Highly recommend this hotel! JR & KR

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EllaO951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
madison
Level Contributor
157 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

We have stayed here when we visited Ogunquit for each of something like 10 or 15 years. And it is a great place to stay! So close to the beach and to town and restaurants and the Marginal Way cliff walk. Easy walk to Perkins Cove. Great location. We didnt even move the car for several days. The breakfast provided is good and fast and it is very nice not to have to go searching for breakfast. The only issue is the weak broadband support for wifi internet. Usually very poor data transfer. I gather that it may be difficult to get a good internet provider in this area? Otherwise I would give this 5 stars!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank charles m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, New Hampshire, United States
Level Contributor
72 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

We just returned from a last minute trip to Ogunquit, during a busy mid-week period. With limited availability in the area, we tried the Terrace by the Sea....and are happy we did! The location was great to launch a day trip to the beach. The beach, town, and Marginal Way are literally outside your doorstep. The room we had was clean and surprisingly large. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. Complimentary breakfast in the morning was satisfying and an added bonus. We enjoyed sitting on the Adirondack chairs overlooking the beach and river, very comfortable at the end of the day. The pool has no view, but was perfect for a fresh water rinse after a beach day.

Room Tip: If there's a lot of availability, look at the property map as they have a wide variety of rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We booked at short notice in August ,1 week out and all that was available were 2 different rooms for our stay. With this said...we had the chance to experience 2 different room locations. Both were wonderful. Everything was clean and spotless. I loved the white bedspreads in each of the rooms ...reminded me of my mother's house. The mattresses were pillow-top , I believe and were so comfortable...we both had a great nights sleep on them .
The grounds with the flowers and lawn chairs was just beautiful...enjoyed sitting in the Adirondeck chairs overlooking the ocean in the morning and in the evening. A short 5 min flat walk to the beach was easy. Glad we did not have to pay the $25.00 parking fee we are used to paying in the past at the public beach parking lot.
Ate our breakfast on the little tables on the outside porch...that was the "highlight of our stay "...I'd say. The little red rose in the vase, the white tablecloths and the view of the ocean...very relaxing ...nothing could be better !!!
Not many children around the property during our 3 days in August. The pool is on the small side...very pretty and private in the back corner of the parking lot. The front desk was very helpful and showed us a few rooms upstairs in the old Inn ...because that's where I'd really like to stay on my next visit. My daughter 18 and I had a wonderful "get-a-way" before she is off to college ...Thank-You... Terrace by the Sea...hope to be back next summer 2015 !
* Wish they quoted the specific room prices on the internet...instead of having to call directly.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mauracoj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

This motel is great the front desk people Dacia and nick are great courteous and helpful the motel is immaculate. Clean. The continental breakfast is great the grounds are immaculate the room was clean every day

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gucciguy17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danville
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

The location cannot be beat. The rooms are very clean and spacious and the grounds are kept immaculate.

The one drawback is very weak wifi signal and cell service. You could get by without the cell service if you could depend on the wifi. Most of the time we could not connect to the wifi at all. That is the only reason I would not give this place a 5 rating.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jlavs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ogunquit hotels
0.2 mi away
The Anchorage By the Sea
The Anchorage By the Sea
#11 of 36 in Ogunquit
1,016 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Colonial Inn
The Colonial Inn
#5 of 36 in Ogunquit
632 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pink Blossoms Resort (Family Suites)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Gorges Grant Hotel
Gorges Grant Hotel
#2 of 36 in Ogunquit
542 reviews
0.0 mi away
Marginal Way House
Marginal Way House
#16 of 36 in Ogunquit
179 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sea Chambers Motel
Sea Chambers Motel
#22 of 36 in Ogunquit
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Terrace by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Terrace by the Sea

Property: Terrace by the Sea
Address: 23 Wharf Lane, Ogunquit, ME 03907
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Ogunquit
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Ogunquit
#17 Romantic Hotel in Ogunquit
#25 Family Hotel in Ogunquit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Terrace by the Sea 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just a walk away from Ogunquit's beautiful beach, fine dining and shopping, the Terrace By The Sea is a perfect location to fully enjoy the heart of Ogunquit and what our town has to offer. Six buildings, three offering gorgeous oceanfront rooms, an extended continental breakfast, complimentary high-speed internet, heated outdoor pool, and much more. Come enjoy oceanfront accommodations from our point of view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Terrace by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Terrace By The Sea Hotel Ogunquit
Terrace By The Sea Ogunquit, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing